jump to navigation

Long Weekend August 3, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Family.
trackback

And not in a good way.

It’s looking like Peeps and I will be making regular trips to Jersey to, well, to encourage his mom.

And by “encourage” I really mean “kick some old lady butt.”

As you’ll recall, I was down there about a month ago.  I got her started packing (yes, started), and I helped her set up a plan.

I organized her.  I’m good at organizing.  That, and color-coding.

Turns out. . . she’s not.  Good at being organized, that is.

I spent last Saturday driving to Jersey, Sunday was packing some more, and Monday I drove  back.

Sunday was our wedding anniversary, and I spent it up to my elbows in, well, packing boxes.  And dust.  Lots of dust.  I sneezed a lot.

And just don’t ask about the couch.  I think it’s been there since the Carter administration.  It has, as they say, seen better days, and it is not fit for sleeping on.

And Peeps will do the same thing in two weeks.  And I’ll do it two weeks after that.  And we’ll keep on doing it, every two weeks, either until she gets her act together or until we join forces, bring the station wagon, sleeping pills and duct tape and get her act together for her.

She is not spending another winter alone in that house.  And that is that.

So, here’s the thing.  I’m tired.  I spent the better part of two days in the car – alone – and between that, I spent a day working like a dog.  (Just not our dog, because, seriously, he’s not a working dog.  He’s a sleeping-and-farting dog.)

So here’s an interesting thing.

I spent just over 6 hours driving, through 3 states, with the radio on.  Whenever I’d get out of range of one station, I’d press the “scan” button until I found another, non-country/western, non-hip-hop, basically non-hideous music station.  I’m not hard to please – rock and roll, classical, jazz, anything that’s actually listenable is fine.  I even spent some time listening to a Greek call-in quiz program.

But you know what was really odd?

I found a station that played a song that I hadn’t heard in years.  And when that station faded, I found another station, and it played the same song before it faded away.

And then it happened a third time.

And, I swear I am not making this up, yet again.

The song?

Edwin McCain’s I’ll Be.

I mean. . . four times in one day, over multiple stations in three states?  What are the odds?

Comments

1. The Innkeeper's Daughter - August 3, 2011

you are some awesome daughter in law!

I don’t know about that, but thank you all the same. 🙂

2. judy - August 4, 2011

AWE…. was hoping you had a better experience than that. Will her stuff fit in her new house? Hire movers to pack her up and move it all to the new house! Oh right, money does not grow on trees but it sounds like a kidnapping might be in order

Hope things are better now that you have slept in a good bed! Does she have sisters who could light a fire under her?

You ARE a good MIL. hug

Jude, I doubt it will all fit into the smaller house. BUT we talked about that – the position I’m taking is that it’s HER stuff, and I suspect that, once she gets here and starts unpacking and finding homes for things, she may find that it’s not as important as she thought. Then, hey, she can have a yard sale! But for now, SHOVE IT IN A BOX AND MOVE ON! 😆

Mazco34 - August 4, 2011

She has an older brother who has started this fire. From what I understand, he was (angry). Use your imagination for the words in parenthesis.

Well, kind of started it, anyway. For whatever reason, after meeting me once, the man seems to think that I’m going to have some influence. 🙄

Peeps - August 4, 2011

Younger brother, actually.

Mazco34 - August 4, 2011

Oops, forgot that Mr. Asbestos Palate was a “Little Brother.”
I am humbled by erroneous statement. (My bad)

3. My turn again « Dark Side of the Fridge - August 12, 2011

[…] This is turning into a nightmare.  For the last month, we’ve been trying really hard to get my mother to get her act together.  My wife has driven down ready to do whatever it takes.  Twice. […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

