jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 08.22.2011 August 22, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in 101 Things, Musings, random stuff, Shopping With Peeps.
Tags:
trackback

And another week rolls by!  Can you believe how busy this summer has been?

PhotobucketLast weekend, while Peeps was away, I did a mess of laundry and hung it out to dry – I love line-dried laundry, especially sheets.

Unfortunately, before the wash actually dried, it rained.  For about 3 days.

That’s okay, though – now we have rainwater rinsed, line-dried sheets.

I’ll be sleeping like a baby. . .

Photobucket

PhotobucketLast week’s pizza was a winner, for sure.

We brushed the crust with olive oil, sliced up several San Marzano tomatoes and laid them on top, added a few slices of provolone cheese (I love provolone!), then sprinkled some fresh mint – yes mint! over it all.

It was amazingly good!  Who’da thunk?

Photobucket Photobucket
And how about a quick Shopping With Peeps installment?  (Sort of, anyway.)

Have you seen the 3 Muskateers Truffle Crisp bars?   M&M Mars put these out a while back – last year, maybe? – as a “limited edition” candy bar, and we had a coupon, so we tried it.  They’ve got a crispy bottom, they’re chocolate-covered, and there’s this weird not-quite-soft, not-quite-hard middle part.  We loved them, then they stopped making them.

But now they’re back.  Grab one and try it – tell me what you think.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’m still working on my 101 Things – and with regard to #55, the word for this week is. . .Z. Zugzwang.  Imagine, if you will, a situation where you’re forced to make a choice, with all of the available options being undesirable.  Between a rock and a hard place.  The lady or the tiger.  That’s zugzwang.

And this ends Thing #55 – I’ll post a separate page with each of the letters later on.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Oh my gosh!

Peeps and I had to got to the pet store the other day, and as we were leaving, do you know what we noticed?

It’s kind of hard to tell, but parked right there, in the handicapped spot in front of the Old Country Buffet was a brandy-new Rolls Royce.

Um, really?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Although it’s the tail end of August, it’s still summer – and we fully intend to enjoy the summer weather to its fullest.

Photobucket

Monday – I dug a beef roast out of the freezer last weekend, and, as it happens, we just watched an episode of America’s Test Kitchen with Grill-Roasted Beef with Garlic and Rosemary.  We have garlic, and we have rosemary, and, of course the beef.  And we’re gonna do the potatoes from that episode too – along with a nice tossed salad, I think.

Tuesday –  I had one last package of chicken thighs in the freezer, and we thought we’d try something new – grilled chicken with white barbecue sauce.   We’ll serve that with the collard greens that I keep forgetting about and maybe some barley.  We like barley.

Wednesday – Again no swim class – I hope Swim Guy gets feeling better soon – we miss him!  However, we will take this Wednesday evening to enjoy some burgers – we have not had nearly enough burgers this summer!

Thursday – It’s supposed to rain again Thursday, so we’re going to enjoy our bean salad then.  This week, we’re going to cook some white beans and make an herb vinaigrette – one that highlights our Tuscan herb blend.  And, since it’s best after sitting, it also makes great lunches!

Friday – You all know by now how much I love our pizza night – especially when there are fresh tomatoes and fresh herbs to be had!  What more is there to say?

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Pary Moppins - August 22, 2011

Please send some of that rain this way. The normally green Piney Woods area of Texas is a horrible ocre color right now. Very sad. Zugswang…best word ever. I am going to make it my mission in life (well, mission for today) to use it as much as possible. Menu, as usual, looks great.

It’s been such a dry summer all over – I can only imagine how bad it must be where you are! While it’s nice to finally have rain and cooler temperatures, that only means that Fall is near. SIGH

And isn’t that just the best word? 😀

2. Cooking with Cristin - August 22, 2011

wow that pizza looks amazing!!!
Here is a link to my Menu Plan this week.
I’d love if you stopped by my new blog!
Have a great week:)

Thanks, Cristin! Peeps always makes a great pizza. 🙂

3. The Innkeeper's Daughter - August 24, 2011

Congrats on the end of #55, time to start over?

Oh, heck no! I’ve got plenty of Things to work on. . .

4. sjbraun - August 25, 2011

Love 3M, and the Truffle Crisps are yummy too! Awhile back I got a bunch free with coupons and deals. I am sorry they’re gone … but happy they’re back?? I need to get more soon 🙂

I know – I don’t want to be a piggy about it, but I don’t want them to get away from me again!

5. karen - August 25, 2011

You have weather in the 60’s. Envy. The hubs makes that grilled roast beef recipe often. When we’re done I turn the leftovers into steak, rice and gravy. The 60’s at night, really?

I’m just so happy to NOT be walking dogS in 70+ degrees at 4:30 in the morning. . . but it won’t be long before I’ll be thrilled to have 60’s as the high for the day. 😕


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

