jump to navigation

New(ish) cars for old August 1, 2011

Posted by Peeps in Home, random stuff.
trackback

Have you ever gotten to the point where it’s just easier to acquire a car payment?

My car used to belong to my wife. She bought it used about nine years ago. And it’s been a pretty good car since then. I inherited it when she got a bigger car to make the dog’s life a little easier.
The red Honda in the back was mine. It was starting to show its age a little, and since my wife was getting the Volvo, I took the black Honda. The red one got sold to The Boy.
Photobucket
As you may have noticed, the red Honda, or Honda I as we’ve started referring to it as, does not have its front wheels on the ground. It does not currently run, which annoys The Boy no end.
Photobucket
As you may recall, The Boy bought Honda II a while back to drive to work until he could get Honda I running again. Until he broke it. That really annoyed him no end. And, of course, with The Boy having to borrow one of our cars to go to work, it wasn’t a lot of fun for us either.
Only lately, things have been going slightly wrong with my car. I’ve had to make a couple of somewhat expensive repairs over the last few months. And according to our mechanic, I really should have a few more done. The work he suggested that needs doing will cost roughly $1500.00. Now, I don’t know about you, but I hate large, unexpected bills. Or even larger expected ones. And I can’t afford them. So, I went shopping.
Photobucket
Meet my new (to me) car. There is a dealer three blocks up the street who specializes in used Hondas. I like Honda. They make a fine vehicle. And how can you not love a car dealer that you can walk to?
It’s two years newer than my old car, and the upgraded model. It’s even got the clicky thing so that I can unlock the car without the key. The color is a little conspicuous for me, but I’ll get used to it. And so, for a small car payment for the next four years, repairs bills should go down dramatically. I hope.
Oh, and my old black Honda? The dealer wasn’t offering much as a trade in. So The Boy bought it. He now has Honda III to use whenever he wants. Fine.

On another note, you’ve probably noticed that this is not Monday Musings. Once again, my wife is on the road, helping my mother try to get her act together with the whole moving thing.
She should be home sometime Monday, but I have no idea what kind of shape she’ll be in once she’s home. With a little luck, there will be Tuesday Musings instead. And if not, I’m pretty sure she’ll let you know why.

Comments

1. Mazco34 - August 1, 2011

You have a real keeper there. She goes to help your mother, and she’ll show up at home with a crave case.
Now that’s true love.

Peeps - August 1, 2011

I know it. That’s why I do everything I can to keep her happy.

2. Toy Lady - August 1, 2011

The crave case was a surprise. 🙂 I also brought him double cheeseburgers with NO pickles, AND a couple of slices of pizza from a place called Ralph’s in Nutley. 😉

Mazco34 - August 1, 2011

Any progress?

some, but not enough. 😕


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

