jump to navigation

May’s Third Thursday – Another Risotto May 19, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, random stuff, Third Thursday.
trackback

Photobucket

May is better than half over already, and we’re bringing yet another installment of Third Thursdays – where we dig through our bookmarked, printed, or otherwise “favorited”  websites and blogs and try something new to us.

While the calendar tells us that it is, in fact, May, our actual experience says that it’s cold and damp and far from late spring, which keeps us in the house, craving warm, flavorful meals – the kind you eat out of a bowl (with a spoon if you can pull it off!).  And although risotto isn’t exactly new, this – this sticking a poached egg on top – is new, at least to us.

PhotobucketI’ve been reading The Mom Chef‘s blog for a while – long enough to know that Christiane’s and my tastes are very similar.  So when The Mom Chef says “Make this.  Seriously.” well, I seriously consider Bon Appetit’s Bacon and Leek Risotto.  Wouldn’t you?

Photobucket

It’s a pretty standard risotto recipe, for the most part – with, of course, the addition of a couple of our favorite ingredients – several slices (six) of bacon, cut into 1/2-inch pieces, and a couple of leeks (3 medium), thinly sliced.

We cooked the bacon until crisp, then cooked the leeks in the bacon grease.

PhotobucketWe do like the way leeks and bacon work together, don’t we?

From there, it’s standard Risotto 101 — add the arborio rice, coat with the fat (bacon grease, in this case), pour in white wine, and cook until wine is absorbed.

Then we add chicken stock in installments, about 1/2 cup at a time, until the rice is tender but toothsome, and the liquid is creamy.

PhotobucketWhile the rice/broth is cooking, we put together the rest of the recipe – a handful of parsley, chopped, a tablespoon of butter, and some lovely parmesan cheese – the usual suspects.

And we did one other thing – we brought a pan of water up to a simmer to poach a couple of eggs.

Now here’s the thing about poached eggs.

We never had them when I was a kid – not once.   I don’t know if it was a regional thing  or if my mother just didn’t like them, but up until just a few months ago, I had eaten a poached egg exactly once in my life, and that was in the hospital.

HPhotobucketave you ever been in the hospital and been served a poached egg (or, really, any form of egg)?  I think there’s a rule that all eggs must travel a minimum of 10 minutes to get to you.

I don’t think it matters why you’re there, or what floor you’re on.  You will be served a stone-cold, hard-yolked little blob of yuck.

Then, a couple of years ago, we started seeing poached eggs everywhere – on steaks, on salads, on your grandmother.

Not really on your grandmother.  At least not on mine, anyway.  But you know what I mean.

And I took it upon myself to learn how to poach eggs.

It turns out that it’s not difficult.

Photobucket

And so, while I poached a couple of eggs (um, slid them into the simmering-not-boiling water and stood back and waited), Peeps finished up the risotto – he stirred in the butter, cheese and parsley, along with the crispy bacon that we’d reserved.

And then we brought the two parts of the dish together – he spooned the risotto into the bowls, and I  dumped a poached egg on top of each serving.

And we tasted.

The risotto is very good on its own – it’s risotto with homemade chicken stock, bacon and leeks with a fresh shaving of good parm – of COURSE it’s good on its own!

But break that egg yolk, and stir the whole thing into the rice?

You have GOT to make this.  Seriously.

Photobucket

If you’d like to play along, leave a comment with a link to (or a description of) your Third Thursday project – tell us what you’re up to!  For loose guidelines, or if you want to check out some past Thursdays, they’re right here!

Comments

1. sjbraun - May 19, 2011

Risotto – looks yummy; I don’t know that I’ve ever eaten it. I’ve not had a poached egg, either, I don’t think. However, runny egg yolks scare me. Can I try the risotto without the egg?

Here’s my entry for the month:
http://girlsinwhitedresses.wordpress.com/2011/05/19/prince-williams-cottage-pie/

Of course you can have the risotto without the egg! Of the approximately twenty-seven risottos we’ve made (slight exaggeration, yes), this was the only one with an egg. . . and it was quite nice without. At least, The Boy polished off the leftovers that were egg-less. 😉

2. The Innkeeper's Daughter - May 19, 2011

Okay this is my first third thurs…I love the idea, thanks for allowing me in. After finding you about a week ago, I had to talk about you yesterday, so this works beautifully! Rhubarb and Spring, that is my entry. http://www.theinnkeepersdaughter.com/home/2011/5/18/ramps-and-rhubarb-spring-in-new-england.html
Furthermore, this is kismet, risotto for dinner tonight, asparagus and crab.

Yolande, thanks so much for joining us! I’m glad you enjoyed the ramps – I only discovered them a few years ago, and now I’m thrilled every time I see them!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

