jump to navigation

What Day is This, Anyway? September 6, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings.
trackback

Well, here it is, another week.  Or part of one, anyway.  I trust we all enjoyed the long Labor Day weekend – at least as much as we did!

As you know, Peeps was home with the toddlers dogs while I was with his mom.  Though he thinks it may be a toss-up as to who had the LESS fun weekend, I’d just like to point out that while he was chasing Gretchen out of my knitting, I was driving five and a half hours, spending a hot, muggy day sneezing packing with his mom, then driving another five and a half hours – in the rain – home.

Though I did get to enjoy some honest-to-goodness New Jersey pizza.  That’s something, anyway.

Photobucket

So this past week, I did manage to finish one of my Things (yay!) – sort of.  I had intended to participate in sh1ft.org’s 26 Things Project, but they announced a   31 Things in 31 Days Project which is good, too.  And I only missed one day. . .

Photobucket

PhotobucketIt has seriously been all dogs all the time around here!

Plus, do you know that when big dogs play, they are ROUGH!  There are certain things that are just OUTSIDE GAMES.

So. . . we’re making a sizable dent in our “home improvement fund” to fence in the back yard.

I consider it  “home preservation.”

Photobucket
Photobucket

And finally, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Since it’s already mid-week, it’s kind of silly to post the week’s forecast, but just so you know – it’s supposed to be 70s and sunny.  Or not.  Welcome to Upstate New York.

Monday – I realized the other day that we had not had souvlaki even once this summer – so Peeps had it ready to go on the grill when I got home, along with some homemade pita.  It was a nice, relaxing dinner after a day in the car!

Tuesday – I just came across a new and exciting recipe for tomato soup – we made a few “tweeks” and it was quite nice, if I do say so myself.  I’ll share that with you later on.

Wednesday – We’re expecting a little better weather the end of the week, so we’re going to grill some chicken tenders skewered with sage leaves. That’s a quick and easy favorite.  We’ll probably enjoy salad and . . . something potato-y with it, I guess.

Thursday – Another grilling night – we pulled a flank steak out of the freezer, which we’ll season with rosemary and lemon pepper, then grill.  I think that will go nicely with some fantastic roasted green beans (yes, my new crop is coming in like gangbusters!).

Friday – And once more, it’s pizza night – still got tomatoes in the garden, so that’s about all there is to say about that!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy - September 6, 2011

Welcome back! The kids look really good. They will sure enjoy a fenced in back yard. I have a feeling we are going to have an early winter so get that grilling in NOW. Thumbs up to all and special hug for KITTY who seems to handling this the good way by hiding the basement! #dottodowhatyougottdo.

Hi, Judy – thanks. 🙂 Kitty met Gretchen up-close-and-personal for the first time yesterday. 😯 She was hanging around the kitchen, looking for her dinner early, when along comes Gretch. Kitty was NOT happy. She swatted at her a couple of times before she scooted back through her kitty door. Poor Gretchen – she just wanted a quick sniff, that’s all! 😆

2. mkmusicgal (@mkmusicgal) - September 6, 2011

Oh your menu looks DELISH!!!! I’m jealous that you’ve still got tomatoes… we’ve got one lonely plant that is barely producing… we’re nursing it along hoping that when it cools off a little, we’ll get more from it.

Thanks for stopping by… think I might try your grilled eggplant suggestion. 😉

I fear that my tomatoes are just about done, too – the leaves are starting to die back, which is pretty much the beginning of the end.

Good luck with the eggplant – I loved it on the grill!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

