jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 08.08.2011 Edition August 8, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

Photobucket

Yee- haw!  It’s tomato season!    You may recall that I planted 9 tomato plants of 9 different varieties.

I do love my JetStars (a hybrid, yes) but I’m willing to give 8 other heirlooms a try.

So far, I’m also in love with Defiant, which, truth be told, gives my Beloved JetStars a run for their money.

The cherry tomatoes, well, they’re cherry tomatoes.  Early, plentiful and that’s about it.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Hey, you wanna know how to save $60 on a shopping trip?

Our local supermarket has been featuring bamboo . . . stuff for the past few weeks.  We did love the bamboo salad bowl – who wouldn’t?  However, we didn’t love them as much as $12.99.  Each!

However, the promotion has ended, and the $12.99 bamboo salad bowls have been marked down to $3.25.

THAT, we can live with – so we bought six of them, for less than $20.  And I can finally get rid of the old, slightly warped plastic salad bowls.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Is that not the most patient face you’ve ever seen?

Darling Jarly is just waiting for his Pizza Night Kong Toy, that’s all.

You would think, given the way he carries on, that we never feed him, but that’s just not true.

He just needs to be patient, that’s all.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Speaking of patient.

Kitty is also sometimes less that patient.

When she wants her dinner, she wants it Right Now!

And she’s not about to put up with the dog’s shenanegans, either.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I got home last week, and I was hungry.

I mean, I’m all for New Jersey and all, but WOW they have a lot of junk food!

So we roasted a chicken.  All I did was rinse it, season it, and throw it in the oven for an hour and a half.

It was good.  VERY good.

WAY better than junk food.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’m still working on my 101 Things – and with regard to #55, the word for this week is. . .X. Xanthippe.  I’ll bet you were wondering what I was going to come up for X, weren’t you?  How about a word that comes from the name of Socrates’s wife?  A xanthippe is an ill-tempered wife.  A scold.  A shrew.   Basically, the opposite of me.  Right, dear?  RIGHT DEAR?

Photobucket

Photobucket

We all know what in-season tomatoes mean, right?

BLTs!

Except, well, my lettuce is done, and we haven’t planted any more yet this year, so B-Ts!

Bacon and tomato sandwiches.  On homemade rolls.

That’s what I’m talking about!

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’m not quite sure what to say here, except, yes.

Yes, it has been hot.

And yes, I know, it’s gonna get a whole lot hotter.

But we were amused by the sign, nonetheless.

I dunno.  Maybe we really are heathens.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  It looks like this week is going to be warm, but mostly rainy.  We can live with that – the summer, to date, had been warm and not rainy, and honestly, I’m getting tired of watering the garden!

Photobucket

Monday –  Salmon is so good for us.  We’re going to try Cooking Light’s Spiced Salmon with Mustard along with some rice and the broccoli that I’d forgotten that I picked up at the market last week.  Boy, I’m glad broccoli is forgiving!

Tuesday – We’ve had mostly good luck with our “bean salad” experiments – this week, we’re going to try some cannelini beans, soaked in a garlic vinaigrette.  Maybe a bit of basil, and perhaps some chopped onion.  It’ll be a filling, but light, meal.

Wednesday – Still no swim class this week – if you get a chance to visit Swim Guy, send him good wishes for his injury!  So we’ll be trying a new recipe for Chicken Oreganato – along with maybe some pan-roasted potatoes (in case there’s some extra sauce) and, with luck, some green beans from the garden.

Thursday – We’ve still got some flank steak in the freezer, and, since, at this point, Thursday is forecast to be the one day without rain, we’re planning to try Cooking Light’s spice-rubbed flank steak with fresh salsa – we’ll serve that alongside some steamed barley and tossed salad.  It’ll be delightful!

Friday – Before Peeps leaves for his trip to help his mom, we’ll enjoy pizza night – dog with his Kong Toy, us with our feet up enjoying a movie – THIS is what Friday nights are for.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy - August 8, 2011

Hi there! Wonderful pictures all around! food, animals, more food and all the other fun stuff. I hope you don’t get rained on all week. Could you share some with New Mexico?

Jarly going to have a housemate soon? Sure hope so.

Well, Jude, today’s rain was a bit of a bust – a little cloudy and drizzly this morning, and that was it.

And it’s looking good for a sister for The Jar – we’ll see. 🙂

2. Karen - August 9, 2011

I am so jealous about the tomatoes. Really – you have no idea how much I’ve missed my garden this year.

Of course, our tomato season would be over by now but still….

Aw, I’m sorry. 😦 I’m right at the point where I have almost – but not quite – too many tomatoes to just enjoy. Though they’re starting to get a little backlogged. . . I’d send you some if I could. 😀


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

