jump to navigation

After Thanksgiving Musings: 11.29.2011 November 29, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

PhotobucketFor the “not as disgusting as you might think” file:

Several mornings a week, I like to make a fruit smoothie for breakfast, and I’ve come up with some . . . interesting combinations.  This morning, I took the rest of the pumpkin pie that my mother forced on me (it didn’t have a crust, and I’m not really sure what that was all about), a handful of cranberries, a smidge of maple syrup, and some OJ and plain yogurt.

Really.  It was actually quite tasty, though I probably could have left the cranberries out.

Photobucket

Photobucket

So we spent the better part of the holiday weekend in the car – first over the river and through the woods, to my parents’ house, and then even further afield, to Peeps’s mom’s house.  And the sight of the wind farm along Route 390 always just strikes me, you know?

Photobucket

PhotobucketIf Peeps can have his favorite road sign, well, so can I.  Even though this Portland is neither Maine nor Oregon, that’s not what cracks me up.

Whenever is see the sign for Buttzville, I can’t help laughing.

And you know what’s REALLY funny?  I just figured out how to “tag” my brother on Facebook.  Heh.  Buttzville.

Photobucket

PhotobucketOoh, ooh!  I went to my very first Whole Foods this weekend, too!

It’s a nice store – not where I’d want to do all my shopping, by any means (I guess there’s a reason they call it “Whole Paycheck,” isn’t there?), but it was a nice place to browse around.

Only. . . is it normal for Whole Foods to be in the same shopping center with K-Mart?

Photobucket

PhotobucketWe had Horses on Parade here in Rochester a few years back, and a couple of years back, we had Benches on Parade, as well.

When we saw the painted light bulbs in front of the West Orange municipal building, we were pretty sure that Rochester’s not the only one that loves a parade!

Has your city/town had a parade of anything?

Photobucket

PhotobucketOkay, can someone please explain this to me?

A Dine-in Theatre?

I mean, I’ve been to a Drive-in Theatre, yeah, and I’ve even heard of people sneaking food into a regular theatre, but a DINE-IN theatre?

I mean, you’re there, in theatre, trying to watch a movie, and here comes the waiter to take your order?  During the move?

Has anyone ever done this?  Does it really work?

Photobucket

PhotobucketAnd, of course, we couldn’t help noticing the sign for another store in the shopping mall – a store called “Torrid.”

Um, wait, what?

Although we were kind of afraid of what we’d see, we drove by the storefront to see just exactly what TORRID was.

Just so you know, it’s slutty clothes.

Yes, I know, judgy much?

But, well, with a name like that, could it possibly be any other kind of clothing?

Well, actually, it’s plus-sized slutty clothes.  I’ll just leave you with that thought for a moment.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Darn our internal clocks.

There we were, exhausted after the holiday, a long day of driving and packing, and a later-than-usual night of too much pizza, a little too much beer, and a soak in the hotel’s hot tub, and still, we were up long before the sun.

Nothing for it but to head home – it’s almost a 6-hour drive.  We left early enough that Peeps’s GPS estimated our arrival time for 10:18.

It was close – we stopped for at a couple of rest areas, and we stopped for coffee once, and we were still home well before noon.

Photobucket

PhotobucketOne thing we couldn’t help chuckling about – the reserved-for-the-handicapped picnic tables at one of the rest areas in Pennsylvania.

All the other picnic tables were scattered around the lawn, and there were these two tables, on their little cement platforms, right by the restrooms, chained down.

Only. . . do you have to have some kind of tag or something, like for handicapped parking spots?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Okay, enough of the oh-so-exciting road trip – how about a Christmas Cactus update?

That thing is crazy.  It’s just covered with blossoms, with tons of buds besides.  Obviously it loves that window, wouldn’t you say?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  In keeping with the making-up-for-vacation-time theme, we’re trying to keep dinners fairly simple this week.  It’s gonna be a long week. . .

Monday – You know, we’ve been trying to cook that swai fish for, what? three weeks now?  And every week, “something ” comes up, and there’s some “reason” we don’t get to it.  Let’s face it – we don’t want to.  It’s cluttering up the freezer, and we don’t want to eat it.  It was cheap enough (which might help explain why we didn’t care for it), and I’m not going to feel too bad about cooking it up and dividing it between the cat and the dog.  Meanwhile, we picked up some wild Alaskan whitefish (on sale), which we do like, and we’re going to finally try Cooking Light’s Chip-Crusted Fish Fillets with baked potatoes and what’s left of the root vegetable gratin I made for Thanksgiving.

Tuesday – Cleaning out the fridge – I cooked half a pound of black beans in about a quart of chicken stock that needs to get out of the refrigerator (actually, it was almost a quart, which I supplemented with some water) added some leftover BBQ and a bit of leftover greens – bazinga – soup!

Wednesday – It wouldn’t be the week after Thanksgiving without hot turkey sandwiches, would it?   We froze half the bird we roasted a couple of weeks ago, we’re going to try the America’s Test Kitchen Feed’s Stovetop Stuffing, and Peeps sweet-talked my mother out of some turkey gravy.  We are there.

Thursday – Since he was kind enough to babysit the puppster this past weekend, when the Boy requested taco night, well, the least we could do would be to accommodate him, right?  And besides, TACO NIGHT!

Friday – Followed by pizza night!  What more can I say about that?  I’m just starting to get the hang of feeding the sourdough starter so there’s enough for four pizzas – we like to have Peeps’s mom over so we can keep an eye on her.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Cristina - November 29, 2011

They take your order before the movie starts, but I suppose they would have to interrupt if you want dessert or more drinks. The minimal lighting they add to allow people to eat is a bit annoying. The food is OK, nothing special.

What do you do to your Christmas cactus? I had one years ago, but I left that in MD with my parents when we moved to KS. That one had crazy blooms, almost like yours. I now have another one that I got last Thanksgiving, and it’s just not blooming. It drives me crazy.

Cristina, mostly, I ignore the Christmas cactus. 😕 It lives outside on the deck all summer, and around the end of September, I bring it in and stick it in the garden window. I frequently forget to water it – it *is* a cactus, after all. 😉 Also, I read somewhere that they do better when they’re root-bound, so I haven’t changed its pot in several years – it took a couple of years for it to grow into the one its in now. I keep meaning to fertilize it, but I can’t remember when, then I forget about it.

I’m a lousy plant parent. 😉

2. anne - November 29, 2011

Your weekend sounds exhausting. I hope you’re getting a chance to rest!

I have a cactus that same color, but it only has three fronds left. Apparently deer like them 😡

We were at the coast launching our boat in the newly renovated (and vastly improved) public boat ramp. There are handicapped parking spaces for truck/trailer. Um .. so he get out of the truck. launches the boat, docks it, ties it up, then parks in the handicapped spot? I know, I guess there could be heart issues or something invisible, but we both looked at that and went “huh?”

Maybe your cactus will come back? Or, hey, I’ve heard that deer don’t like rosemary – you could plant some rosemary next to it!

3. Rona Berry-Morin - November 30, 2011

Sounds like you had a wonderful week!
I love visiting the MPM participants to get recipe ideas. Tonight we’re having Pozole. And since the hubby is cooking I can sit back…and wash the dishes.

Rona, it’s good to see you! I hope all is well with you and your family.

4. Judy - December 1, 2011

Slow but sure I am here. You certainly packed a lot into the weekend and you must still be a little tired. I am glad the Boy earned his keep with the dog and cat and all. Your plant is glorious. I had one once but don’t do house plants now because my cats won’t leave them alone. Hot tub at the hotel sounds nice….mmmmm. Maybe there is concrete under the picnic table to make it easier for walkers and wheelchairs to work well. Just thinking……. For a lot of people it is not how far one walks but how firm your footing is. Firm is good.

I hope Mother Peeps feels better with some of her treasures with her now and hopefully it cheered up her home away from home? You are good people to know that matters and to do something about it.

Have high, high wind warnings for tomorrow here and snow coming along with COLD. Welcome to winter in NM.

Judy, hi! The Boy did a fine job with the fuzzballs – though he says that on Sunday “no one made a peep until 8:00.” If that’s so, we’re going to have to have a little talk with them about letting US sleep that late! 😀

We’re starting to see a bit of weather here, too – rainy, snowy, windy, cold – blech.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

