jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 05.16.2011 Edition May 16, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in 101 Things, Musings, Shopping With Peeps.
trackback

PhotobucketSad news – Peeps came home from work the other day, and he found the wreath (the one that housed Mama Bird and her nest) on the floor of the porch, its contents scattered and Mama Bird in the tree squawking her head off.

We have no idea what happened, whether it was wind (it didn’t seem that windy) or squirrels (nasty beasts) or even Harley Kitty, but it’s sad to lose the little birdie family.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Following along with the Circle-of-Life theme, I got several plants for the garden this weekend, even though I won’t be planting them until next weekend, at the earliest.  We’ve got several herbs, a nice mix of tomatoes, a single pasilla pepper, and some romaine lettuce – since it’s been too cold and wet to start any seeds so far, I decided to cheat just a bit.

Hopefully it’ll stop raining by then.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Don’t forget this week is the Third Thursday of the month!  Please feel free to join us for this month’s Third Thursday event – just “borrow” a recipe (or any other anything) from someone else’s blog (or elsewhere) and tell us about it!   Be creative – challenge yourself!

Complete details are here, and remember, the more the merrier!

Photobucket

PhotobucketOnce again – Shopping With Peeps!

Sponge Bob taco kit?

I ask you – what does Sponge Bob have to do with tacos?  Sponge Bob fish sticks, maybe.

But seriously?  Does the world really need Sponge Bob Taco Pants?

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’m still working on my 101 Things – and with regard to #55, the word for this week is. . .N.  Neologist.  I love this word!  It means simply, from the Greek neo (new) and logos (word) someone who makes up new words!  Language grows by the infusion of new words, and new words can come from just about anywhere.  Like googol, Google, and google (as a verb) – all relatively new words, yet perfectly necessary today.  I think I know what I want to be when I grow up!

Photobucket

PhotobucketOh, hey, a Thing I missed – #40 – make hot cocoa from scratch!  It was so simple, I guess I totally forgot that it was a Thing!

I know it may be a little out of season, but here’s the thing.  I actually made this during the winter, one Sunday when we had about a foot of snow in the driveway.  I whipped up a batch of Alanna’s Homemade Hot Cocoa Mix, we enjoyed it very much, then promptly forgot it was there.

I remembered it while we we’ve been enjoying our recent May weather – cold, rainy, and windy.  Perfect after walking the dog!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  I mentioned above that it’s been cold, windy and rainy around here – and, while it looks like it’s going to warm up a bit later in the week, the rain isn’t supposed to let up until – maybe – Saturday.
Photobucket

Looks like grilling is pretty much out for the time being, huh?

Monday – Last week, Peeps barbecued a bunch of ribs, and there were a few left.  He trimmed the meat from the bones, and we’ll enjoy that with some of last fall’s red beans and some good old white rice – red beans and rice AND BBQ pork.  (And salad.)

Tuesday – I did some tidying in the freezer this weekend, and found some lima beans that should get used.  The tilapia we did a while back was so good, I thought it might also be tasty with some chicken cutlets.  We shall see,  I guess.

Wednesday – It’s swim class which means soup night.  Again with the freezer tidying – we’ve got some roasted squash that went into a soup.  Since the squash was already cooked, it was a simple matter of heating it, adding some chicken stock and seasonings (we went with fennel and cinnamon and a little maple syrup), and making sure it’s nice and smooth.  When we reheat it, we’ll add a bit of half and half.  Simple and tasty – our favorite kind of dinner!

Thursday – I did some Chinese barbecued pork a couple of weeks ago, and I always make sure there’s enough left for soup and for a batch of pork fried rice.  This week it’s the fried rice – plenty of seasonings, scallions, peas – it’s delicious!

Friday – Friday is always Kong and  pizza night – we have pizza, the dog has his Peanut Butter Kong toy!  What better way to spend a Friday evening than enjoying the best pizza in town and listening to the dog slurp peanut butter from his Kong?

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. 101 FAILs « Dark Side of the Fridge - August 10, 2011

[…] Make hot chocolate from scratch – Surprisingly, I mentioned this, but I never crossed it off the list.  It’s crossed off […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

