jump to navigation

More Work Stuff February 1, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff, Work.
trackback

I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned this before – I work in finance.

I mean, I work at a law office, but the main focus of the practice is finance.

Municipal finance, to be clear.

Now, wait, before you start nodding off!

Believe it or not, this is kind of interesting.

See, in hundreds of New York  towns, villages, and schools, if you want to buy something big, you’re going to eventually call me.

You want a new water treatment plant?

I’m your gal.

Need a fire truck?

I’ll hook you up.

Want a new and improved, bigger and better school building?

Talk to me.

See, municipalities have different rules than people do – they can’t just spend taxpayer money whenever they want to (unless their name is Washington, of course) (or maybe Albany).  They need votes and resolutions and authorizations and publications.

In short, they need lawyers.

 So what happens when, say, your local school school district built that new high school, and they borrowed a pile of money to do it?

Well, I’ll tell you what happens.

They do exactly what I did a couple of months back with my mortgage- they look at this HUGE debt, and they look at the interest rates they’re paying, and then they look at the  interest rates out there now, and they call up their local bank to talk about a refinance.

Or, in this case, they call me.

Turns out that, if you’re a municipality, banks are practically giving away free money.

And I’m just the gal to make sure they can get it.

Every morning, I’ve been stepping over THREE! boxes of pending files to get to my desk, in order to start work.

I do love my job, don’t get me wrong.

I love being very, very good at something that not more than a handful of people in the entire state could do – or even understand.

And I am. I’m very good at taking the hand of a nervous client who is looking at refinancing several million dollars’ worth of debt, and making it not-so-scary.

I’m also not bad at juggling not just my own in-the-minute work, but keeping track of what’s going on in the rest of the office, and keeping an eye on what’s coming up.

It does get exhausting, though.  I mean, there is something going on All. The. Time.

And February brings – Bus Season!  Now is the time I nudge our school district clients into figuring out if they’re going buy buses this year (of course they are), and what they’re going to buy.

Do you know that most schools buy new buses every year?  They replace each vehicle on a set schedule, usually trading them in for new ones, and the vast majority of them have a public vote on the acquisition in May, at least they do in New York.

Yup, that’s me too.

Resolutions.

Votes.

Buses.

Sales.

Closings.

So please  forgive me if I’m not as, well, vibrant as you’ve come to expect.

I’m tired.

And I’m hoping to take a nice, relaxing vacation soon – maybe in August.

Comments

1. Mazco34 - February 1, 2012

>>And I’m hoping to take a nice, relaxing vacation soon – maybe in August<<

And you'll spend it moving a "Hoarders" nominee to a house near you……

That’s the thing -I don’t know if I’m going to be able to take much time between now and then – and hopefully she’ll be done by then. (fingers crossed. . . . . )

2. kayatthekeyboard - February 1, 2012

I know from bond issues (albeit not the New York kind). God bless ya. I highly recommend drinking.

BTW — recommended the Ravioli Shop to a friend who lives near Rochester — Canandaigua, I think the town is. So if a dude comes in and his ID says Canandaigua, Peeps can ask him if he’s the guy Kay sent.

Canandaigua – yes, I know it well. I’ll have him put the word out – Peeps isn’t actually in the shops, but they all talk to each other. 😉

3. anne - February 1, 2012

Wow, that made my brain hurt. I cannot begin to imagine the level of red tape and paperwork. Wow!

For the most part, it’s like anything else – routine. First you do this, then that, then the other. Right now, it’s a matter of one thing overlapping the other, then there’s the volume – THAT’s what’s making me nuts! The volume!

4. judy - February 2, 2012

Gone are the days when CHP used to be a daily laugh from you. I’ve always known you had a responsible position but now it is clear who makes this place run and who does not. Any golf time coming up for CHP.

We will allow you to post when and what you can because we know life is not easy right now. catch you later…….

Aw, Jude, it’s February – not even CLOSE to golf season! 😥 I’ll be the first to admit – I bring a lot of on myself. See, I’m a bit of a control freak (I know, who me?) – my motto has always been if you want something done right, do it yourself. And by “right” I mean – MY WAY. 🙂

5. How sad is that? « Dark Side of the Fridge - February 8, 2012

[…] work, you mean, […]

6. Monday Musings: 02.27.2012 « Dark Side of the Fridge - February 27, 2012

[…] once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  This is the week that things at the office start getting ridiculously crazy – until it all stops around the middle of May.  Which is good, because THAT is when things […]

7. Monday Musings: 03.05.2012 Edition « Dark Side of the Fridge - March 5, 2012

[…] it may not have been the best idea to start a bathroom floor project right during the week that work stuff starts getting really ugly – this stack of files wouldn’t be so bad if it didn’t […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

