jump to navigation

No Musings Monday . . . November 28, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in just general griping, Musings.
trackback

Thanksgiving with my family was nice – everyone who was supposed to be there was there, 20 people all told.

And three dogs, a cat and a parakeet.  Or maybe it’s a parrot.  I don’t know.  A noisy bird.

What a houseful!

Bright and early (and I mean EARLY) Saturday morning, Peeps and I headed for Jersey – Mom had a list of “must haves” that she forgot to pack with her first group of “must haves,” so we finally convinced her that, yes, we know she “hates people in her house when she’s not there,”  but we’re not “people,” so we drove down to go through her house room by room, with her list, and gather together what she needs, along with anything else that looked like it might be of immediate use to her.

She was glad to know the house was still standing after being left alone for the past couple of weeks.

Of course, we left the fur-children (and don’t I feel like an idiot even calling them that!), we left them in the care of The Boy.

We felt like new parents, leaving the baby with a sitter for the first time.

But we were glad to see that the house was still standing – and the pets were in one piece (well, two pieces, of course) – that everything was fine after being gone for the weekend.

So anyway.

We’ve spent the long weekend:

  • crammed into a houseful of people, children and pets,
  • in the car,
  • in a cold, dusty house with no water and mice,
  • eating a lot of pizza,
  • drinking enough beer,
  • in a hotel that housed a wedding party,
  • and in the car again.

Plus, I think the internet is broken.

Not broken exactly – just not working right.  I can’t get my recent podcasts onto my iPod, and I can’t download audiobooks from the library.  The programs keep telling me to connect to the internet, and HELLO I AM connected to the internet.

I am tired.  We have just sort of mulled over our weekly menu, and we haven’t even done our shopping yet.

I’ll have a full “Musings” tomorrow – because I know our TENS of readers are dying to know what we’ll be eating this week, right?

But for now, we’re going to kick back, watch a little TV, enjoy some chili, and go to bed early – in our own bed.

Comments

1. judy - November 28, 2011

Welcome back! 1 of 10 checking in. You were missed. 🙂

Thanks, Judy. 🙂


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

