jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 07.18.2011 July 18, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff, Shopping With Peeps, Third Thursday.
trackback

Photobucket

Another week, another trip to the Public Market!  I love that stuff is really coming into season – peppers, cherries, zucchini, and, surprisingly, sweet peas – though it seems a little late to me, I picked up a pound of fresh, shelled peas at a really good price, which means they are IN season!

Photobucket

And this week, I got two things we’ve never had before – callaloo and kombocha.

Oh, and a wee little painted bee.  I thought he was adorable, and he’s painted by hand and signed.

I just couldn’t resist – and really, who could blame me?  At least it kept it to a little, purse-sized bee, and not a big old painted ROCK.

Photobucket

Did I mention it was a perfectly clear, cloudless, sunny day?  And BOY was it hard to catch those planes with the camera!

This weekend was the Rochester Air Show – and you couldn’t really ask for a more perfect day for it.  Clear, cloudless sky – slight breeze, and, well, sunny.

Very sunny – it was virtually impossible to see the screen on the digital camera, and I got an awful lot of photos of. . . clear, beautifully blue sky, either right before, right after, or right above an awesomely cool airplane.  I’ll weed through the photos (and video!) of, um, sky, and find a few actual shots to share later on in the week.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Another thing my market trip yielded this weekend – a rhubarb plant!

There’s one farmer who, every year, offers potted rhubarb well into the summer, and every year, I dither and hem and haw, and then, the next spring, when I’m shelling out $3 for a little bunch of early rhubarb, I kick myself.

Well no more!  In a couple of years, I’ll have all the rhubarb I want – and then some!

Photobucket

First Tomato!

I picked my first tomato of the season!

Well, that’s no counting the two – count ’em, TWO – cherry tomatoes I’ve already picked, but I wouldn’t count those as real tomatoes anyway.

It’s not very big, as is the norm with earlier tomatoes – I held it up to The Jar for scale, and once he stopped trying to lick it, we saw that it was somewhere between the size of his nose and his tongue.  He’s got a big tongue!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Don’t forget this week is the Third Thursday of the month!  Please feel free to join us for this month’s Third Thursday event – just “borrow” a recipe (or any other anything) from someone else’s blog (or elsewhere) and tell us about it!   Be creative – challenge yourself!

Complete details are here, and remember, the more the merrier!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Do you see what I see?

Peeps has some new socks!  I’m a firm believer in preparing for winter, and that’s exactly what we’re doing.

They’re very red, aren’t they?  And boy, are they going to be warm!

I’d love to attempt a sweater soon, but honestly, I just don’t feel confident enough to try something that big.

Soon, though.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’m still working on my 101 Things – and with regard to #55, the word for this week is. . .V. Videlicet. This word is interesting – it means “that is” or “namely” or “to wit”  – it’s typically used to introduce examples or details.  I say “typically” because, while I’d never heard of the word itself before, I am (and I’m sure you are, too) familiar with its abbreviation – viz.  Who knew, right?

Photobucket

Photobucket

While this is not quite a “Shopping With Peeps” installment, it’s more Driving With Peeps!

We talked about how much fun it might be to have this company – Mouse Renovations – come look at Peeps’s mom’s back steps (they’re going to need to be replaced soon) – she’s not a fan of mice, and, well, she’s been giving us fits over this move, you know.

Then we realized that the Mouse guy is actually from Canada – we’re north, but not that far north!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  It’s going to be a hot, humid week around here – and, unfortunately, it looks like it may be raining most every evening besides.

A week of low effort, low heat meals, then.  Here goes.

Photobucket

Monday – Peeps is going to be running the oven to bake bread so, since the oven will be running, we’re going to pull out an old favorite baked tilapia recipe – that, along with some rice and either beets or green beans will be a nice, reasonably quick and simple dinner dinner.

Tuesday – Since the smoker is out anyway (we smoked some bacon this weekend), Peeps wanted to smoke us up a pork loin roast.  The current issue of Cook’s Country included a sweet potato salad, and I just happened to pick up sweet potatoes at the market, which should go well, along with a tossed salad.

Wednesday – We’ve got swim class this week – we had to reschedule from last week.  We’ve been playing around with the idea of doing some sort of hearty salads for dinner, viz. a bean or grain salad.  (Did you how I just did that with this week’s word?)  This is perfect when we’re getting home right at dinnertime, the dog needs to be fed, AND it’s hot!

Thursday – Since I got the Jamaican greens, I think it’s only fitting that we try them with a Jamaican-spiced chicken, don’t you?  If it’s not too beastly hot (or raining) we’ll grill the chicken, otherwise we’ll just saute it.  We’re flexible like that.

Friday – The end of the week – it’s pizza night.  It’s going to be SO HOT by Friday – we are very fortunate to have the air conditioning!  How better, then, to relax after a long, hot week, than homemade pizza in front of the TV?

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. From Cristin To Mommy - July 18, 2011

your menu sounds yummy
wish i had a smoker!
I would love if you stopped by my blog and checked out my Menu Plan
Have a great week
From Cristin To Mommy

Thanks, Cristin!

2. SnoWhite @ Finding Joy in My Kitchen - July 18, 2011

You can always grill your pizza on your grill — that’s our favorite way to do it over the summer when we don’t want to turn on our oven 🙂

We’ve tried that a couple of times, and it just hasn’t done it for Mr. Jersey Boy here, so. . .;)

3. judy - July 19, 2011

Nice blog and love the BEE. Your photos from the air shows is remarkably similar many I have too. 🙂 Every thing sounds so good but maybe that is because I have yet to have a “meal” with the new mouth. Hot it is everywhere and I am so ready for some rain to keep my few plants going strong.

The socks are glorious! May they be worn in good health!

Aw, Jude, it’s too bad you’re not eating yet – maybe cold soup? I want to do a melon soup as soon as they’re in – yum! And the heat – yikes! While the rest of the yard is just about dead, there’s this ring of green around the garden, because I do water that every morning. (Come on tomatoes!)

4. Man, it’s hot « Dark Side of the Fridge - July 22, 2011

[…] may recall my wife mentioning that it was going to be hot this […]

5. Kimberly - September 10, 2011

Did you get that kombucha at the Rochester Public Market? Can you tell me where the stall selling it was? I had that brand at the Pittsford wegmans and it is my favorite one so far, but it is hard to find.

🙂

Hi, Kimberly. I haven’t seen the kombucha guys in a few weeks, though this morning, they were there – they’re kind of in that area between the offices and the shed – kind of near where the fried dough guy usually is. Hopefully you’ve found them!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

