jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 11.07.2011 Edition November 7, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
Tags:
trackback

PhotobucketOkay, first, I need to mention that Peeps was in New Jersey this weekend – only this time, he brought his mom back with him.

She’s decided that she’ll just be more comfortable spending the winter in her new house – and go back to packing up the old and busted house in the spring.

So meanwhile, I was home alone on time change weekend (which, in and of itself, is an abomination).

That’s okay – I didn’t mind scrambled eggs with mozzarella cheese and pepperoni.

And, surprisingly, cinnamon toast alongside it?  Not as disgusting as you might think.

Photobucket

PhotobucketThis also happened to be a market weekend – there is SO MUCH in season!  I’m having a really hard time not buying some of everything.  I mean, a 6-pound squash . . . for a buck.

A quart of local maple syrup for under $20.

Broccoli, cauliflower, sweet potatoes, fennel – all a buck.

I mean, how can you pass it up, you know?

Photobucket

Photobucket

The Jar, of course, seemed to home in on one particular bag when I got home – the one that had the giant bones in it.

He followed that bag to the kitchen and just patiently stood and waited.

The boy does love him some bones, doesn’t he?

Photobucket

Photobucket

So I guess the herb garden is getting a little crazy, isn’t it?  I hate to cut it down quite yet, though.  I mean, we’re still using those herbs!

I’m going to try to winter-over the rosemary again – and the thyme should be fine as is.

The oregano and the mint, however, are going to get severely cut back this fall, then, in the spring, I think I’m going to have to split them both.  They’re just out of control.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Jarly is not a big fan of being out in the back yard alone.

That is, unless there’s a squirrel in the yard.  Then – THEN – he’s all about protecting the homestead.

Fortunately, he’s not really a jumper – sure, he’ll hop around back there, but mostly, he just glares menacingly at the vermin.

And barks.  He does like to bark at squirrels.  SIGH.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And it’s the annual time-change Christmas cactus photo.

I usually leave the plant on the deck most of the summer, and once the nights start getting cool, I bring it in.  And usually, right around now (late October-early November), I start seeing buds.

It’s a Halloween-Thanksgiving-Christmas-Easter cactus.

I wish I knew what I was doing right.

Photobucket

PhotobucketHave I mentioned that the puppster loves his bones?

Peeps got him a whole marrow bone for Halloween – we gave it to him in the back yard, and you know, he never noticed the parade of strangers at the front door.

And then it was bedtime, so he had to come in.  But that’s okay – he just went to work on it then next afternoon.

Even though he knows that bones are (mostly) an outside thing.

But you know, he’s quick.  He scooped that thing up in his giant mouth and hustled it in anyway.

I know, I’m  a softie.  But he just gets so lonely out in the back yard all by himself!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Peeps’s mom will most likely be in and out throughout the week – she’s going to be settling in, and we’ve let  her know that she is more than welcome to join us whenever she’d like.

Photobucket

Monday – Since chicken breasts were on sale this week, we’re doing a version of oven roasted chicken – this time  with an apple cider pan sauce.  I think some greens will nicely complement the sweetness of the cider, so I’m also trying a kale and cabbage gratin with it.

Tuesday – Peeps is taking what may be his last opportunity to haul out the smoker, and among the various things he’ll be smoking, he’s doing a beef brisket.   We’ll enjoy that for dinner, along with some oven-roasted sweet potatoes and probably a tossed salad.

Wednesday – Since we had such unexpectedly nice weather last week, we put off the fish from last week.  We’ll enjoy that with some simple rice and maybe another salad.  Or broccoli.

Thursday – You know how, by the end of the week, we’re looking for less work?  Well, I’ve got a pasta and bean soup that we haven’t done in a while – most of the (minimal) work is done, and now it’s just a matter of heating it up and dumping some pasta in.  How much easier can it get?

Friday – Not quite sure yet what we’re doing Friday for pizza night – the usual, to be sure, but we’re going to have to figure out whether Peeps’s mom will be joining us.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. mazco34 - November 7, 2011

So did Peeps’ mom take her car downtown and park it with the keys in it?

It would have to be some pretty hard up car thief to heist that thing.

Heh, we’ll have to suggest that to her!

2. Well-rounded Hippie - November 7, 2011

Your herb garden is fabulous!!! I’ve just been thinking about how we can grow some herbs indoors this winter.

Thank you! I’ve thought about getting an Aero-Garden (is that what it’s called?) – I’ve heard good things about them. I miss fresh herbs all winter – it’s hard to find them in any quantity, and buying them in the supermarket is just . . . well, it’s extortion!

3. karen - November 7, 2011

Glad Peeps’ mom got moved (at least for the winter). All I had was a small herb garden this year. Basil, oregano, rosemary, garlic chives, sage and a jalapeno plant (yes, I’m aware this one isn’t an herb but it was there). I cut down the basil plant before we left for a small vacation and we came home to six more plants growing.

It’s nice to have something I can’t seem to kill.

Heh, lucky you. I didn’t get around to cutting my basil, and then we (finally) got a good frost. Dead, dead, dead!

Oh, and Karen, I had an ancho pepper in my herb garden too – I just couldn’t make room in the “real” garden!

4. anne - November 7, 2011

My MLK-Day cactus looks a lot like your Holiday cactus. Mine used to bloom for Thanksgiving, but it has gradually delayed until it’s now mid-January. Well, it was. The deer ate my cacti this year. The few stalks that still exist have determined little buds, but they’re pretty measly. I wonder if they’ll grow back? One of the plants was over 25 years old. 😦

You mean your cactus lives outside? 😯

And I’d think, if you’ve got buds, it’ll come back. Think of it as a severe pruning. . . ?

5. cookingwithcristin - November 8, 2011

i enjoy your updates with your menu plan. u have convinced me to subscribe to your blog
i live in south jersey and its so col everytime i read about peeps going to jersey.lol!
i am jealous of your garden. i hope to have one someday
Here is a link to my Menu Plan/Question of the week
I would love if you stopped by to check it out
Enjoy your week:)

Cristin, thanks so much for joining us! You can always start small with a garden – a little herb patch, or even a couple of big pots outside your door – before you know it, you’ll be hooked! 😀


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

