jump to navigation

Out with the Old January 3, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Plans, random stuff.
trackback

It’s another new year, and, well, here we are.  The world hadn’t ended.  Yet, anyway.

I’m not really big into New Year’s Resolutions.  I mean, seriously?  It’s really not much more than an arbitrary date in the middle of the winter, determined by some guy named Greg to be the first day of the year.

If I’m going to make some Major Life Changes, wouldn’t it make more sense to do it at a time when I’m not cold and tired and grumpy?

Or at least not cold.  Not being tired and grumpy, well, sometimes that’s a little harder to predict.

ANYWAY.

I’m really not so much into Resolutions, but one thing I do like is order.  I like things to be neat and tidy, a place for everything and everything in its place.

Which is all well and good when you have a place for everything.  And the time and energy to put it there.  (See above about “tired and grumpy.”  Very little makes me grumpier than clutter.)

So rather than making any official New Year’s Resolutions like, oh, “quit smoking” (been there, done that!), “lose weight” (still working at it), or even “be nicer to my fellow man” (ha!), I am declaring 2012 to be a Year of Order.

Order in the home, order in the office, order in my mind.

(Good luck with that last one, right?)

AHEM.

This probably doesn’t mean an awful to you, my tens of readers, big-picture-wise.

Yes, I hope to be doing some work around the house (with or without help from my faithful canine companion).  And I intend to share the results with you, if, of course, you’re interested.

But mainly, what it means is that we’ll most likely be changing the posting schedule around here.  Exactly how it’ll end up, I can’t say for sure right now, but I have a few thoughts:

  • Third Thursday will be discontinued.  It’s been fun for the past couple of years, but there just hasn’t been the interest I’d hoped for, and I’ve found myself scrambling at the last minute to find something – anything! – to write about.
  • I’ll probably be posting less often, but when I do post, hopefully, the writing will be of  better quality.  I’m not going to post something just for the sake of posting – you all deserve better than that.
  • Speaking of better quality, when I post about cooking, I’ll try to be better about providing printable directions, just in case you’re interested.
  • There will be more other-than-food posts – more home improvements, more yard and garden, more local color, and, of course, more about the pets.  This was never intended to be solely a food blog – we do more than eat around here, you know!

So that’s about it for now – leave me a comment and let me know if you have any suggestions, ideas, or things you’d like to see.

I’m very much looking forward to a great year!

Comments

1. judy - January 3, 2012

Good New Year to you this morning. And to Peeps and kids and MIL too. Of course you can change your posting schedule to whatever works for you. Just don’t stop doing it. The photos make it the best read in my opinion and I love to see what and how and where. So, enjoy your changes and get that order that you need. I will look forward to reading you.

Thanks, Judy! I’m hoping to work on my photography “skills” too, soon. 😉

2. mazco34 - January 3, 2012

>>we do more than eat around here, you know<<

I know you both drink. And are pretty damn good at it too!

Well, Maz, I don’t know about the being good at it – that may have something to do with, oh, the fattiness problem. . . and the clutter issue. . . and maybe even the tired and grumpy thing. Huh.

3. anne - January 3, 2012

Well I enjoy whatever you post, but if you think it needs revamping, vamp away! And when you get all organized, please come to my house. I live with Messy Marvin, so clutter is my world.

And I don’t have any snow!:)

Why thanks, Anne! 😀 I’m not sure I’ll ever actually get organized – I tend to think of it more as a life-long quest. But WOW am I tired of clutter! 🙄

4. kayatthekeyboard - January 4, 2012

Whatever works for you, but let me echo the “don’t stop!” plea. I enjoy your blog.

Re: cold, tired and grumpy. You live in freakin’ Rochester, where it is by definition cold about 8 1/2 months out of the year. I have little sympathy for you. 🙂 Seriously, I couldn’t do it; can’t deal with cold, and plan never to live any further north than I am right now (where it will be 60 this afternoon).

Aw, thanks Kay. I’m really not going anywhere – fear not! I do think, though, that in my haste to post SOMETHING, I’ve not been doing anyone any favors.

Maybe it’s a “quality versus quantity” question. . .

And MY GAWD was it cold this morning! Even old fuzz-face wasn’t interested in walking – he faked a limp so I’d take him back home where it was warm!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

