jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 09.12.2011 Edition September 12, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff, Shopping With Peeps.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

This was a market weekend.  I want to say “yay” – and I do, really, I do.  But it just seems so unfair that everything comes into season at once!  I got beets and corn and onions and melons and sweet potatoes and peaches (oh! the peaches!) and kale . . . it’s just crazy.  Crazy, I tell you.  But, you know, in a good way.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Meanwhile, I’ve gotten smart and started picking up a single pork belly each market trip – which means Peeps had two bacons to smoke this weekend.  Since he had the smoker out anyway, he threw a chuck roast on there – beef barbecue . . . yay!

The poor guy – what with our dog schedule and our helping-his-mother responsibility, he hasn’t smoked nearly as much as he’d like to this summer.  I have very little doubt that he’ll make up for that next summer.

Photobucket

Photobucket

We brought home a couple of new toys for the children this morning – it seems that we are the parents of TWO toy killers.

You know, it’s hard finding appropriate toys for these two.  Stuffed toys are a non-starter – they’re dispatched in about 2 minutes – if that! – stuffing all over the place.

“Chew toys,” depending on how well-made they are, last anywhere from 10 minutes to a week, tops.  And those good ones are SHARP when you step on them.

Sqeaky toys are merely a  challenge.  How long will it take to kill the squeaker?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Peeps loves his salsa – I’ve been trying to find a salsa recipe that will satisfy him, and I think I’ve finally found it.

Pace picante, regular price, is $3 for a 12-ounce jar.  I found a recipe for a “knockoff” picante, and we canned 6 pints last weekend – the tomatoes came from my garden, the jalapenos were $1 for a quart basket full, and the rest of the stuff was, basically, pantry staples.

I think my tomato plants just paid for themselves, huh?
Photobucket

Photobucket

It occurs to us that it may be a little, well, odd that we do the bulk of our “pet shopping” not in the pet store, or even the “pet aisle.”

We went to the sporting goods section for tennis balls – those dogs do love their tennis balls!  And a bag of 12 was less than $8, compared to “dog” tennis balls at a couple of bucks each, if you’re lucky.

And of course, the horse aisle carries MSM – a supplement that Jarly gets for his bad hips.

And I realized that Bag Balm, in the cow aisle (yes, it’s exactly what it sounds like!) would be perfect for his itchy spots on his belly. . .

So I wonder – do people with Yorkies shop the cow and horse aisles?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Don’t forget this week is the Third Thursday of the month!  Please feel free to join us for this month’s Third Thursday event – just “borrow” a recipe (or any other anything) from someone else’s blog (or elsewhere) and tell us about it!   Be creative – challenge yourself!

Complete details are here, and remember, the more the merrier!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Who’s ready for dinner?

That will never cease to crack me up.  It’s like a mob scene.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  In our part of the world, there never seems to be much doubt when Autumn gets here – we go from the “three H’s” – hot, hazy and humid – to “I wonder where I put that sweatshirt last spring?” almost overnight.

Photobucket

Monday –  Oh, we’re grilling.  We’ve got some ground “game meat” that our neighbors kindly shared with us, which we’ll mix with Peeps’s homemade Italian sausage. That should make some fantastic burgers, along with tossed salad and maybe some grilled potato wedges.

Tuesday – While I’ve still got cherry tomatoes, I want to try Bon Appetit‘s Chicken Breasts with Tomato-Herb Pan Sauce with a few revisions.  After all, if you’ve got fresh produce, you should use it, right?  Maybe some rice and green beans, and it’ll be fan-freaking-tastic.

Wednesday – You know what I said about autumn?  Yeah, we broke the soup seal – we made a clear-out-the-refrigerator soup with some tomatoes (technically on the counter) some leftover cooked Italian sausage, beet greens, and a few other kitchen staples. It should be great with garlic bread.

Thursday –  Peeps is very proud of his breakfast sausage, so we’re going to have sausage gravy and biscuits – not terribly healthy, no, but so, so good as the weather starts to cool down.

Friday – It’s pizza night and I’m still nursing my tomatoes along.  There is nothing quite like a homemade pizza with fresh tomato slices – if you’ve never tried it, you should.  Quickly – before it’s too late!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. k-Koira - September 12, 2011

That smoked meat looks really good. And, I use the stuffless toys for my dogs, as they don’t tend to rip them to shreds as often. Also, they have these nifty braided toys that my dogs like a lot and haven’t totally destroyed yet.

I am just stopping by from the MPM linky list, checking out what everyone else is planning for the week.

Hey, k-Koira, thanks for visiting! We gave up on the stuffed toys a long time ago – our Jarly was a terror with them! He’s not done well with the Kong braided toys – it’s pretty much always been the flat squeaker toys, ropes and Nylabones. And now Gretch is even worse than he is with them! I’m telling you, these two are killing me! 😆

2. judy - September 12, 2011

but, but, but they are so cute! Good blog today and those veggies are just beautiful. The thought of the bacon makes my mouth water. Have great week all of you! 🙂

The beasties? Yeah, they’re adorable. 😀 And Jude, the bacon is fantastic! You have a good week, too – and don’t over-do with your move! 😉

3. Carey - September 15, 2011

Have you tried racquetballs for your dogs? We have a boxer/lab mix puppy (just over a year old) that can destroy any toy you give him. But he has yet to tear up the racquetballs we bought him months ago. And they are so much fun to play with bouncing multiple times and making it more difficult to catch.

No, we haven’t – those are the little blue balls, right? (Not a sport person here! :D) I’ll definitely keep that in mind. Hopefully, the fence people will be done by early next week (fingers crossed!) – multiple bounces sounds very much like an outside game! Thanks for the suggestion!

Carey - September 23, 2011

Yes, they are the little blue balls. I also find they are easier to get out of his mouth. He hasn’t gotten down the “give me the ball” bit and likes to hang on to them. I can’t wait until we’re able to fence in our yard. Right now I spend too much of my waking hours walking the dogs.

I know what you mean! This fence has already been a godsend! However, our beasties are still mighty dependent on us – they’re not quite sure what to do on their own, so they still rely on us to walk them. Which, really, isn’t SO bad – I know I can use the exercise! 😆


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

