jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 02.13.2012 Edition February 13, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

So, did we get a bit of snow this weekend, or what?

It’s been so unseasonably warm here this winter that I’d pretty much forgotten what it was like to hook up the dog, dress in layers of clothes, and trudge through knee-deep snow before the sun comes up.

Oh yeah, now I remember.

Photobucket

PhotobucketWe did make the parsnip risotto last week, and, while I would have to say that it was definitely not an unqualified success, at least it was fun introducing Jar to a new vegetable.

Though he just wasn’t quite sure what to make of it.  All in all, I’d have to say – he was not a big fan.

Photobucket

PhotobucketRemember back when the Kitty took up residence in the basement?

I got a little concerned about here downstairs, alone, in the dark, all day and all night.  Short of forcing her to come upstairs, I concluded that it was best to just let her be where she wanted to be.

But she doesn’t have to be in the dark!   So I turned the light on for her – just one bulb on the landing, and I replaced the old-school incandescent bulb with one of the new, funky Curly Fry Lights.

I know, how very 21st century of me, right?

Oh, but wait, there’s more!  The other day, I ordered (from Woot!) not just one, but FOUR Curly Fry Lights with a light sensor – so they come on at night and go off during the day.

Yay – that should save, what, 12 or 13 cents a year?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.   As we get busier during the week (and more tired!), we find it’s more and more important to have a work-able meal plan.  We know ourselves well enough to know that we’re not going to wait until after obedience class for dinner, and by Thursday, we are not interested in doing  anything that’s any more complicated than reheating.

Monday – We’ve still got some of last summer’s smoked brisket in the freezer, which will be very nice with some roasted sweet potatoes and either a spinach salad or some of our canned collard greens.  We’ll see which we’re in the mood for.

Tuesday – Rather than swim class, Jar starts his THIRD basic obedience class.  (Here’s hoping the Prozac does its job and he behaves like a civilized beast!)  The class starts at 6, which is our suppertime, so we’ll have a quick bowl of soup before we leave – this week it’s a potato and sausage soup with a base of our beloved pureed  homely vegetables.

Wednesday – I have kind of been itching for stir-fry for a while now, and then we got this month’s Cooking Light with Szechuan Chicken Stir-Fry in it.  So. . . when I went to the market this weekend, I picked up some snow peas, bean sprouts, and broccoli – I couldn’t remember what all was called for in  the recipe, bit I figured I’d be safe there.  We’ll swap in the broccoli for the red and yellow peppers, and just toss in a handful of sprouts – stir-fry is pretty easygoing.

Thursday – A while back, I stumbled upon a recipe for a pork ragu that was ridiculously simple AND ridiculously delicious.  Peeps lightly smoked a small pork shoulder last fall, wrapped it up, then froze it to try a smoked pork ragu.  That’s been cooking all day Sunday, and it’ll be reheated Thursday – sauces are almost always better after spending some time in the fridge, aren’t they?

Friday – We’ve been very much enjoying our Friday night pizza night – Peeps’s mom comes over for a couple of hours, and we all relax and enjoy our personal pizzas and catch up at the end of the week.  Even  Jar is starting to realize that, no, he really doesn’t need to protect anyone – Peeps’s mom isn’t going to hurt us.  SIGH

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Pary Moppins - February 13, 2012

I made that parsnip risotto after seeing it here last week and it was preety good (the kiddo loved it) and a new to us way of using parsnips. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

I’m glad you enjoyed it. We found it “okay” – though I think it was as much because I was less than thrilled with the vegetable stock as anything else. I had it for lunch a couple of times, and that was enough for me. 😕

2. kayatthekeyboard - February 13, 2012

Re: Snow. Holy crap! And our schools are closed because there is a mere inch of snow. Ah, the South. I love it.

I know, right? And it’s supposed to be gone by Wednesday. . .

3. judy - February 15, 2012

YOU just crack me with the “lights” routine. LET THERE BE LIGHT for the Kitty who hangs out in the basement and has you wrapped around her right front paw (thank goodness). And Jar looked perplexed about the new food your were introducing. I never liked parsnips either! My mom tried though!

The snow presents another challenge and that I really get into. I simply cannot imagine me dressing in 14 layers and also in boots to walk a dog, even a Jar dog. Guess that is why I have cats, although when I was 13 had a little dog who just went out in the backyard and later another cockapoo (? spelling) who also enjoyed a back yard. I guess small dogs don’t need that much walking.

Otherwise, I have nothing to offer except I just love your pizza night. I can always smell the cheese across the miles. Stay warm and dry.

Aw, thanks Judy. 🙂 I’ll tell you, some mornings, the LAST thing I want to do is bundle up and go walk a couple of miles – but I guess it’s good for me. 😕 And yeah, I think big dogs do need more walking than little ones – those little guys just can’t cover much ground, can then?


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

