jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 05.14.2012 May 14, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in meal plan monday, random stuff.
trackback

Photobucket

I trust we all had a nice Mother’s Day – those of us who are mothers as well as those who have mothers.

My burgundy irises are coming in – the white ones are about done.  You know, it’s funny.  I planted the white, burgundy and black flowers with the hope that they’d make a striking display TOGETHER.  I had no idea that they would NEVER bloom at the same time.  Huh.

Photobucket

Photobucket

We’ve had a bit of a busy week, working late (I know, shocker, right?) and running to and fro.

One thing we did manage this weekend, though, was a nice batch of homemade sausage.

I’ll tell you more about it later on, but for now, think  pork and fresh leeks.

Photobucket

Photobucket

One of our running-around things we had last week was Jar’s doctor’s appointment.  Nothing wrong, just his annual check-up, weigh-in, blood tests, and prescription update.

He’s doing well – we’ve renewed the Prozak for another 6 months (I really want to see him reliably react well to other, non-threatening dogs before we take him off) and, it seems that side effect of that medication may be his 10-pound weight gain.

Of course, I’m sure it has nothing to do with the Tongue of Doom – he’s able to get a quick swipe at whatever’s in dishwasher every time we open it, and get his head out of the way before we close it.

In this case, the roast beef carving board.  SIGH

Photobucket

Photobucket

We also managed to put together a quick batch of ice cream this week too!  I had a quart of half-and-half in the fridge that was, well, it was nearing the end of its useful life, and, really, when you drink your coffee black, what do you do with a quart of half-and-half, anyway?

So we made ice cream, using half-and-half instead of heavy cream.

I’ll be honest – this was one of the best homemade chocolate ice creams I have ever had.

Photobucket Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Though it looks like we’re going to be “enjoying” an awful lot of cool temperatures and rain, we’ve just planned our menu to go along with that.

Photobucket

But you can bet we’re going to fire up the grill on the one rain-free day we’ve got this week!

Monday – Chicken breasts are on sale this week, so I picked up a bunch of them!  And we all know that I love a nice pan-roasted chicken breast whenever I manage it, so this time, we’re trying  Fine Cooking’s orange-brandy sauce.  Should be nice with some fresh broccoli and baby red potatoes.  Yay for a Monday!

Tuesday – I “discovered,” a couple of weeks ago, Mark Bittman on the Cooking Channel.  I didn’t even realize we had the Cooking Channel!  I’ve been a reader of Bittman’s column for a number of years now, so it was only natural that I’d want to tune into the show.  This week, he did a pasta dish with soft shell  crabs (I keep wanting to call them soft SHOE crabs!).  I’m going to go ahead and use shrimp instead.

And, because now it’s in my head, a bit of soft-shoe:

Wednesday – Kitty’s got a vet’s appointment this week, so we’re going to make it quick – we had some leftover taco meat, some leftover black beans, and a quart of chicken stock lying around.  Sounds like . . . soup!

Thursday – We were digging in the freezer and found that there was a lone pork tenderloin knocking around in there.  Peeps claimed it for an old favorite, Cook’s Country’s everything bagel crusted grilled pork tenderloin.  Since it’s the one night we’ll be able to grill, that was as good a night as any, right?  Some sauteed kale and some rice, and it’ll be a nice meal.

Friday – Weekly pizza night is such a good thing!  I can take stock of the leftovers and maybe try some fun new pizza combinations (maybe there’ll be some pork leftover!) , and we all relax and have dinner in front of the TV.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket Photobucket

Comments

1. sjbraun - May 15, 2012

Always love your newsy updates! If I lived at your house, I might be tempted to lick the dishes in the DW too 🙂 Making sausage? Oh my word – you have topped yourself yet again! I know what you mean about the irises. I keep wanting them to look pretty ALL AT ONCE to take a picture – not thinking that’s going to happen. The burgundy is so pretty, though! Enjoy your week. I hope the busy-ness is easing up a bit!

Toy Lady - May 15, 2012

Stupid irises anyway! We have neighbors who have giant CLUMPS of the most gorgeous deep purple irises, and they all bloom together every year.

And really, homemade sausage is easy-peasy! 😉

2. judy - May 15, 2012

That color iris is absolutely beautiful. Am trying to get DD to plant some in her patio garden. Nice read as always with a little this and a little that – a slice of life. Good that Jar is hanging good and of course I will need a report on Kitty’s health. Hope you get to start some serious grilling and I never buy sausage without thinking of your making that great stuff.

Have good days ahead. Yummy menus as always.

Toy Lady - May 16, 2012

I do love the vibrant irises – and I’ve got one “black” open – it’s really a dark, dark purple, but still. 😉

You know, for all the rain that was forecast for this week, so far we haven’t had a drop. 😕


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

