jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 06.6.2011 Edition June 6, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

Well, I guess it’s officially spring!

We’ve watched the buds ever-so-slowly emerge on our day lilies for the past several weeks now.  Finally – finally! – we’ve got our first blossom!

We planted these lilies along the side of the house several years ago – we’re still waiting for them to completely fill in.  Maybe this will be the year. . .

Photobucket

PhotobucketMy goodness, the funniest thing happened the other morning.  Well, kind of funny, anyway.

I was in the kitchen, making my breakfast smoothie, and the gallon bag of frozen blueberries just slipped out of my hands. . . onto the floor. . . and sort of popped open.  (Fortunately, I didn’t lose too many berries. )

And before I could get the broom to sweep up the mess. . . along came my very own clean-up crew of one!

Would you believe that goofy dog ate every single frozen berry off the floor – and then cleaned up the melty blueberry frost besides?

Photobucket

Photobucket

I made it to the public market this weekend – yay!  Although I’m still not able to drive yet, my neighbor was kind enough to play do the honors.

And I’m so glad I went, too!  So many veggies are coming into season – I was still able to get asparagus (yay!), and new potatoes, as well as lots of greens – lettuce, turnip greens, Swiss chard, arugula, and even some Russian red kale, which we’ve never tried before.

Oh, and I got some local buckwheat honey, as well, which I’d also never had.  All in all, a good day at the market!

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’m still working on my 101 Things – and with regard to #55, the word for this week is . . . Q.  Quidnunc.    So many of our words have Latin roots – I guess that dead languages can, in fact,  still live on.  So this word – from quid for “what” and nunc for “now” – is, basically, someone who wants to know what’s going on all the time.  Think nosy parkerGladys Kravitz.  Our dog whenever the neighbors are outside.

Photobucket

PhotobucketI got my Broken Foot Sock done this week – and not a minute too soon, either!  Although my toes are no longer the violent shades of purple they were, I’m still going to be wearing the “flat-soled shoe” for at least another week, and it’s really starting to bother me where it rubs my foot.  I’m almost glad I’ve got a chance to show off those nifty cables!

Photobucket

PhotobucketYou don’t mind a couple of gratuitous garden photos, do you?

This, my friends, is a garlic scape.  Just one (so far), but still, it’s our first.

Remember how last fall, we planted garlic?  And how, almost the minute the snow melted, the garlic started to come up.  Well, now it’s doing its next thing – the scapes are the thick stems that shoot up from the plants in the spring – they’re topped by flower buds, but we don’t want the garlic to flower – we want all its energy going into producing those big, beautiful cloves under the ground, so we’ll cut them off before they get to the flowering point.

PhotobucketMeanwhile, the rainy-then-hot weather certainly seems to agree with the green beans, wouldn’t you say?  I only planted these 2 weeks ago, and in just a week, they were almost all sprouted.

Another week, and here they are – several inches tall!  It won’t be long before I’m complaining about picking beans!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  It’s getting kind of tricky planning meals, between the weird weather (90 degrees one day, and a frost advisory the next?  Really?), my transportation needs (poor Peeps has been fetching me from work every day for 2 weeks so far!), but we’re still hanging in there – trying to keep it as simple as we can because, honestly, we’re tired!

Photobucket

Monday – We did want to get some of the baby back ribs out of the freezer, so Peeps is going to do . . . something with them.  Monday is his day off, and baby backs are fairly quick and easy to cook, so he’s going to either smoke or grill them.  Whatever he does, though, they’re going to  be served with the Russian kale I got (probably sauteed) and. . . maybe some pasta salad.

Tuesday – From our last issue of Cuisine at Home, I wanted to do a Grilled Vegetable and Chicken Salad – basically, it’s grilled chicken, asparagus and potatoes, with a hollandaise-type salad dressing.  Dude, they had me at hollandaise.

Wednesday –  No swim class this week, so I’m going to take the chance to work late (it’s that time of year), and, since it’s supposed to rain Wednesday anyway, we’re going to try a Curried Red Lentil stew – that’s all put together in the fridge and will just need to simmer for a little while to be sure the lentils are done.

Thursday – Since we got the April issue of Cooking Light, we’ve intrigued by their Chipotle Pork Tacos – and The Boy asked for tacos one night this week, so. . . here we are!  Isn’t it great when things work out so well?

Friday – We love pizza night – we give the dog his Kong, park ourselves in front of the TV, put our feet up and just relax at the end of another long week.  What better way to enjoy a Friday evening?

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. carrie @ gingerlemongirl.com - June 6, 2011

oh my the grilled chicken & asparagus salad with hollandaise sounds AWESOME!! Enjoyed reading your post!

Thanks, Carrie! I am really looking forward to the hollandaise dressing, too. Check back next week – you can be sure I’ll be sharing it with the world!

2. judy - June 6, 2011

Love the shots of the garden coming up! The story of ramps is so interesting. Love the sock and that could color coordinate with your foot. Still on the crutches?

I bet Peeps is tired as I know you are? Nice read today.

Thanks Judy. 🙂 I’ve given up the crutches – it was getting to the point where they were more hindrance than help – I was tripping over them!

3. Pary Moppins - June 6, 2011

I am totally adding the curried lentil stew to our menu this week.
I have chard that I was needing to use up anyway. Do you think it will freeze well?
Sorry about the foot thing but at least you are very fashionable in your sock. 🙂
Love the garden and in England they call that first garlic, what you refer to as ramps, “wet garlic.” You can add that to your wordiness for the week. 😉
Have a great week!

Interesting – wet garlic? Huh.

I certainly hope the curried lentils will freeze well – we’ve got about twice as much as we’ll be able to eat, so I’m planning to stick half of it in the freezer myself! I don’t see why it wouldn’t though. {fingers crossed}

4. Miz Helen - June 6, 2011

I love your blog and your menu for the week looks great! I would like to invite you to link up a recipe at Full Plate Thursday.Thanks for sharing and hope you are having a great week!
Miz Helen

Thanks, Helen!

5. kayatthekeyboard - June 8, 2011

Don’t you love having a canine cleanup crew? I have the cleanest kitchen floor ever. Little furball even eats raw onion and garlic that escape the dicing process.

Glad you’re improving. Stylin’ and profilin’ in the sock, you are!

Yeah, you know, I could have thought that sock through a little better, though – wool may not be the best idea when we’re in the mid-90s this week. . . 🙄

6. 101 FAILs « Dark Side of the Fridge - August 10, 2011

[…] 59. Make and wear one item of clothing – I’ve always sewn, and that’s pretty much what I had in mind.  Three years ago.  Since then, I’ve started knitting, and, most recently, I’ve been knitting socks. […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

