jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 01.30.2012 Edition January 30, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

PhotobucketAnother market weekend!

You know, every now and then, I’m tempted to just skip the market – after all, I go every other week, and I always spend more money than I ought to, and I end up with a PILE of stuff to deal with when I get home, and it’s so early, and so cold, and . . .

But you know, it never fails that on those mornings I consider bagging it, I always come home glad I went!

Of course, I came home with a bunch of vegetables to deal with PLUS 10 pounds of beef bones – half for stock next weekend, and the rest for The Jar.  He does love his bones!

Photobucket

Photobucket

It appears that my Christmas cactus is confused.

Again.

It’s starting to bud – it looks like we may have a second wave of blossoms just in time for Valentine’s Day.

Huh.  A Valentine’s cactus.  Sounds kind of . . . disturbing, doesn’t it?

Photobucket

Of course, it may just be that it’s trying to keep our little Charlie Brown Christmas tree company – that thing is going nuts with new growth, too!  I guess we’re going to have to figure out where it’s going to get planted in the spring.

Crazy, huh?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Oh, poor, poor Jarly.

After we finish our morning walks and have breakfast, I go upstairs to get dressed for work.  Frequently, I’ll come back down to find him curled up in his downstairs bed, sound asleep.

Some days, especially if it’s been raining, he likes for me to tuck him in.  Poor, sleepy puppy.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Hey, it’s time for Shopping With Peeps!  It’s been a while, hasn’t it?  (That’s mostly because I forget my camera. . . )

Anyway.

First, they invented whipped cream in a spray can.   And really, how many people have had how much fun with that?

Then, along comes pancake batter in a can.  And while not as delightfully, well, delightful as whipped cream, you’ve gotta admit it’s pretty cool.

And now, filed under “what will they think of next” – cake frosting – in a spray can?  It almost seems more like caulking than whipped cream – here, let me fill in that crack there in your cake. . . wouldn’t want any cake to leak out, would we?

Seriously.  Frosting in a spray can.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  I’m getting so busy at work that I’m not much help when it comes to getting dinner on the table, so we’re doing two things – we’re trying to keep dinners fairly simple, and we’re doing as much prep ahead of time, on the weekend, as we can.  It’s not a bad thing at all to have sauce simmering on the stovetop, or something baking in the oven, for the better part of a January Sunday.

Monday – Peeps was determined that he wanted to try the Cook’s Country country-fried pork tenderloin from the current issue.    Since he’s home on Mondays, that will be a great time for something that is likely to be a little fussy.  Probably some rice on the side, and a vegetable of some sort.  Either salad, squash, or sweet potatoes, most likely.

Tuesday – I’m going to admit something here.  I’ve got a list of “winter foods” that we’re trying to be sure get made this season.  It’s all too easy to jump onto the “new and exciting” bandwagon when it’s cold and gray, but there are some meals that we love so much, and we just don’t want to forget to cook them while it’s cool enough to enjoy heating up the kitchen, or standing over the stove.  Our spaghetti bolognese is one of those – the sauce is done, so we’ll just have to reheat it and cook pasta.  Add salad and fresh hot bread. . .

Wednesday – I picked up both a nice butternut squash and a beautiful bunch of Swiss chard at the market this weekend, so I knew it was time for a pot of squash and chard soup – it’s so healthy and tasty, too!

Thursday – After a couple of heavier meals this week, I like to try to lean toward a little lighter fare.  We’ve got plenty of chicken breasts in the freezer – they’re quite nice simply breaded and baked.  We’ve got an old favorite recipe, one which just might finish off that partial quart of too-old buttermilk we’ve got hanging around.  Maybe a baked potato (since the oven will be on anyway!) and whichever vegetable seems most in need of eating.

FridayPizza night, at the end of a long week, is always such a welcome break!  We’ve always been pretty traditional when it comes to pizza (most of the time!), but I think it’s time to start branching out and looking for “new and exciting” variations, without going too far overboard.  Any thoughts?

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Pary Moppins - January 30, 2012

Have you tried this: http://www.parymoppins.net/2010/04/semi-homemade-pizza.html. I’m sure you have but it is really tasty and y’all will probably make your own crust so it will be even better.
You know, I would try that (though I’d probably be the only one)! 🙂 Thanks so much for the suggestion – gotta watch for arugula now. And figs. . .

2. The Innkeeper's Daughter - January 30, 2012

Maman has an “easter cactus” that sometimes blooms white with hot pink centers and somtimes blooms peach? I think it needs to visit with a plant shrink. If they have pet shrinks they really should have plant shrinks too…no?

Well, I think so. I know I’ve got a bunch of crazy plants at my office.

Though I wonder if I changed my radio station, if that would help. 😀

3. Cristina - January 30, 2012

I’m all over that frosting in a can. To say that I’m frosting challenged would be the understatement of the century. I’ve tried watching videos on how to do it. I have all the right tools. I still fail at it miserably every single time.

I know, right? I can’t even tell you how many hours I’ve spent trying to make a cake look nice. Fortunately, a homely cake can still be a tasty cake. 😀

4. sjbraun - January 31, 2012

Hahahah – frosting in a can is, sadly, so down my alley 🙂 Lately, though, I’ve gotten so disturbed that all products like this seem to feature the dreaded trans-fats 😦
Loved your comment at my place about the ambulance-chasing lawyers … I figure, with your profession, you’ve got all kinds of interesting tales you could tell!

Well, not as interesting as you might think – we work in municipal finance. . . exciting stuff right there! 😉

Mazco34 - January 31, 2012

Helping your town buy brand new fire trucks, school buses, ambulances, etc.!

Not to mention whole buildings! 😀

5. Kimberly - January 31, 2012

What is that gnarly root in the front of your public market photo? celeriac? What do you do with it?

Yay to branching out on pizza! My friend gave me a bag full of slightly damaged pears last week and I made a delicious (I swear) pizza with pesto, pears, and white cheddar.

Kimberly, first – YUM on the pizza! We do individual pies so if ONE of us wants to experiment, we’re not inflicted anything on everyone else. 😉

And yes, that is celeriac – I usually end up combining it with fennel and making the that we love so much.

6. judy - January 31, 2012

Pizza is food of the Gods I truly think. Have fun with it Friday. The good vibes in your kitchen must have a good effect on the plants too! Warmth and wonderful smells. I would bloom too! Jar looks just darling asleep in his big boy bed. Great picture there.

Nice edition here today. Knowing how busy you are so fun to read when you have the time. Have a great week.

Aw, Judy, you’re too kind. 🙂 Jar is such a big baby, isn’t he?

7. mary - February 3, 2012

we love buffalo chicken pizza. top the crust with a mix of blue cheese dressing and hot wing sauce (taste as you make it for desired spiciness), cooked pieces of chicken, mozzarella cheese. serve with celery sticks, since that’s traditional for wings.

We’re still working on it – you wouldn’t think it would be this difficult, would you? 🙄 Part of the problem is that the rest of them are good with bleu cheese, and me – not so much. Trying to come up with non-ridiculous alternatives to everyone. . . .


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

