jump to navigation

Baked Beans Redux June 22, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, random stuff.
Tags: ,
trackback

Exciting News!  This bean recipe is being featured at Hip Pressure Cooking!  After you read this, go visit Laura and say hi!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photobucket

Long time readers (or even not-so-long-time) are well aware of our fondness for beans in general, and baked beans specifically.

We love our baked beans – I guess one could say that, for me, anyway, homemade baked beans are comfort food.  So homey, yet so delicious.  And so much better than that canned stuff, even adulterated.

PhotobucketSeriously.  Have you ever seen that?  Someone’s mom’s “secret” or “prized” recipe for “homemade baked beans” that starts with “take a can of beans”?  I’ll admit, there are times when it’s all I can do to keep from scoffing out loud.  Obviously these people have never had proper baked beans.

Then I feel sorry for them.  I mean, they’ve never had proper baked beans – they don’t know any better.  And that’s kind of sad, isn’t it?

Photobucket

Now I realize that we’re probably unusual (some might say weird) – we’d rather go without baked beans altogether than stoop to canned beans.

We eschew the speed and ease of the can opener (and the 10 for $10 sales) in favor of . . . spending 4+ hours in a sweltering kitchen.

And that’s the problem, isn’t it?  No matter what you do, or when you do it, you just can’t enjoy homemade baked beans in the summer unless you pay for it – in sweat and/or air conditioning bills.

Photobucket

And honestly?

That is just not acceptable.

So we set out to remedy the situation – we wanted to enjoy our brown-sugar-and-molasses beans all summer, with our white hots and burgers and mac salad, without the oppressive heat that comes from having the oven running for the better part of the day in the dog days of summer.

Photobucket

And we did it.

We managed to “bake” our beans on the stovetop, in the pressure cooker, in less than an hour.

If you have a pressure cooker, or you’re considering investing one, know this.

You NEED to do this.

You need to whip up a batch of baked beans for dinner on a Tuesday evening.  Or on a Sunday morning while you’re in the shower, to enjoy cold later on.

Photobucket

Plus – you could probably leave the bacon out if you needed to, and add a bit of smoked paprika – I’d stir it in after cooking – if I used it, which I wouldn’t because I’m good with bacon.  I’m just putting it out there.

If you’re concerned about using the pressure cooker – and believe me, I know, it can be scary – visit  Hip Pressure Cooking – Laura has some more recipes and a great explanation of exactly how the pressure cooker works.

In the meantime, printable directions for my baked beans in an hour are right here.  Enjoy them!

Comments

1. The Innkeeper's Daughter - June 22, 2011

before I even finish reading…what is a white hot????

Oh, white hots! They’re a hot dog that’s, well, white. 🙂 They’re primarily made from pork, though they do have beef and veal, too, as well as powdered milk. I guess it’s regional (upstate NY), though they are becoming more available. They’re usually either grilled or griddled and they’re SO good. 🙂 Wikipedia article

2. The Innkeeper's Daughter - June 22, 2011

ps…”right here not working”

I’ll check on that – it seems to be working on this end, but I’ll sign out of Google and see what happens. Meanwhile, I’ll email it to you. 🙂

Toy Lady - June 23, 2011

Link is fixed. I think. 😕


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

