jump to navigation

Still more fun with beans December 2, 2011

Posted by Peeps in Cook's Country, Cooking, Food, Home.
trackback

If you’ve spent any time at all with us, you’ll know we love cooking with dried beans.  We generally have at least one meal a week that somehow involves beans.  They’re cheap, they’re easy and they’re good for you.

Last year, we got an issue of Cook’s Country that had a bean recipe that looked very interesting.
Photobucket

It was for a meatier version of baked beans. Now, I’m all for a meatier version of just about anything. But one of the ingredients was a boneless smoked pork shoulder roast. We found such a thing at our local supermarket. At almost three dollars a pound. We decided that I could smoke my own pork shoulder for much cheaper and do a better job, as well. And as it was just about the end of the year’s smoking season, we didn’t think any more about it. Mostly.

While I didn’t get as much meat smoked as I would have liked this Summer, I did manage to get a pork shoulder of the right size done just for this recipe. So we finally got to try it.
Photobucket

Heat one tablespoon of oil in a large Dutch oven. Add one chopped onion and cook until soft. Then add four minced cloves of garlic and cook for another thirty seconds. Add six cups of water, one pound of pink beans that were soaked overnight and a two and a half to three pound boneless smoked pork shoulder that’s been cut into quarters.
Photobucket

Bring it to a boil and cover and place pot into a 350 degree oven and cook for one hour.

After one hour, uncover and add to the pot one cup of ketchup, half a cup of packed dark brown sugar and a quarter cup of spicy brown mustard.
Photobucket

That goes back into the oven, uncovered, for another two to three hours. The beans should be tender and the liquid slightly thickened.
Photobucket

When the beans are done, remove the pieces of pork from the pot. When they’re cool enough to handle, cut them into bite sized pieces (although the pork should fall apart and shredding it will be lots easier). and return them to the beans and add pepper to taste.
Photobucket

Okay, this was one of the easiest things I’ve ever done. And it was great! The beans were creamy and wonderful, full of smoky pork and a very nice sauce. We served them as a main course with mashed potatoes. Wow.

I can see that when Spring rolls around again, I’m going to have to smoke a few more pork shoulders just for this recipe. It’s a good thing I have one more stashed in the freezer to get us through the Winter.

Comments

1. mazco34 - December 2, 2011

It’s good to have the carnivorous Peeps back!

I guess things have settled down with “Mother.” How is her adjustment to her new life. Tell her I miss our little chats.

Give everyone my best wishes.

Peeps - December 5, 2011

She seems to be determined to be not happy about anything. Which wears on a person. Fortunately, I make meaty beans and drink a lot.

2. Judy - December 4, 2011

I am wishing I had some of those wonderful looking beans as the snow come down this afternoon. Looks great. Enjoy!

Peeps - December 5, 2011

They were fantastic. We froze some for later on, and I can still make one more batch before Spring. Which I’m tempted to do soon.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

