jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 06.27.2011 Edition June 27, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Home, Musings.
trackback

Photobucket

Wow, it’s been a busy weekend!

On top of everything else going on this first week of official summer, it’s strawberry-picking season here in upstate New York!  We had an awful cool, wet spring, which set everything back a bit, and then it got really warm, which made the berries start to ripen quickly, so basically, we’ve got a late, short, not-so-great strawberry season this year.

Peeps and I did manage to gather about a dozen quarts of berries – if I need more, I’ll pick them up at the public market.  I just love to have them in the freezer for strawberry-banana smoothies during the winter!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Why, yes, that is the Boy‘s new(ish) car, and no, it does not have two of its tires on.

I’m not exactly sure what happened – yes, he explained it to me, and no, I didn’t really “get” it – something about a unibrow unitard unibody – something.

So. . . he’ll be driving me to work this week, and Peeps will be picking me up.  Yay.

Photobucket

Gratuitous garden photos!

Photobucket

My green beans have blossoms!  Woo!  I’m going to have beans soon!

Does anyone out there know whether I should plant a second crop now?  Or wait until the actual beans start?

I’ve always known you can sow for successive harvests, but I’ve never actually done it – never enough extra garden space.  But I got my spinach in way late, and it’s particularly pitiful.

Photobucket

And, of course, the obligatory Tomato Shot!

You know, of the nine different tomato varieties I planted, I’ve only ever had three – this heirloom is called Defiant, which kind of makes me think of THE Defiant, which amuses me.

Photobucket
Photobucket

I’m still working on my 101 Things – and with regard to #55, the word for this week is. . .T.  Tyro.    Isn’t in interesting how so much of our English language comes directly from Latin?  This word, from the Latin tyro which means a young soldier or new recruit, is just that – one who is just beginning to learn something.  And really, shouldn’t we learn something every day?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Jarly has always done this thing with his ears, which cracks me up.  When he’s paying particular attention (or, more likely, when he’s just woken up), he’ll perk up ONE HUGE ear – kind of like a . . . Bat Dog.

His ears are kind of floppy like a Lab’s, and kind of perky like, I don’t know, a pit bull, but they’re big, and when he perks them up, he just looks so silly.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Oh, look, let’s sneak in some lilies!

We love our lilies, and, for a couple of years, we may have gotten a little carried away with them.  But it’s so delightful to see them finally starting to fill in – I love the riot of color when they get started!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.   We have got some stellar summer weather forecast for the coming week, as well as some less-than-optimal weather.  Add that to the car-shuffling we’ll be doing this week, and, well, for us, I guess simple is better.

Photobucket

Monday – Peeps is off Mondays, so he’ll be able to put together one of our old favorites – a gyro-style patty, made with lamb, grilled and served on pitas with tzatziki.  Some couscous and salad will finish the meal.

Tuesday – While we normally have soup on Wednesdays, it’s supposed to rain  Tuesday, so we’re trying a new corn chowder from the current Cook’s Illustrated.  Well, sort of.  We’re taking a couple of shortcuts, though – with the lack of fresh corn this early, we’re using corn we froze last fall and corn stock we made then.  But still, it’ll be fantastic.

Wednesday – We have swim class this week, and once we get home, we’re going to quickly grill some chicken (in an orange tarragon marinade which is fanTAStic), steam a bit of rice, and toss a salad.  20 minutes to table, at the most – just enough time to feed the dog, I’d say.

Thursday – We’ve got a pork tenderloin to use up, so we’re going to go with another favorite – everything bagel crusted pork tenderloin – that, with some garlic scape mashed potatoes (our own scapes!  woo!) and maybe some mustard greens, and, well, we’ll be all set.

Friday – And once more, it’s pizza night – a time to sit back and relax with pizza-and-a-Kong-toy.  Although good pizza is all about the crust (and this is good pizza), I’ve got some leftover artichoke ravioli filling Peeps brought home – so this week, it’s about the crust and the topping.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy - June 28, 2011

Those strawberries look wonderful! And those dog ears! so cute. Thanks for the latest entry.

Thanks, Judy! I hope you’re well. . .

2. The Innkeeper's Daughter - June 28, 2011

Love the boys new-ish car, and that you of course are out a car for the week…what a mom! AND the lillies are gorgeous!

Thanks. I’m less thrilled with the Boy’s car than I would be if, say, he were actaually driving it, though. 😕

3. Tammy - June 30, 2011

I love your dog! He’s gorgeous!

Why thank you! He’s really a big old goofy-head! 😆

4. New(ish) cars for old « Dark Side of the Fridge - August 1, 2011

[…] bought Honda II a while back to drive to work until he could get Honda I running again. Until he broke it. That really annoyed him no end. And, of course, with The Boy having to borrow one of our cars to […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

