jump to navigation

101 FAILs August 10, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in 101 Things.
trackback

Wow, a little harsh, huh?

But seriously.  I started this 101 Things Project, what, in 2008?

Two Thousand Eight.  Oh-Eight.

You’d think I’d have managed to accomplish a few dozen things (that I CHOSE MYSELF) by now, wouldn’t you?

Now I could go into a whole thing about why I haven’t gotten my Things accomplished – I could talk about how I broke my foot. Or about how my mother is still mad at me.  Or don’t even get me started about Peeps’s mom.  Or even how The Boy is home and how disruptive that can be.

But you know?

One of the unwritten, unlisted things was to be a little less hard on myself.  I don’t have to get everything perfect right away, do I?  So, first off, since I’m in a generous sort of mood, I’m going to arbitrarily add 500 days to my deadline.

That’s right.  Now it’s 101 Things in 1501 Days.  Has a nice ring to it, doesn’t it?

I’m basically giving myself until November 7, 2012 to complete my list or die trying.  Only I really don’t think it’ll come to that.

And in the meantime, let’s do a little housekeeping.

10. Front walkway – step fixed; sidewalk installed– We fixed the step (sort of amateurishly, yes, but still) when we put up the clothesline – we had extra concrete anyway.

14. Reorganize bookshelves – Remember back when we pulled up the carpet?  Well, one corollary to that little project was to move and rearrange the bookshelves.  Done.

40. Make hot chocolate from scratch – Surprisingly, I mentioned this, but I never crossed it off the list.  It’s crossed off now.

59. Make and wear one item of clothing – I’ve always sewn, and that’s pretty much what I had in mind.  Three years ago.  Since then, I’ve started knitting, and, most recently, I’ve been knitting socks.

74. Get DVD recorder – I can’t even believe that was a Thing – we ordered it, got it, and hooked it up.  Now to just use it. . .

86. Buy Christmas gifts for needy child (Toys for Tots, etc.) – We actually made a donation to The Arctic League last year, and we intend to continue doing so.

PLUS, I’ve got a couple of things in the works:

35. Take a martial arts class – I was actually signed up for this one (I know, right?) when I broke my foot.  Curses!  But I think I’m ready to reconsider it.

54. Learn the phonetic alphabet – Working on it.

55. Learn a new word starting with each letter of the alphabet – If you’ve ever been here on a Monday, you know that I’ve been working on this one.

62. Do a 26 Things project – I kind of flaked out on the last 26 Things Project, but this month, they’re doing a 31 Things in 31 Days project, which, I think, is close enough. I am IN.  I’ll put a link on the sidebar, so you can check it out throughout the month.  Cool, huh?

96. Fill a jar with pennies – we had to know this would take a while, didn’t we?

See, I’ve been doing stuff, sort of, just not so good about writing about it.

So anyway, there it is.  I’m still working on the 101 Things.  I’ve just given myself a bit of a, well, bit of a grace period.  Yeah, that’s it.  I guess I’m good with that.


Comments

1. mazco34 - August 10, 2011

I still think #52 should have been crossed off by now.

Just sayin….

Yeah, like 40 years ago. . . 🙄

2. judy - August 10, 2011

I think it should read “not completed yet.” On top of all you do, how do you even have time to have a LIST FOR GOODNESS SAKE. Just saying. I approve of the extention!!!

Thanks, Jude! It’s just so easy to put things off, you know. If I don’t challenge myself in some way, I’d never do anything new and exciting!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

