jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 05.24.2011 Edition May 23, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

Photobucket

We had  day without rain!  In addition to some gardening and a bit of yard work, I found that the bleeding hearts we moved a couple of years ago (a) are doing nicely where we put them, and (b) didn’t all get moved after all.  So we’ve got this gorgeous flower that wants to keep blooming where it is.  That’s fine with me.

Photobucket

PhotobucketThis week’s market trip was full of beautiful, fresh veggies!  Besides last fall’s onions, I got some new potatoes, fresh lettuce, collards, and spinach, and asparagus!  I love some home-grown asparagus.  I don’t even bother with the trucked-in stuff – I’d rather just wait another couple of extra weeks for the good stuff.

Photobucket

Photobucket

My favorite thing to do with fresh asparagus?

I bring it home and wash it right away – it grows in sandy soil, you know, which means gritty tips.   Then I squirt a little olive oil over it, sprinkle with kosher salt and black pepper, and, at dinner time, grill it.

There is very little better for dinner on a beautiful Saturday evening alongside some parsleyed new potatoes and a grilled steak.

Photobucket

PhotobucketRemember a while back, when we baked the tilapia fillets with the lima beans?  And how wonderful it was?

Well, we thought we’d try something similar with chicken breasts and the rest of the limas and a handful of fresh herbs from the garden, on a bed of pearled barley.

You know what?  It was delightful.

Photobucket

PhotobucketI’ve been working at my knitting – and not just socks!

Though I’ll admit  that I would love to knit some of the gorgeous Scandinavian style socks – you know, the ones with the colored stripes and stars and reindeer and such.  And of course, the best way to learn how to do something like that on such a small scale is to start with something a little bigger.  Like, say. . . a bag.

This knitting stuff is kind of addicting, isn’t it?

Photobucket

PhotobucketHave you seen these pomegranate candies?

I happened upon them several months ago and picked up a tin.  (I love candy in tins.  I have to steel myself (heh, get it, steel?) to actually throw out the tins, because they just seem like they’re so handy for . . . things.

So anyway, if you ever to run across these little Fruit Marvels, grab them.  They’re really, really good.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’m still working on my 101 Things– and with regard to #55, the word for this week is. . .O.  Octothorpe.  This is kind of a fun word – or at least a word with a fun story!  The octothorpe is # – a number sign.  Or a pound sign.  Or, actually any number (heh!) of things.   The story goes that when Bell Laboratories invented its revolutionary touch-tone phone in the 1960s, they needed a new names for the eight-pointed number sign key – “octo” means, of course, eight, and “-thorpe,” that came from athlete Jim Thorpe.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  We’re fortunate that we had one (weekend!) day that was rain-free last week – It doesn’t look like we’re going to be that lucky this week, does it?

Photobucket

Monday – I subscribe to The Splendid Table‘s podcast  (and their newsletter).  Last week, I saw a recipe for pasta with salmon, peas and sage in the weekly email that just struck me as . . . interesting.  We’ll see, I guess.

Tuesday – We picked up turkey breasts on sale last week, and they’ve been defrosting in the fridge until I was able to slow-roast them.  And we all know that you can’t roast turkey without planning to enjoy a proper hot turkey sandwich.

Wednesday – No swim class for the puppy this week, but the Kitty’s got her annual checkup instead.  I picked up some lovely, fresh spinach this week, and we so enjoyed the spinach with chick peas a few weeks ago that we decided to give it another go.  This time, though, we’re making more than we did before – I want some leftovers!

Thursday –  We’ve got a jar of spice rub, the recipe for which we discovered while we were running our meal-prep business.  Our favorite use for our “Dr. BBQ” has always been on pork chops – and rubbed pork chops, along with some braised collards and grilled corn (from the freezer) make for an awesome dinner!

Friday – I discovered a new addition to pizza night – stinging nettles.  We’ve never tried them, and I am assured that they are, in fact, perfectly edible (if prepared correctly) and wonderful on pizza, so I, for one, am willing to give it a try!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Karen - May 23, 2011

“some parsleyed new potatoes ”

I actually read that as “paralyzed” new potatoes and had to go back and read it again. It’s Monday.

We haven’t had rain in over a month.

I’m so sorry about that. If I could, you know I’d be more than happy to send, say, alternating days of rain your way.

2. sjbraun - May 23, 2011

Your knitted bag is gorgeous!!

Why thank you! I never would have guessed how not-hard it actually was to do that sort of thing. 🙂

3. The Innkeeper's Daughter - May 23, 2011

I’ll be right over for the asparagus, potatoes and steak, make more! Please post a follow up on the nettles. I looked at them 2x at the market. In France they are for herbal tea only. Tell me more…. Yolande

I know, right? I’ve seen them for a couple of years now, and I finally said, well, what the heck! I’ll be using them later this week and will definitely follow up.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

