jump to navigation

Another fun weekend September 30, 2011

Posted by Peeps in Home, just general griping, random stuff.
trackback

My wife is heading down to New Jersey again on Saturday to help with the ongoing moving issue that my mother seems to have.

Now, please don’t get me wrong.  I will owe her for the rest of my life for all the help she’s been during this whole ordeal.  And with a little luck, she might even bring back White Castles for me.

But the thing is, I don’t like her being gone.

Nothing is as much fun when she’s not around to share it with.  I’ll probably spend some time doing something cool in the kitchen this weekend.  But it will probably be far too quiet for my liking.  We banter and joke and make obscure movie references when we have kitchen projects.  It’s comfortable.  It’s what we do.

The dogs will more than likely do stuff that’s either seriously funny or horribly appalling.  That’s pretty much a given.  But trying to explain such events over the phone is not terribly satisfying.

I don’t like staying at my mother’s to help her move.  It’s uncomfortable, it’s not fun.  But when my wife is down there, I’m surrounded by familiar things and nothing feels right.

So, while I plan to try to keep my head up and carry on, there is an excellent chance I’m going to be in a less than good mood all weekend.  With the possibility of a little wallowing thrown in, for good measure.  Just because I can.

This whole moving thing is going to have to come to a conclusion soon.  I’m tired of driving.  I’m sick of playing the bad cop, even though it’s a role I was born for.  I don’t want to yell at anyone anymore.  And I want my wife home with me.  Where we belong.

Comments

1. The Innkeeper's Daughter - September 30, 2011

awww, peeps is a romantic?!?! You lucky toylady!

2. kayatthekeyboard - October 2, 2011

That’s a testimony that someone’s in love and has a damn fine marriage. My congratulations to you both.

3. judy - October 3, 2011

Beautifully put peeps. We will welcome her home today!

4. sjbraun - October 4, 2011

So sweet – you and Toy Lady are both keepers! I hope both of you ended having better weekends than expected. And even if you didn’t, they’re over now 🙂

5. Toy Lady - October 5, 2011

Aw, you guys. 🙂

We did all survive the weekend . . .


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

