jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 12.05.2011 Edition December 5, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

Photobucket

This was a market week again – I do love our public market!  I can always find the freshest, in-season produce – locally pressed cider, local apples and pears, whatever’s in season here, I can usually find at the market.

Plus, I can often get great deals on all sorts of stuff – a huge bag of baby spinach set me back . . . $3.  This week, I scored baby carrots – which I love to put in lunches.  Ultimately, I paid a quarter a pound for them.  Yup, I got 4 pounds of baby carrots for a buck.

Photobucket

If you look closely at the photo of my market haul up there, you’ll see that, for a change, there’s nothing that I need to wash.

PhotobucketNo kale, no mustard greens, not even a head of lettuce.

There’s a reason for that.

We’ve finally harvested the last of our 2011 garden – Peeps pulled the collards up, and we’re going to try canning them.

But first, of course, we had to clean 5 collard bushes.

PhotobucketThat’s a lot of greens to clean – even I’m not nuts enough to bring home a kale tree!

The really sad thing?  Although we ran out of containment for the fresh greens – we had a basket, both sinks, and several bowls full – once we blanched the greens and stuffed them in jars, we were lucky to get 7 quarts (and the last one was kind of skimpy!).

And they’re going to be in the canner for an hour and a half.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Every now and then, I come home from the market, and Mr. Goofy-Face is overly interested in what I’ve brought home.

He’s been known to follow me through the house, taking bits of fennel fronds sticking out of my bags.

But this time – this was different.  He wanted what he wanted, and he wanted it Right Now.

PhotobucketI had picked up a bag of bones – usually they’re frozen, but this week they were nice and fresh.  And, evidently, fragrant.  I think he smelled them before I even got in the door!

So I gave him one, and the rest, I individually wrapped and stuck in the freezer.  It’s just nice, now and then, to be able to give him a bone, shove him outside, and get something accomplished.

Photobucket

PhotobucketRemember that swai fish we tried and didn’t like?

Peeps took the remainder and baked it, no butter, no salt, and shredded it up for the pets, to mix in with their respective kibbles.

I’m happy to report that both the cat and the dog were perfectly happy with it.

While we don’t typically give either of the pets “people food,” when we have  something that’s appropriate for them, we do like to treat them now and then.  They appreciate it, I’m sure.

Photobucket

PhotobucketSo I go to the market every other week, and I always spend cash – I try to keep track of how much I spend, mainly because it comes out of our grocery budget.

I came home, and I looked at the vegetables I got,  and I tried to figure out where I spent all the money.

It wasn’t until we went back outside that I remembered – I’d gotten a fresh wreath to hang on the front of the house.

Now I just have to put a bow on it – something quiet and tasteful, yet festive.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  This is going to be another busy week – it’s getting to be Peeps’s busy season at The Ravioli Shop, and I’m still kind of buried at my office, too – with the low interest rates, I’ve still got a ton of financings I’m working on.  Add to that the fact that our computer has been having issues, such that we’ve got a guy coming out one evening this week to fix those issues.

Basically, I guess I’m saying that posting may be a little spotty over the next few days.   But we’ve still got to eat, you know?

Monday – I was looking for something “lighter” or “meatless” – and we came across Zesty White Bean Burgers – we’ve made them before and were quite happy with them.  We’ll figure out sides to go with them.  I hope.

Tuesday – Peeps is off Monday, so he’s going to start one of our all-time favorite meals – one that takes two days to finish – an absolutely amazing Old-Fashioned Roast Pork from Cook’s Country – it seems like a lot of work, yeah, but most of it is in the oven the day before.  We’re going to serve this with the homely vegetable puree that we love so much.  And maybe some sauteed spinach, since  I’ve got a fridge full of the stuff.

Wednesday – I dug a quart of “sauce” out of the freezer that I don’t remember making.  I used it as a base for a soup – I pureed the sauce with some chicken stock, then added some browned beef, red beans and cabbage.  It’s good, really.  And easy.

Thursday – In the most recent issue of Cook’s Country, Peeps marked a recipe for a Moravian Chicken Pie.  It looks fantastic – it’s a chicken pie, after all – and he’s willing to make it Thursday evening, since I’ll most likely be home late that day.  And grumpy.

Friday – And once again, it’s pizza night – what more is there to say than that?  I’ve been enjoying leftover ravioli filling that Peeps occasionally brings home from work – you’d be surprised how nicely ricotta filling works on pizza!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Kimberly - December 5, 2011

What are you going to do with all those collard greens? I haven’t had them in a recipe that I was crazy over except using them as wraps or using them in only a couple soup recipes.

Well, I’ve never had them canned, but . . . I’m hoping they’ll be good just braised. They should be just about cooked (after an hour and a half, they ought to be, anyway!) so they’ll make a nice quick veg.

2. Judy - December 6, 2011

Lots of variety going on here and that is fun to see. Hope the week smooths out as well as any sauces. 🙂

Thanks, Judy! How are you holding up? I just heard on OUR news that YOUR part of the world is getting a bit of snow? 😯

Judy - December 7, 2011

Snow pretty much over for now but we are certainly dealing with killer cold. The gas bills will be out of site I am sure.

They’re forecasting snow for here tonight – I actually remembered to dig my boots out for morning walk, since my sneakers have ZERO tread on them, and I just know I’m going to have Excitement Boy on my hands. 😀


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

