jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 10.17.2011 Edition October 17, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
Tags:
trackback

Where has Autumn gone?  I mean, last week, we were looking forward to temperatures in the 70s and 80s, and now, well, this week, it’s truly October – and the second half of it, at that.  Before we know it, we’ll be seeing eggnog in the supermarkets!

Wait a minute . . . we actually did see eggnog on this week’s shopping trip.  Can you believe it?

Photobucket

PhotobucketIf you follow along this blog at all, you know that it’s been kind of a rough week around here – the dog situation, plus work, and then my getting sick on top of it.  So I’m going to be honest with you – when I uploaded my camera, there were exactly two photos – and they were of the same thing (I’m a belt and suspenders kind of gal, you know).

THAT’s how interesting our week has been!

However, I’m feeling tons better – I actually feel human again!  Still swamped at work, plus puppy class, but the headache is only a dull pounding, the sneezing has (finally!) stopped.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Don’t forget this week is the Third Thursday of the month!

And yes, I almost did forget, myself.  Please feel free to join us for this month’s Third Thursday event – just “borrow” a recipe (or any other anything) from someone else’s blog (or elsewhere) and tell us about it!   Be creative – challenge yourself!

I have absolutely no idea what I’ll be doing at this point, so, well, now’s a great time to jump right in!   Complete details are here, and remember, the more the merrier!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  We’ve got the normal late-October weather thing, plus my probably-working-late thing, puppy class and, of course, the surplus veggies from last week’s market trip and the needs-to-be used stuff that keeps surfacing in the freezer.  I think it’s multiplying in there, myself.
Photobucket

Monday – Again with obedience class.  The Big Lug has been doing pretty well – which he should, since he’s probably the oldest dog in the class!  So anyway, Monday will be soup night – and I’ve used up the sweet potatoes from the market (yay!  crossed them off my list!) for sweet potato soup.

Tuesday -A while back, I saw a passing reference to “pork and leek sausage” and thought to myself, “Self?  Why don’t we try to make that?”  So that’s what we’re going to do – the chunks of pork (and leeks) are all seasoned and ready to be ground, and we’ll have the sausage with oven-roasted potato wedges and a green salad.

Wednesday – We’ve got three portions of salmon in the freezer, so we’re going to enjoy Salmon With Lentils and Mustard-Herb Butter – and again, salad.  I think we had this about a year ago, and we enjoyed it very much.

Thursday – A while ago, I picked up a 10-pound box of frozen baby back ribs at an excellent price.  The only problem is that it’s 10 pounds, which is fine if you’re having a party, but not so much if you’re only two (or three) people.  We finally pulled them out of the freezer, separated them, and we’ll use half for Asian-style  Baby Back Ribs – it’ll make a lot, but we’ll use the leftover meat for fried rice or something.

Friday – And that brings us to pizza night – I already miss my fresh tomatoes!  For the time being, I’m enjoying some leftover ricotta filling, along with herbs and mozzarella on my pizza.  Maybe some salami this time?

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy - October 17, 2011

Good to see you back~with or without pictures. Getting well is much more important. I can see why you got run down and sick considering what has been going on. Take it as easy as you can this week and get really well.

Thanks, Jude. You know how it goes – the earth keeps turning, whether Mom’s sick or not. 😕 I’m fine, though. 😀

2. sjbraun - October 17, 2011

Wishing you a *really* good week! I have an idea for Third Thursday – woo hoo! I’m glad you keep us updated even without photos.

Aw, thanks. 🙂 Gosh I hate it when stuff creeps up on me like that!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

