jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 08/15/2011 August 15, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Big Lug, Musings.
Tags:
trackback

Wow, it’s the middle of August already!  August 15th was my Grandma’s birthday – and my due date for the Boy (who, true to form, showed up a couple of weeks later!)

Back when Grandma turned 75, Grandpa surprised her with a birthday party, and we flew out to Chicago from New York.   The Boy was just shy of his first birthday, and, between meeting great-aunts and first cousins-once-removed and playing hide-the-pacifier with Heidi (Grandma and Grandpa’s dachshund), he also took his first steps.  Now there’s a birthday present, huh?

Photobucket

Photobucket

So what ever happened to those “lazy, hazy, crazy days of summer” anyway?  Just about all we’ve got going on is the “crazy” part!  Peeps took the bi-weekly trip to Jersey this weekend, and I went to the market and, well, I got a lot of stuff.

Which wouldn’t be a problem, really, except that once I get it home I actually have to do something with all that produce.

It seems that everything is in season right now, huh?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Anyway, Peeps headed out Saturday afternoon, and I finished cleaning lettuce and greens and cutting melons and taking corn off the cob, generally cleaned up the disaster that was the kitchen, walked the dog, then, since it was so hot and Swim Guy has been out of commission for a couple of weeks, we took a ride to the beach.

After all, in theory, a tired dog will sleep a little later on Sunday morning, right?

Photobucket

And who is the tiredest puppy of all?

Photobucket
PhotobucketWhen I picked up a cantaloupe this weekend, the farmer asked me if I liked honeydews, which I do.

So he said, here, you have to try this melon, then.

I don’t know what it is – from the outside, it looks like a pale cantaloupe – on the inside it does, too.  But Oh My Goodness – it was so sweet and delicious, I almost couldn’t stop eating it.

And, judging by the half-bowl that’s left, The Boy liked it too.  I plan to find out exactly what it is next time, you can be sure of that!  (And, um, pick up another one!)

Photobucket

Photobucket

Don’t forget this week is the Third Thursday of the month!  Please feel free to join us for this month’s Third Thursday event – just “borrow” a recipe (or any other anything) from someone else’s blog (or elsewhere) and tell us about it!   Be creative – challenge yourself!

Complete details are here, and remember, the more the merrier!

Photobucket
Photobucket

I’m still working on my 101 Things – and with regard to #55, the word for this week is. . .Y. Yob.  Now this one is especially interesting in light of the recent events in London – a “yob” is a primarily British word for a ruffian.  A rowdy hooligan – a destructive youth.

And, as an aside, the word comes from spelling the word “boy” backwards – which will always remind me of an old Happy Days episode.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I still say that there is very little in life better than a BLT sandwich for lunch – especially when the tomatoes are my Beloved JetStars and the bacon and mayonnaise are homemade.

I’ll admit to using farmer’s market lettuce and supermarket bread, but I just couldn’t wait any longer for a new crop of lettuce.  Or for bread to rise.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  As always, we like to watch the weather forecast – while it may not be 100 percent right, at least it gives us a starting point!  We’ve been known to shift things around a bit, too, if things change – the main thing is to have a plan, right?

Photobucket

Monday – Since Peeps will be rolling in sometime Monday afternoon, tired and grubby, I think something easy and comforting is in order.  We most likely won’t be grilling, so I thought I’d try something different.  I’ve got a sauce  made (some beef chunks in a tomato-vegetable sauce), which will go nicely, I think, over mashed potatoes.  A salad on the side (or maybe the collards I got at the market) and it should be delightful.  I hope.

Tuesday – Originally, we’d planned to grill the last of the Italian sausages on Monday, but it looks like Tuesday will be a better evening to use the grill.  Add a green salad and, I don’t know, maybe some grilled potatoes?  Fries?  Something like that.

Wednesday – Still no swim class – I do hope we can start back up soon!  Meanwhile, I found one last package of Korean Beef in the freezer, which we always serve with rice (usually basmati).  And hopefully, I’ll pick enough green beans to go along.

Thursday – Back to rain again Thursday – but that’s okay.  Both the garden and the lawn need it.  And I’m planning another bean salad for dinner – this time, I’m thinking black beans, grilled corn, and some kind of southwestern-type vinaigrette – and perhaps the poblano peppers that I picked up, maybe roasted.

Friday – During the summer, pizza night means just one thing – olive oil, fresh tomatoes, fresh herbs and just enough cheese to hold everything together.  That is the best.  For me, anyway.  Other people may still prefer lots of cheese and plenty of pepperoni. That’s why we make separate pizzas.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy - August 15, 2011

Happy Monday update! Jar is piece of work! Food looks great, I feel for Peeps on the driving and know he will appreciate a COLD ONE. The menu looks great and good you got to the water. Loved your word today. Have a great week.

Actually, I think his first order of business, once he got home, was a shower! 😉 But he did make it home safely, so all is well.

2. judy - August 16, 2011

yes, all is well. tx


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

