jump to navigation

Just a bit of an oops October 6, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in baking, Food, random stuff.
Tags:
trackback

This actually isn’t the post I’d planned for today.

Photobucket

See, things have been a little, well, we’ve had our hands full lately.  There are moments when I feel we’re just barely holding things together.

Bi-weekly trips to New Jersey.

The Dynamic Duo.

Speaking of which – weekly obedience classes.

Work – crazy work.

Sigh.

Photobucket

So anyway, once a week, when I upload (download?) photos (get them off my camera onto the computer), I try to sort through them then, make a list of the ones I want to use, and write the numbers down, so I can go back, get the ones I want to use for the current blog, and it’s all good.

Unless I, uh, upload the wrong list.

Then I have plans of talking about chick peas and kale, when what I’ve got is photos of chicken pot pie.

Yup, that’s right.

Photobucket

Well, mostly, anyway.  It’s actually chicken and leek pie (with potatoes), and it’s encased in a shortcrust parmesan pastry crust.

I came across this recipe a while back, and, well, we all know that I love leeks, so I not just bookmarked it – I printed it.

And the last time Peeps was at his mom’s, suffering through pizza and White Castles, I was making the filling for one of the most comfortable of comfort foods.

Photobucket

Only . . . it turns out that the recipe is written in Australian.

Now I don’t have a problem with Australia – not at all.  But you know, they evidently do things in metric.

I’m old school – I like real measurements.  I understand pounds.  I have no idea what a gram looks like, except that it’s really really small.  (It is, right?)

So I’m  looking at the recipe, and I read “6 x 150g chicken thigh fillets, chopped” and I think, “so. . . I’ve got a package of chicken thighs in the freezer.  Cool.”

Um, for future reference, 6 x 150g is 900 grams (about 2 pounds in real weight) – twice as much chicken as I had defrosted.

Photobucket

Fear not, though!

See, over the years, I’ve learned a thing or two in the kitchen.  One of the things I’ve learned is how to stretch the protein in a meal.

And another thing?  How to fake it.

After all, what kind of chicken pot pie doesn’t have potatoes?

Australian pie, that’s what kind.

And we’re Yankee-Doodle-Dandy Americans around here.  And we put potatoes in our chicken pie.  Yeah.

Photobucket

Since it was the weekend, and we weren’t planning on eating this until later in the week, I stashed the already done filling in the fridge until we were ready for it.

Why, it was practically instant chicken pot pie!

Peeps was kind enough to whip up the crust (with ridiculous amounts of both butter and cheese – it was a fine pie crust!) and then we put it all together – lined the pie plate, filled it with well-cooled filling, and topped it with another layer of crust.

Photobucket

Actually, no, I’m not trying to kill us.

But I’m not going to lie – this was a very indulgent meal for us.

And it was not made better by the fact that, since the filling had been sitting in the refrigerator for 3 days, it was very, very cold.

And it took a very, very long time to cook through.

And, by the time we deemed it done, we were very very hungry.

Starving.

Photobucket

Yeah, don’t eat this pie when you’re starving to death.  It’s way too easy to eat way too much with that decadent crust.

Or to go back for seconds.

Wow, it was good – the chicken and leeks (and potatoes!) always pair well, and it’s all held together with a flavorful cream sauce, but I’m not going to lie.  It’s that incredible pastry – the crumbly, buttery, cheesy crust – that just makes the dish.

Comments

1. The Innkeeper's Daughter - October 7, 2011

gotta try this!!!!!

It was really pretty quick – and very tasty, as long as you like celery. And, of course, are expecting celery. 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

