jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 07.25.2011 Edition July 25, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

Wow, it’s been so very hot here in upstate New York – temperatures actually broke 100 degrees in some areas!  Fortunately, we’re within spitting distance of Lake Ontario, which helps keep us a degree or two cooler.  But still.

It’s been dry, too – we’ve been watering the garden (and just the garden) every morning while we’re out walking the dog – and it’s paying off.  I’m starting to see hints of red in the tomato patch.  I’ll give this one a day or two, then I think it’s BLT time!

Photobucket

PhotobucketPretty sad, isn’t it?  There’s a ring of green grass around the well-watered garden, and the rest of our yard (and most of our neighbors’ yards) looks like, well, dry straw.

Fortunately, the hot, dry weather is perfect for hanging my linen dresses, blouses and skirts, though, that I don’t want to put in the dryer!  I do love wearing linen in the summer – it’s so cool and comfortable.  Only problem is that as soon as I put it on and step outside, I look like Peter Falk.

Photobucket
Photobucket

So Peeps and I went on a short field trip this weekend.  It amused the daylights out of me to see the sign warning us about . . . woodchuck holes!

Photobucket

Photobucket
I’ve been picking green beans, off and on, but, to be honest, I’ve been less than thrilled with this particular variety – though I suspect the seeds may have been old.  That, or it’s just been too hot.
But I did get a second crop of beans in (a little late) and, thanks to the ridiculous heat, two more rows of beans are looking pretty good.    Maybe we’ll have a decent crop after all.

Photobucket
Photobucket

So I mentioned our field trip – you didn’t think I was just going to leave it at that, did you?

Blueberries are in season, and we got out and picked a few pounds for the freezer.  I actually only picked 6 pounds, though – it was SO hot out there in the sun, and really, who needs that?  This will probably fill a gallon freezer bag, which is about half of what I used this past year.

I’ve got a couple of days off next week, though, when I get back from Jersey (again), so I think I may go out early one morning and pick a few more pounds.  I want to have enough to share with Peeps’s mom when she gets here, after all!

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’m still working on my 101 Things– and with regard to #55, the word for this week is. . . W. Weltanschauung.  A word borrowed from the German meaning, basically, “world view” – a life philosophy.  Something, I think, like “live and let live.”  Or the Golden Rule – “do unto others as you’d have them do unto you.”  Or even “people who live in glass houses shouldn’t get stoned.”

Photobucket

Photobucket

Speaking of blueberries – have I mentioned that The Jar is a huge fan of them?  I discovered that a few weeks ago when I spilled a bunch of frozen berries on the kitchen floor, and Mr. Helpful cleaned them all up.  And licked the blueberry frost up from the floor.

There’s just something, I don’t know, kind of twisted about feeding fruit to a dog, isn’t there?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  While the upcoming week doesn’t look quite as brutal as last week was, it’s not looking all that friendly, either.  There seems to be quite a bit of rain, and the end of the week it’s going to start heating up again.  Oh yippee.

Photobucket

Monday – I picked up a bunch of jalapenos at the market last weekend.  I’ve been wanting to do something Mexican-ish.   We’ve settled on tacos using carnitas, with some Mexican rice on the side.

Tuesday – We still have a couple of pounds of the corn ravioli I made last fall – I think it’s been in the freezer quite long enough, don’t you?

Wednesday – Sadly, swim class has been suspended until further notice – unfortunately, Swim Guy was injured in a non-dog related incident and is still awaiting medical release.  However, it’s warm enough, and we’ve been busy enough, that we still want to keep things fairly simple.  I made ginger ale this weekend, and I’m marinating some chicken in the leftover ginger, which was really good on the grill.

Thursday – We have been experimenting with cold bean salads the past couple of weeks – freshly cooked beans, leftover vinaigrettes, and whatever add-ins seem appropriate.  It’s been working out so well on some of these ridiculously hot days – it’s cold, it’s filling, it’s healthy, and, above all, the work’s already done!  This week, we’re trying a chick-pea salad with with Greek yogurt dressing.

Friday – And it’s pizza night – usually the dog gets his Kong toy, and the rest of us enjoy our dinner in front of the TV (the only night we do that).  It looks like I’ll have fresh tomatoes this week – yay!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Jan - July 25, 2011

I had to laugh at your remark about fruit and the dog 🙂 We had a dog, may he catch all the squirrels he wants in heaven, that would eat ANY type of fruit or veggie. He’d steal the tomatoes off the vines just when they were about ready to be picked. Hold a banana and he’d just take bites of it. Loved lettuce and salads (always got the leftover salad so long as there was no dressing on it) … he was such a cool dog 🙂 Looks like your big boy is too 🙂

Jan, yes, our boy is a big old baby. 🙂 He hasn’t gotten into the garden – yet – but he’s more than happy to gobble up any cherry tomatoes I toss his way! He’s not too sure about most raw veggies – whenever I give him carrot pieces, I find them in the living room, with gnaw marks. The fruit – he gobbles up. He keeps taking the vegetables from me – though he’s just being polite, I think. 😕

2. The Innkeeper's Daughter - July 25, 2011

the tomatoes look amazing!!!

Yolande, they’re getting there! Tomato season is one of the things I look forward to all year – it’s so short, and it’s the beginning of the end of the summer, but everything is just so fantastic. . . it’s the only time I actually eat fresh tomatoes, which I LOVE!

3. judy - July 26, 2011

Fun times in the garden I see. Those tomatoes are loverly! Enjoy the fruits of your labor, or something like that! Enjoy your week.

Aw, thanks, Judy! I’m SO looking forward to the tomatoes. The first few are always good, but not as good as they will be. 😀


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

