jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 03.05.2012 Edition March 5, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

I’d like to start with a “shout-out” to an Alert Reader who was kind enough to send a picture – and a link – to the niftiest coffee mugs I’ve seen in a while!

She knew that I would absolutely HAVE to have them, and so I did!

What a surprise for Peeps – last Wednesday, he came downstairs to pour Leap Day coffee into “Chillin’ with my Peeps” tie-dye mugs!

Thanks again to Julie – and remember:  PEEPS is not just for Easter!

Photobucket

Photobucket

We’ve had an exceptionally mild winter so far, so much so that the robins are starting to come back!

However, we did get some, well, kind of vile weather this past weekend (the tail end of the storm system that’s so devastating the Midwest  – are any of our readers affected by this?), and Mr. Redbreast just seems a little put out by it.

Photobucket

Photobucket

You know, now that we’ve had the shower and the tub re-done, it just sort of made the floor, well, I couldn’t stand it another minute!

The curling edges of the old linoleum have been driving me nuts for years – ever since the cat was just a fuzzy little Booboo Kitty – she’d reach her little arm under the closed bathroom door and worry and claw at the tiniest little flaws she could reach on the floor.

It was past time, though.  I found paint drips behind the toilet from at least two different colors that pre-date me  – and I’ve been here over 10 years!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Of course, it may not have been the best idea to start a bathroom floor project right during the week that work stuff starts getting really ugly – this stack of files wouldn’t be so bad if it didn’t keep growing.  And if I didn’t need to step over it every time I needed to leave my desk.

Who am I kidding – yes it would!

This past week, I’ve worked at least 2 hours late most evenings, plus half a day Sunday, and I don’t see any sign of that getting any better for at least a couple of months.

Photobucket

Hey, remember how a couple of weeks ago, we put the shower doors out with the trash, and literally within minutes, some guy had seen them, stopped, and loaded them into his car?

Photobucket

Well, a few weeks ago, the Boy was involved in a bit of a fender bender – no one was hurt, or even ticketed, but he did some kind of ugly damage to the hood of his car, enough so that he had to replace it.

And he finally moved the hood  from beside the garage (I have no idea) out to be taken away with the trash.

As you can see, it was barely any time at all before a man drove by, saw it, and practically screeched to a stop to load it onto the top of his car!

Photobucket

Photobucket

You know what the problem with working on a weekend is?

You go into work much later than usual, after you’ve been home and enjoyed a nice breakfast, and you think, “eh, I’ll only be there a couple of hours” so you don’t even think about lunch.

Then, when you get home at 3:00, you’re ready to eat anything that’ll hold still long enough!

Fortunately, there were 2 White Castles buried in the freezer from one our last trips to Jersey, and we just happened to have made a batch of baked beans for later in the week.  Lunch!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.

Sometimes, I think we have kind of a weird approach to meal planning.  First, of course, we take into account our schedules – we don’t want something fussy when we’ve got half an hour to feed the dog and ourselves between the time I get home from work and the time we have to leave for obedience class!

We also try to have some balance and some variety.  Although some people might be okay with it, I don’t like to have too many rich or meat-heavy meals in the same week – I like to mix it up with fish, poultry, or meatless meals, too.

Monday – We had several meatless (or mostly meatless) recipes we’ve been wanting to try, so Peeps picked this Pasta and Lentils for this week.  We shall see.

Tuesday – We roasted a nice chicken over the weekend, so, of course, the leftovers need to be recycled!  Since it’s obedience class AND I’ve got a bond sale and will likely be home late, we’re going to go with basic chicken noodle soup.  We’re trying something a little different, though, so be sure to stay tuned!

Wednesday – Can you believe that, right now, the forecast for Wednesday is nearly SIXTY DEGREES?  Me neither.  However, our weatherman would never lie to us, so we’re going to take advantage and grill some pork chops – and I tossed together a batch of my favorite baked beans before I went into the office Sunday.  Add some roasted sweet potatoes, and it’ll be the perfect dinner for the middle of a long week.

Thursday – Of course, if pork chops and baked beans sound like good comfort food, I wonder what grilled cheese and tomato soup sounds like?  Peeps and I had just commented that we hadn’t had that meal in Way Too Long, and then, lo and behold, sliced cheese is on sale this week.  It’s like a sign.

Friday – I’m hoping there will be some salami left from lunches this week – that makes such an AWESOME topping for pizza night!  I know salami probably isn’t the healthiest pizza topping, but it’s something I deliberately don’t indulge in very often, and this is already shaping up to be “ONE OF THOSE WEEKS.”

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Julie Dellemonache - March 5, 2012

Those mugs look fantastic!!! Enjoy your coffee!!!!!

Thanks again, Julie! You know, I do love my coffee anyway, but these just made it. . . sweeter. 😀

2. sjbraun - March 5, 2012

The pasta and lentils sounds yummy! I must say though that I am unfamiliar with pancetta — I’ll have to look that up. The mugs are adorable, and I can’t wait to see your new bathroom floor. Maybe that can be a pleasant diversion from the busy-ness of work?? Have a wonderful week! Wish I could send you a little strawberry shortcake 🙂

Thanks – that’s what I’m thinking about the bathroom, too. There’s certainly something therapeutic about RIPPING UP THE FLOOR! 😆

And as for pancetta – we usually just use bacon. I think it’s basically the same thing (for practical purposes, anyway), only not smoked, and, well, a little smoke never hurt anything. 😀

3. kayatthekeyboard - March 5, 2012

Are you using my tomato soup recipe?

And to comment on two different posts in the same comment — I am SO trying that balsamic short ribs recipe, only with country-style pork ribs. Got some in the freezer!

I think we’re using the tomato soup originally from America’s Test Kitchen – is that yours? I’ve got THREE go-to recipes – and up until a few years ago, I’d never had any tomato soup but Campbell’s! 😀

And I love the idea of using pork ribs – let me know!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

