jump to navigation

June’s Third Thursday – A Quiet Sunday Breakfast June 16, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff, Third Thursday.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

Oh, hey, wow, is the year flying by or what?  Or am I just . . .getting old?

Nah, it can’t be that!

Welcome to June’s Third Thursday, where we try something New! and Different!  and Exciting!

Photobucket

Actually, I don’t know about “exciting” – though new and different?  Yeah.

I’ve been reading Kalyn’s Kitchen for a while now – I think I found her when I was thinking about considering looking into the South Beach diet.  Then I remembered that I don’t believe in diets.  However, I’m always a fan of healthy, tasty food in general, so, well, I guess that says it all, doesn’t it?

Photobucket

Somehow, I came across Kalyn’s recipe for Red Russian Kale and Red Onion Savory Breakfast Squares, and I saved it with the intention of trying it with Swiss chard.

And then I just . . . didn’t.  You know how that goes, right?

BUT.

But, last weekend, I was at the public market, and what did I pick up?  Russian Kale, that’s what.  And since I also got tons of turnip greens, lettuce, and asparagus, well, the kale got earmarked for this recipe.

Photobucket

Actually, when I was trying to figure out what the HECK I was going to do with all the greens, particularly a tender variety of kale we’d never worked with before, I remembered the saved recipe and printed it out.

Eh, potato, potahto. . .the recipe was remembered, printed and used.  That’s the point anyway.

Photobucket

I made a couple of minor tweeks – nothing major.

I didn’t have a red onion on hand, so I used a regular brown onion.  And speaking of red – I’m not sure if my Russian kale was “red” Russian kale or not.  (For all I know, they only call it “red” because it is Russian!)

And as I was assembling the ingredients – the eggs, onion, garlic and greens, I thought that it just needed color.

So, along with the kale, I tossed some diced roasted red peppers – not much, maybe an eighth of a cup is all.

Photobucket

The other change I made – Kalyn’s recipe called for something called Spike seasoning – I have no idea what that is.

So I swapped it with a healthy spoonful of my veggie bouillon – but next time I wouldn’t bother.  The recipe calls for a teaspoon of soy sauce, and really, that was probably enough salt.

Though now that I think of it, maybe using a heaping tablespoon of bouillon in place of 1/2 teaspoon of the Spike stuff was the problem.  Huh.  I guess that’s what happens when you’re rushing on a Sunday morning so you can get it in the oven and jump in the shower.

Photobucket

So anyway, salinity notwithstanding, I really enjoyed this breakfast – plus it reheated nicely for lunch the next day.  It was like a crustless quiche, I thought – kind of eggy and veggie.   And healthy – oh so healthy!

Which, sadly, may have been Peeps’s only objection.  Too much kale, not enough bacon.

But maybe next time, I’ll add a little bacon to the mix. . .

If you’d like to play along, leave a comment with a link to (or a description of) your Third Thursday project – tell us what you’re up to!  For loose guidelines, or if you want to check out some past Thursdays, they’re right here!

Comments

1. anne - June 16, 2011

Salinity LOL!!

Actually, this sounds really good. I have recently been exposed to kale (here, I think), and haven’t yet done much with it. I doubt I could find Russian Red kale here in the sticky south, so I’ll probably go with the ..um.. garden variety (har har!!) We aren’t breakfast people, but we do occasionally do breakfast for supper, so this would work nicely. 🙂

Anne, definitely give this a try, then – just make sure you cook the non-commie kale (Freedom Kale?) a little (lot) longer, is all. 😀


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

