jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 11.14.2011 Edition November 14, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Big Lug, Garden, Musings, Shopping With Peeps, Stupor Kitty.
Tags:
trackback

PhotobucketI don’t know about you, but I think that once you start getting serious about raking leaves – THAT’s when it’s really, truly fall.  Fortunately, we had a gorgeous weekend to get some yard work done, and we even had “help” from the Big Lug.  Even more fortunately, though, we gave him a bone, so he just worried about that rather than the Big Scary Rake!

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Of course, now that we know just how easy it is, we couldn’t let the snow fly before we got some more garlic planted!  It was a simple matter of hoeing a row in the garden, spacing several fresh cloves of good, homegrown garlic about 6 inches apart, and covering them back up.  Next summer – woo hoo!  More fresh garlic!

Photobucket

PhotobucketOver the summer, when I bought fresh corn, once we cut the corn off the ears, I stashed the cobs in the freezer.

Go ahead and ask.  Why?

Well, this weekend, we pulled all the cobs out, added some fresh herbage, covered the whole mess with water and simmered for a couple of hours.

Corn stock is absolutely amazing – especially in corn chowder!

Photobucket

Photobucket

I actually remembered a camera this week, so . . . it’s Shopping With Peeps!

We’ve noticed that there seems to be a shortage of canned corned beef.  I don’t understand, first, why anyone would actually want to buy canned corned beef (I think it smells kind of like Alpo) and second, why there would be a shortage.

However, what I REALLY don’t understand?

What in the WORLD does canned corned beef have to do with Santa?

Anyone?

Photobucket

PhotobucketThe secret life of kitties.

When The Evil Puppy goes upstairs to go to bed, she doesn’t even wait until he’s all the way up the stairs, and she comes trotting out into the dining room like she owns the place.

And sometimes she gets surprised by someone waiting for her with a laser pointer!

Photobucket

PhotobucketYou know what may be even better than a Kong toy?

An empty peanut butter jar is an amazing treat for the puppster – there’s just enough peanut butter left in there to keep it interesting for him, and it’s just small enough that he can’t quite shove his whole face all the way in it, though if he really works at it, his big old tongue does a pretty good job pre-cleaning the jar.

See, choosy moms really do choose Jif.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Don’t forget this week is the Third Thursday of the month!  Please feel free to join us for this month’s Third Thursday event – just “borrow” a recipe (or any other anything) from someone else’s blog (or elsewhere) and tell us about it!   Be creative – challenge yourself!

Complete details are here, and remember, the more the merrier!

Photobucket

PhotobucketIs this progress or what?  You see that?  It’s the dog, in a down-stay in the kitchen, and the cat, just standing there looking at him in disbelief!

And the two of them are no more than 4 feet apart – with nothing between them but my down-stay.

Who is the best puppy of all?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Fall is definitely here, but the weather is just teasing  us a bit – mid-November, and we’ve still got 50- and 60-degree days!  However, I’ve been in upstate New York long enough to know that, while Sunday’s forecast may promise one thing, good weather in November is a fickle friend.

Photobucket

Monday – A while back, I did a little experimenting (uh oh!) – I took some of Peeps’s breakfast sausage, added a bit of celery, onions and carrot, and, basically slow-cooked it just like I would bolognese – only it’s breakfast-y.  Besides putting together a breakfast lasagna (great quick breakfasts for the Boy), I also had about a quart leftover.  We’re going to try it with some fresh pasta, and maybe a poached egg on top.  Wish us luck. . .

Tuesday – We got this new fish on sale a couple of weeks ago – swai – and we were less than thrilled with it.  We did not much care for the texture – at least not pan-fried.  Since we bought TWO packages of it, we’re going to try to finish it up, this time in  Creamy Baked Fish Fillets, along with baked potatoes and maybe some roasted squash.

Wednesday – Peeps has been dying – DYING – to make this recipe for Meaty Baked Beans we saw in Cook’s Country a while back – well, all the planets finally lined up, and we’ll be enjoying it, along with some of my garden’s collard greens and probably mashed potatoes.

Thursday – It’s been a while since we’ve had the Ethiopian Red Lentil Stew that we so enjoyed a while ago – plus we’ve got extra corn stock  in the fridge that needs to get used anyway.

Friday – Again, it’s pizza night.  The Jar will get his normal Kong toy, and we’ll have our normal pizza (light on the cheese and a little ricotta filling for me, lots of cheese and pepperoni for Peeps, and something in between for The Boy).

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. sjbraun - November 14, 2011

I love reading about your week! So is that how you do garlic – plant in the fall? I’ve never tried it, but that sure would be handy … hmmmm …
So cute with the dog and the pb jar! I am just wondering, though, doesn’t he make a huge mess getting it all over his paws and nose? If not, he’s way ahead of my kids 🙂
Have a good week!

Isn’t it great? By the time I harvested this year’s garlic, the green beans next to it were ready to need the extra space anyway. 😀

Jar doesn’t make as much of a mess getting the pb on his face and arms as he does by all the peanut-buttery slobbering he does. Hopefully, your kids don’t drool that much! 😆

2. judy - November 14, 2011

A good one today! Of course I love the CAT and she is looking fine. Jar always looks fine. The comments about the corn cobs was interesting to me as I cut the corn off the cob and then wonder what do I do with the cobs? Now I know. When can I expect the overnight of the corn chowder? Do you have my change of address? 🙂

In my new place I have a lot of trees and lots of leaves fall down. The lawn people mow and rake and haul but I get to sweep my porch off with the crunching sounds and the “oh” this is a really big one. I am enjoying this. Hope you weather holds a couple more days. It was glorious here today in ABQ. hi to all.

Hey, Jude – the corn stock really is handy to have on hand! And, of course, I love that it’s made with just the cobs – boy, I sure get my money’s worth out of an ear of corn, huh? 😆

I’m so glad you’re enjoying your new place – it’s great that there are people to take care of the lawn for you – and sweeping the porch sounds like just the right amount of yard work. 😀

3. The Innkeeper's Daughter - November 15, 2011

love reading about jar and kitty…please continue

Well, you know, with The Boy all grown up and all . . . they’re like our kids. 😳

The Innkeeper's Daughter - November 16, 2011

we like hearing about the boy too!

4. anne - November 15, 2011

Corn stock?? *insert googly eyes* Who’da thunk? I am so going to try this next summer!

Anne, you will be glad you did! We stashed a couple of pints in the freezer last summer to try, and they made such a difference, especially in corn chowder. This year, I reduced it more than I’d intended and ended up with about 4 and a half quarts.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

