jump to navigation

How sad is that? February 8, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Not about Food, random stuff.
trackback

I was all set to write one of those “quality blog posts” that everyone’s always looking for.

I thought, since we’re primarily food-oriented, and since it’s been a while since I’ve written anything food-related, that I’d post something yummy.

So I sat down and went through the photos I’ve loaded onto the computer from the camera lately.

By the way, if I transfer pictures from the camera to the computer, am I UPloading them or DOWNloading them?  Which direction do these things run?  I’m pretty sure it’s not OFFloading them, even though I’m taking them OFF the camera.  Wow, I think I just confused myself.

Where was I again?  Oh yeah, looking at pictures.

Do you realize that there is nothing that I’ve photographed that I’ve personally cooked since the the beginning of the year?  Except some stuff I did last weekend, but we haven’t actually eaten that stuff yet, so I feel kind of weird blogging about it, you know?

(Dudes, the Belgian beef stew for this week?  That is gonna be AWESOME!)

But seriously, how sad is that?

So what, you may be wondering, have I been up to the past few weeks?

Besides work, you mean, right?

Well. . . the Boy did something – tripped, stumbled, I don’t know  – and he broke the tub surround in our bathtub.

Don’t worry, he’s fine.  And no, I don’t know how he did it.  And I’m not asking any questions – I SO don’t want to know.

But, and here’s the thing, that’s the only shower we have in the house.  The only bathroom at all, actually.

And it’s currently being held together by duct tape.

I’d planned for the Boy and me to replace the tub surround ourselves, but, let’s be honest here, I chickened out.

The existing surround was, um, let’s call it “custom fit” to the alcove – the bathroom is on the back wall of the house, and the roof slopes over the tub, so one side is lower than the others, and, well, I was a little concerned about doing it myself.  Plus, I have no idea what I’d find behind that thing.  It’s an old house.

So I went looking for “tub surround replacement” people.

Yeah, you ever try that?

I found a company that will completely re-do the tub – and the surround – for a lot of thousands of dollars.

I really don’t have that kind of money lying around.  (Do you?  Does anyone?)

I mean, I’ve got a bit put aside for “home improvements” but, well, a good chunk of that ended up in the backyard.

So we go to plan B – a handyman to replace the tub surround.

Still not cheap, but better.

A couple of estimates later, and hopefully by next weekend, we’ll have the duct tape off the shower.

And we’re all going to just be a little more careful in the tub from now on.  Or else.

Comments

1. judy - February 8, 2012

I don’t know where to begin about how truly SAD this is! 1 bathroom, 3 people (2 of whom are MEN). What to do? YOU decided on the smart thing woman, you let someone else do it while you and Peeps supervise.

Now to shut my mind off as it is trying to figure out how this could have really happened. 🙂

Want a brain scraper? 😀

2. anne - February 8, 2012

I don’t want to know, either. But I expect it’s good thing that it’s Winter, what with three people in your house who can’t bathe. 😉

Oh, we’re bathing. Duct tape, baby – it holds the world together. :p Actually, I’ve spoken with the guy, and it looks like we’re only going to be out of commission for a day, so. . . it’s all good. But yeah, it’s still a good thing it’s winter. 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

