jump to navigation

Not for the Faint of Heart January 25, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in baking, Big Lug.
trackback

Photobucket

I’m going to warn you now.

This may be one of the most disgusting things you’ve ever seen.

It’s certainly one of the most disgusting things I’ve ever done – and I lived on a farm.  And cooked in a restaurant.

The only person who’s not grossed out by this is the dog.  Which, I guess, is a good thing, since this is an experiment in a dog treat.

See, here’s the thing.

Photobucket

The Jar has had some . . . issues in his obedience class.  He’s taken a dislike to any other dog, to the point where all these people with their adorable little puppies are afraid of him.  It’s bad enough that he will be repeating the Basic class yet again  – because he can’t be trusted off-leash in the Advanced class.

Third time’s the charm, right?

Anyway.

One thing that we need (NEED!) for these classes is a treat that will be so irresistible that The Jar won’t care that there might be other dogs in the room.

Photobucket

You know what dogs like, maybe better than almost anything else in the world?

More than barbecue?

More than roasty pork?

Even more than chicken that’s been cooked all day?

Liver.

They like liver.  They might even like it better than dead woodchucks, but I’ve never done a side-by-side comparison, and I hope I never do.

So my thought was to take some liver and lighten it up with some whipped egg whites.
Photobucket

Maybe it wouldn’t be so disgusting that way.

So while I was processing half a pound of liver in the Cuisinart, Peeps was whipping egg whites – four of them – to stiff peaks.

He got the better end of the deal, let me tell you.

Me, I put the food processor parts in the dishwasher when I was done.  Processed liver is beyond disgusting.

PhotobucketSince I’ve never made, um, liver meringues before (how gross is THAT?), I thought to lighten up the liver with a bit of egg white – kind of the way you would for chocolate mousse.

Only it’s liver.

Eeeeew.

But anyway, we folded the liver into the beaten egg whites, and stirred just until it was combined.

PhotobucketThen I treated the mixture like drop cookies (again, eeew) and dropped balls (sort of) onto lined sheets.

I kind of think of it as puppy cookies.

I even let him lick the bowl, as you saw above.

What, I want to wash that stuff out of the bowl?  Let the dog earn his keep, that’s what I say.

And so, I stuck a couple of trays of liver cookies into a heated oven – about 350 degrees.

Photobucket

And let them cook for maybe 10 minutes or so.  Then shut the oven off and let the cookies continue to cook until the oven has cooled – think “liver meringue cookies.’

And yes, I know, it’s kind of gross.

The dog stood guard over the oven, because apparently it smelled THAT GOOD.

I just didn’t see it.

In fact, I’d caution against opening the oven door at all until, say, the next morning.
Photobucket

At which point you’ll find chewy little disks of livery goodness that will have every dog in obedience class wishing they were coming home with you.

And, with a little luck, The Jar will care more about the liver meringue  cookies than about that little yellow lab puppy that’s hopping around and being a general nuisance, but is too cute for words.

Here’s hoping, anyway – his next Basic class starts in a couple of weeks.

Comments

1. ellen tinder - January 25, 2012

do they need refrigeration after cooling

I found they kept for about a week unrefrigerated – or at least that’s how long they lasted. 🙂 They sort of dried out while they were cooling in the oven.

2. The Innkeeper's Daughter - January 25, 2012

Laughed all the way through the post, then read the comment…wait, they only lasted a week? You mean you have to start all over again? Ugh.

I know, right? But seriously – we go through MAD doggy treats in class! 😯

3. anne - January 25, 2012

Oh, now that’s just gross. I cook for my dog and all, but you just have to draw the line somewhere. :yuck:

On the other hand, if they get him through class, it might be worth it. Does it stink while cooking? My bedroom is over my kitchen. If I had to smell liver all night, well, let’s not even go there.

Well, it’s not SO bad as long as you don’t open the oven door, I think. Either that, or my nose got numb.

Maybe do it in the summertime when you can open windows. . .

I’ve gotta say, though, that’s it’s amazing to see every dog around suddenly willing to do anything – ANYTHING! – you ask for a treat (or even half a treat)! 😀

4. judy - January 25, 2012

I feel I MUST comment as I always do 🙂 BUT I will comment that one does what one must do for our kids so go for it. Just don’t share the pictures again! 🙂 🙂 🙂

I warned you that it was gonna be gross. . . 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

