jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 04.09.2012 Edition April 9, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in meal plan monday, random stuff.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

Another market week – and it’s starting to look like a real farmers’ market again!

Granted, there’s not much in season yet – I was hoping for asparagus, but it’s still a little early here.  And, while I could pick up some South or Central American asparagus, I prefer to wait until it’s local – and fresh.  Just another couple of weeks at most.

I think a lot of the farmers are clearing out last year’s harvests, but it’s sure nice to come home with some of the stuff we love – apple cider, (more) leeks, collard greens. . . and potatoes.  Lots of potatoes.

Photobucket

Of course, one of my favorite parts of the Public Market is the opportunity to try new things – especially ethnic foods.

We’ve loved the empanadas for years  (I like to buy a bunch, wrap & freeze them, and reheat for weekday breakfasts), and this week, I discovered steamed pork buns – they were 2 for $3, which, I think, is quite a deal.

Photobucket

Photobucket

One thing that I did pick up this weekend, fresh and in season – wild catnip.

Yes, catnip.  I figured ol’ fuzzy butt could use a little spring in her step.  The farmer assured me that, yes, it’s just like cultivated catnip, only stronger.

Stronger?

Huh.

Photobucket

Well, I don’t know about stronger, but it sure did lure the kitty out and into the kitchen.  She didn’t realize the dog was outside with his Saturday Afternoon Bone, though, so she had a bit of a paranoid thing going on.  Not that she let that stop her from enjoying her . . . herb.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I decided, since I’ve been working so much, and since it was a holiday weekend (and since I worked most of the the day Good Friday, even though the office was officially closed) I decided that I was going to take the entire weekend off for a change.

Though I spent some time just lazing around, I did get some yardwork and gardening done – the garlic, fortunately, has been doing just fine without me, though.

Photobucket

As has the rhubarb that I planted last year!

I did decide, though, that it might be a good idea to fence the rhubarb in.  It got pretty seriously trampled last fall – the pitter-patter of puppy feet, I guess.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Though it’s a bit late, I did finally get some lettuce and spinach in the ground this weekend.

But not real spinach – I find that it bolts too fast, and it’s not worth the effort – we barely get to eat it once.  What I did plant was a “spinach-like” crop – New Zealand spinach.  It’s supposed to be more heat-tolerant, while tasting very much like actual spinach.

We shall see.

Photobucket

Photobucket

So I mentioned Stoner Kitty and her catnip, right?

Once she got over that paranoid thing (later on, when she KNEW the dog was out walking), she decided to come out and, first, have another little nip of catnip, and then, she wanted to play.

With ALL of the toys.

Photobucket

And then, a little later, I caught her all crashed out on the kitchen floor.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And, of course, Jar has been enjoying the spring weather again – sunny and warm, but not TOO hot for his dark coat.  He really does suffer in the summer, you know.

He’s also loving the fenced in yard – he can take a bone and go out to the yard with it, and he can move around at will (staying OUT of my garden, thank you!), and he can even chase squirrels (sort of).

But sometimes he just gets lonely, I think, and barks for me to come out and play with him.

I think he wants me to throw a tennis ball for him.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  You know that “April showers bring May flowers” thing?  Well, it’s looking like it’s going to be a mighty flowery May – we’ve got rain forecast for most of the week.  That’s all right, though – you don’t have to shovel rain.

Monday – Alaskan whitefish is on sale this week, and, since we haven’t had fish in a while, we thought it would be a nice change.  I think we’ll roast those green beans I picked up at the market to go with it, and maybe steam a little rice.

Tuesday – Taco Night!  We’re going to try carnitas in the pressure cooker and see how that goes (how could it be anything but fantastic?).  Meat is currently rubbed, Peeps will cook it Monday, and we’ll reheat it/saute it on Tuesday when we’re ready for dinner.

Wednesday –  A while ago, I pulled out several meatless options and left them for Peeps to choose from, and, overall, we’ve been fairly happy with them.  The last selection is Pueblo Corn Pie – it’s corn and beans and tomatoes and cheese – where’s the bad?

Thursday – Okay, this is getting to be a habit, I think.  There is one vendor at the market who still has lots of fingerling potatoes, of which I avail myself every time I see her.  We’ve decided that there is very little in this world more tasty than fingerling potatoes roasted alongside a chicken.  So. . . here’s hoping the chicken thaws out by Thursday.

Friday – Last week’s pizza night involved sliced leftover steak and caramelized onions – one of my favorite combinations!  This week, who knows?  I may be leaning toward pizza with carnitas and maybe some Montery Jack cheese. . .

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. sjbraun - April 9, 2012

Oooh, I am envious of those lovely-looking empanadas 🙂 Now, to see if any of the stores I visit have a goya section …
I planted spinach a few weeks back. I only see one or 2 sprouts 😦 I hope yours turns out well! My rhubarb is coming back; I love it. Yours looks promising!

We have several supermarkets with Goya sections – some are bigger than others, but they all carry a good amount of products – the empanada rounds are frozen, of course. . . right next to stuff I have NO IDEA what it is. 😳

2. Judy - April 9, 2012

I just lost 4 paragraphs of comments and I am not doing it again. Yum, kitty, Jar, food, rested, garden. You will never know what you missed.

Doncha hate that? 😦


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

