jump to navigation

Summer’s almost… September 22, 2011

Posted by Peeps in Home, random stuff.
trackback

Well, actually, it’s officially gone. Oh well.

All too soon, the weather is going to turn.  And that’s just a bummer.  I didn’t get anywhere near all the meat smoking in that I had intended.

We didn’t have nearly all the fabulous grilled meals that we would have liked.

Sangria consumption was way down this Summer.

And way too much time was spent driving back and forth from New Jersey, trying to help mom get moved.

However.

I still have a few weeks to smoke stuff.  I would like to get a supply of pulled pork in the freezer for Winter.  And maybe some brisket.  And maybe some more pastrami.  No, definitely more pastrami.

I need to reseed the back yard.  The fence messed up the grass that wasn’t killed by the brutally hot Summer.

And we have all the awesome Fall meals to look forward to.  Braised things.  Slow roasted things.  All kind of stuff that makes the house smell wonderful.

I can take the dogs for longer walks, now that the weather is getting cooler.  Not that that’s altogether a good thing.  But tired dogs are happy dogs.  And walking the two of them at once is doing wonders for the definition in my arms.

But even though the worst is not in sight yet, the end of nice weather is almost upon us.  It’s time to start looking for the quilt.

And getting the shovels out.

But for now, enjoy what we have.  Before we have to start looking at the bright side in a serious way.  If we have time.  Or the inclination.

Comments

1. The Innkeeper's Daughter - September 22, 2011

mmm….braised things

Peeps - September 23, 2011

The only thing to look forward to in Winter.

2. mazco34 - September 23, 2011

Just think, once mom gets moved, you’ll have another driveway/sidewalk to shovel.
Maybe you can hook JarGretch up to a plow…….

Peeps - September 23, 2011

Don’t think I haven’t thought about it. I’m pretty sure they could tow the Volvo.

3. sjbraun - September 23, 2011

Your quilt is beautiful!!! Did you even do the quilting? I’ve made quilt tops, but never done the actual quilting part.

Peeps - September 23, 2011

It was my wife’s project. I just watched in stunned amazement.

mazco34 - September 23, 2011

Dull surprise?

Toy Lady - September 23, 2011

Susan, it was a simple Log Cabin pattern – and I tied it. I don’t have the patience – or the time – anymore to quilt a big quilt like that.

Oh, and thank you. 😉

4. judy - September 24, 2011

I always enjoy your input Peeps just am late what with the moving and all. You can still grill I will bet and will have lots of help with 2 pups in the yard! They look great.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

