jump to navigation

July’s Third Thursday – Something’s Fishy July 21, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff, Third Thursday.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

Okay, I’m going to be honest with you.  (Not that I’m ever anything but. . . .)

This is the Third Thursday of the month, yes, and, while this little, er, game is intended to showcase other blogs – what we’re “borrowing” from across the internet – well, today’s recipe just doesn’t do that.

PhotobucketIt’s not that we’re not reading other blogs.

Or even that we’re not finding plenty of cool stuff.

It’s just. . .

Well. . . I don’t know, really.

We’ve just been so busy lately, what with work, and The Boy, and Peeps’s mom and, well, everything, that it’s been tough to find the time or the energy to try out untested recipes, let alone photograph them.

Plus, you know, the whole not-filling-the-house-with-random-recipes thing, too.

PhotobucketAnd, since we’re being honest, I’ll admit that, while there are lots and lots of talented food bloggers out there, and there have been plenty of “original” or even “adapted” recipes we’ve tried that we’ve been plenty happy with, let’s face it.  There have been plenty more that have been, well, um, some have been  “meh” at best, I guess.  And no, I typically don’t talk about those –  I usually just assume I screwed something up and move on.

However.

There are a few online  sources of excellent, nearly fool-proof recipes that I can nearly always take on faith, one being, of course, our dear friends at Cooks Illustrated.  Now granted, while many Cooks recipes might be a little labor intensive, they’re not all like that.

PhotobucketIn fact, they occasionally come up with something that’s suitable for a weeknight – maybe even a Thursday.  You know, Thursday – it’s nearing the end of the work week, and you’re tired and counting the hours until Friday, so you can then start counting down to the weekend, and the last thing you want to do when you get home is FUSS over DINNER.

And one thing that is always good for a weeknight meal is fish.  While I’m not a huge fan of fish, I do appreciate the quick-cooking qualities of seafood, and, of course, the fact that it’s often one of the healthier meal choices we can make – low in all the bad stuff, and frequently high in good stuff.

Plus, of course, fish is brain food – and I can use all the help I can get!

Photobucket

Since we don’t live anywhere near the sea, we rely heavily on frozen fish – after all, unless you can SEE that ocean from your kitchen window, anything you’ll buy as “fresh” fish, is, more likely than not, frozen and thawed.  I’d rather thaw it myself, thank you.

In the heat of the summer, one of our favorite things is to just grill some still-mostly frozen mild white fish (cod, tilapia, mahi mahi are all good for the budget, swordfish or halibut if you’re feeling flush) – toss the fillets in a little oil, season with salt and pepper, and either broil, pan-fry or, our personal favorite, grill them just until they’re done, then dose them liberally with a nice citrusy, herby sauce.  Steam some rice while the grill is heating, and pick some fresh green beans, and you are ready for the weekend!

Lime Ginger Vinaigrette

adapted from Cook’s Illustrated

juice and zest of 1 lime
2 tsp. grated fresh ginger
1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper
1 Tbsp. fish sauce (trust me)
1 Tbsp. fresh basil, chopped
1 Tbsp. fresh parsley, chopped
1/3 c. canola oil

Combine lime juice, zest, and ginger; let stand 10 minutes.  Whisk in remaining ingredients, in order, ending with canola oil.  Let stand 30-60 minutes before serving, and season to taste with salt and pepper, if desired.

Photobucket

If you’d like to play along, leave a comment with a link to (or a description of) your Third Thursday project – tell us what you’re up to!  For loose (really loose!) guidelines, or if you want to check out some past Thursdays, they’re right here!

Comments

1. sjbraun - July 21, 2011

This sounds wonderful — I’ve never tried fish on the grill, but will need to (once the heat index dips below 100!).

I hear you about lack of time this summer.

Here’s my contribution:
http://girlsinwhitedresses.wordpress.com/2011/07/21/strawberry-pizza/

I hear you on the heat! Ugh. I feel like the Wicked Witch of the West every time I go outside – Eek, I’m melting! Meeeelllllttttinggggg. . .

Ahem. Thanks so much for joining in with us this month! 😀

2. judy - July 22, 2011

That meal just looks better and better to me! Yummy,

🙂 It really is, Jude – but whatever you do, don’t think the sauce would make a good salad dressing. It doesn’t. 😯


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

