jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 09.19.2011 Edition September 19, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

Congratulate me – I have unlocked the mystery and figured out how to have not just one, but TWO, cool, calm, and contented dogs!  No wrestling in the living room, no dumping over of water dishes (yes, that happened the other evening!), and really, only minimal barking out the windows at passing squirrels!

Photobucket

A two-hour morning walk, followed by an hour-long afternoon walk – THAT is the piece of the puzzle that we’ve been looking for!

Of course, that’s assuming you actually want to spend three hours walking the two beasts, but really, who wouldn’t?  Why, they’re like a couple of little lambs!

I’ll be sure to let Peeps know when he gets home from Jersey  – he’ll be wrangling them again in a couple of weeks when I go down there.

Photobucket

Oh, and speaking of wrangling the beasties – they’ve got a new training class starting this week on Monday evenings.  Therefore, rather than regale you with weekly tales of obedience training, we’ll skip Tuesday’s blog entries for the next few weeks.  Unless, that is, you want a blow-by-blow description of how  Gretch doesn’t know “sit.”  Heh.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’ve certainly kept busy this weekend – of course, I never finish my entire list, but I’ve made a good dent.

I even put together a lasagna to be sliced, wrapped and frozen.  I always like to freeze individual servings – they make great lunches or emergency dinners.

It’s quite handy, you know, to have a husband who brings home extra pasta sheets, leftover ravioli filling, and marinara “overstocks” – this way, it’s simply assemble and bake!

Photobucket

PhotobucketYou know, they keep threatening us with Autumn, and the weather keeps being warmer than I expect.  Fortunately, we’d taken a trip out to Beers of the World a while back, and there were still a few random beers in the fridge.  I don’t think I’ve ever tried a “weiss” beer before, but this was definitely. . . quite nice.  In a girly sort of way.

Photobucket

For what it’s worth, I’m still working on my 101 Things – specifically #31.

Photobucket

Though I think maybe it’s going to take a little longer than I’d expected to actually do 50 sit-ups ALL AT ONCE.  I seem to get interrupted quite a lot.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Although we’ve had some mighty chilly mornings of late, and a few rainy evenings, our Fall is actually holding up quite nicely.  The garden is starting to wind down, and it’ll be sad to say goodbye to the fresh tomatoes and green beans, not to mention the fresh herbs that we’re so spoiled by all summer!

Photobucket

However, it’s still looking to be reasonably nice this week – if, possibly, a little damp.

Monday – Peeps will be on the road most of the day, and we’ve got our obedience class orientation (or whatever), which is “leave your dogs at home” so we’ll grab the opportunity to grab a bite on our way.

Tuesday – We had a small “ham roast”  in the freezer -it’s basically about a 3 or 4-inch-thick slice of a bigger boneless ham.  It’s defrosting, and I’m going to see if Peeps will get out the BIG slicing knife and cut it into 3 reasonable-sized ham steaks that we can then toss on the grill (yay grill!) and serve with probably some green beans from the garden and something . . . potato-y?  Or maybe corn.

Wednesday – Jarly’s been missing his swim class all summer!  Swim Guy recently had surgery – we’re all certainly wishing him a quick recovery!  Meanwhile, these chilly mornings have been getting me in the mood to re-institute soup night.  I had a mess of kale in the fridge, some chorizo and ham in the freezer, which all sounds like Spanish kale soup.  If we’ve got to have cooler weather, at least we’ve got good soup!

Thursday – I scored a bunch (actually two bunches) of leeks a couple of weeks ago at the public market – enough to highlight them in a Chicken and Leek pie – the filling is made, and we’ll put the crust together later on in the week.  Should be interesting. . .

Friday – It’s getting to be the time of year where I just hope I have enough tomatoes left for pizza night – this week, I think we’re safe, but one cold night, and it’s curtains for the tomatoes.  So, of course, I’m savoring every last one!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. sjbraun - September 19, 2011

I love how I feel like I totally know you and your life from this blog 🙂 Your dogs look so sweet! And that lasagna … I wish I could just reach through the screen and eat a piece of that myself! I’m mourning the end of our tomatoes as well.

Aw, what a nice thing to say! 🙂 I’m hoping for a few more good tomatoes – suddenly, they’re just . . . not there anymore. 😥

2. judy - September 20, 2011

Really running late but enjoyed the news. Do we get a picture of tired out mama too? And I love lasagna and as the temps are cooling down it is even more appealing! The “classes” should be very interesting and leaning manners is always good. Progress reports required. Sit ups? Wow.

Hey, Judy, good to see you! No pictures of tired mama until more situps are done! 😆


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

