jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 06.13.2011 Edition June 13, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings.
trackback

PhotobucketMary, Mary, quite contrary, how does your garden grow?

Although I was a little late getting the garden in, I’m quite happy with its progress – the tomatoes all have blossoms, and the green beans look like they’re going to flower any minute now – which are the two main things for me.  The collards look happy, the basil is fine, and the lettuce may not actually be romaine, but that’s okay too.

I can’t wait for tomatoes!

Photobucket

Photobucket

You know, that goofy cat gets up in the window, and no one ever even notices her until she gets all huffy.

It’s funny – the dog comes lumbering into the kitchen, looking for a hunk of cheese or a crust of bread, and suddenly, out of nowhere, the rumbling snarling starts.  He’d never even know she was there if she didn’t insist upon drawing attention to herself.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Life Lesson number 92 – always look at the bright side.

I mean . . . yeah, sure, I broke my foot and STILL have to keep it wrapped in that hideous bandage.

But. . . I only need one spiffy new sock – I can take my time working on the second one!

I’m such an optimist, aren’t I?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Don’t forget this week is the Third Thursday of the month!  Please feel free to join us for this month’s Third Thursday event – just “borrow” a recipe (or any other anything) from someone else’s blog (or elsewhere) and tell us about it!   Be creative – challenge yourself!

Complete details are here, and remember, the more the merrier!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Funny thing.

Bee, a frequent commenter here, mentioned purslane a while back – and I had no clue what that was.

Then I was at the public market and noticed a weed growing in one of the vendor’s tomato plants, and the vendor promptly pulled it out, popped it in his mouth, and said, “mmm. . . purslane.”

And surprisingly, I have a bunch of it growing around the lamppost in the front yard – which I think I’ll just leave for now.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’m still working on my 101 Things – and with regard to #55, the word for this week is. . . R.  Retronym.    I guess this is like taking a word and making it retro – it’s actually a noun with an explanatory or clarifying adjective – usually necessary because of advances in technology.  While all we had was mail when we were kids, now we have both electronic mail and snail mail.  What once upon a time was simply a movie is now a silent movie.  You get the idea, right?

Photobucket

PhotobucketHow about another funny story?

You know how the Boy is home for the time being, right?   He’s found a job (a temporary one, I think – he’s not loving it), and he brings his lunch.  And, since it’s what moms do, I’ve been packing his lunches for him.

I’ve also stopped buying mayonnaise – which means his ham and cheese sandwiches are slathered with homemade mayo.

Well, the Boy shared a sandwich with a co-worker who had forgotten his lunch (or something), and a couple of days later, the co-worker asked what his mom had done to the sandwich – he’d tried mixing all kinds of stuff in and couldn’t get it to taste the same.

Dude, my mom makes her own mayonnaise.

Heh.

Photobucket

Photobucket

We’re enjoying typical June weather here in upstate New York – some days a little “warmer than seasonal” mixed with some a little “cooler than seasonal” –  exactly what one comes to expect, I guess.

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.

Monday – The forecast is calling for rain – no grilling for us!  We pulled a pork loin roast from the freezer – it should be defrosted enough to butterfly it, season it, and roll it back up before roasting for dinner, probably with some new potatoes and either a salad or some greens.  I’m thinking for the pork – a little garlic, fresh oregano (after all, we have oregano to burn!), some lemon zest and a bit of feta cheese – maybe get a Greek vibe going on, huh?

Tuesday – The rain’s supposed to stop for a bit, and the sun’ll be back out (hopefully) – and we’ll celebrate with simply grilled burgers on fresh, oniony buns, along with my baked beans, probably tossed salad, and maybe macaroni salad.

Wednesday – Although we’ve typically enjoyed soup night when we have swim class, to be honest, when it’s 80 degrees and sunny, who wants soup?  I think, for the summer, we’re going to switch to something equally quick, but a little more seasonal – and this week we’ve got an old favorite – our molé chicken – marinating in the fridge, ready to toss on the grill when we get home.  Less than 10 minutes to cook is pretty darn fast, wouldn’t you say?

Thursday -Since the herb garden seems to be in full swing (Oregano pesto, anyone?  How about thyme?  Sage?), we’re digging out an old friend – pasta with herbs and other stuff.

Friday – We do love pizza night!  It’s the end of the week, the pizza is good, and the dog gets his special treat too.  Plus, I’ve got breakfast the next day, besides!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy - June 14, 2011

Garden looks super. I am so jealous. “my” tomatoes are loaded and ready to add color. Great Kitty picture too! How did the “trying to drive” thing go. And the car purchase was not stressful I bet.

Food always looks super. At least the Boy is appreciative i think. Hang tough, you will be ON both feet soon, 🙂 🙂

Oh, Judy, I’ve been driving myself to and from work – NO PROBLEM! 🙂 And The Boy has his car, so it’s all good – he actually, surprisingly, likes his little beater – it’s an old Honda hatchback. Kind of cute, actually.

2. sjbraun - June 18, 2011

So much interesting! First, I am sorry I missed Third Thurs. – I realized it this a.m. 😦 Next month, hopefully.
I hope your foot is doing better. The sock sure looks pretty.
I am acquainted now with purslane as well, as my daughter is taking weeds in 4-H and that is one we need to collect. It always grows in my outdoor pots, but I didn’t know its name. So you can eat it??
Your garden looks great. What is the black stuff? I’m assuming it’s to control weeds – does it work?

It’s such a busy time of year, isn’t it?
I’ve got an appointment with the ortho (again) this week, so hopefully I can lose the Stupid Ace Bandage for good!
And yeah,they tell me that purslane is edible – who knew? When I worked on the lettuce farms, we used to haul bags full of that stuff out!
And the tomatoes – the black stuff is a fabric of sorts, and yes, it certainly does help keep the weeds down. I got it last year at Home Depot – it comes in a roll, I think 3 feet wide. It’s porous enough to let water through, but no light for the weeds.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

