jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 06.17.2012 Edition June 18, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Big Lug, meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

Ah, another market week!

Although I really didn’t need much in the way of vegetables this week, when did that ever stop me?

I got the very last of the asparagus (oh, asparagus, I’ll miss you!) and the first of the fresh peas (hello, peas!) – I usually opt to pay extra to get them already shelled – life is too short to sit and shell peas, and I’m happy to fork over the extra buck to the farmer.

The butcher has “knuckle bones” back in stock – those are the BIG ones that our Jarly doesn’t chomp up quite so quickly.

Oh, and besides some lovely, lovely olive oil, I did splurge on fresh butter.  If you’ve never tried it, you would be AMAZED by the vibrant flavor of fresh, Jersey-cream butter.  Boy, it’s a good thing I’ve got some peas to melt it on!

Photobucket
Photobucket

I may have mentioned this before.

Jarly has this, well, this “thing” he does with his ears – when he’s really intent on something, one (or both) of his ears just stands straight up.

And while that might not sound like it’s all that funny, well, his ears aren’t quite built to stand up – they’re kind of big and floppy.  Except when he’s being Ear Puppy.

Photobucket
Photobucket

Imagine my surprise the other day when a delivery guy showed up at my office to deliver a fruit bouquet – to me!

It seems that the Boy remembered my birthday – what a thoughtful gift!

After I shared with my co-worker, I packed my little fruit cup up and brought it home, where we’ve been picking at it all weekend.

I was surprised by how tasty the fruit was – it was fresh and sweet – AND cute!

Photobucket
Photobucket

I don’t know why he does it, but that goofy Big Lug – he loves to just lie out in the yard, or on the deck, and roast himself.  That’s all I can call it – he’ll lie in the full sun, just soaking that heat into his black fur like, well, like a solar panel.  He bakes.

Then after an hour or so, he’ll come inside, drain the water dish, drool all over the floor, and flop down in front of the air conditioning vent and lie there panting for a couple of hours.

Silly puppy.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  I’m not trying to be tedious here or anything, but HOLY COW we’re not equipped to take 90+ degrees every day!  Seriously, I’m pretty sure the official definition of “heat wave” in this part of the world is 3 or more consecutive days reaching 90.

It’s not even officially summer yet!

Photobucket

Monday – I’ve got this black bean burger recipe in the “meatless recipes to try” file – I usually pull half a dozen or so different recipes out and Peeps selects one a week that appeals to him.  Only . . . the “chipotle ketchup” in the recipe sounds suspiciously like salsa with a little chipotle thrown in.  I think we’re just going to go with our own homemade salsa, though, and follow the rest of the recipe pretty much as is.

Tuesday – Remember back when we did those Frenchy-French pork chops?  They were mighty good, weren’t they?  We pulled some chops from the freezer and thought we’d do that again, along with some brown rice and the end of the season’s asparagus (I wonder if I can stash a couple of spears for my pizza Friday).

Wednesday – Our local butcher shop was running lamb chops on sale this week, and when we went by Sunday, the last day of the sale, to pick some up, we found that they’d decided to close for Father’s Day.  I guess I can’t begrudge the owner his Father’s Day.  So Peeps is going to either call or stop by there first thing in the morning to see if we can still get them on sale.  Otherwise, we’ll grill some whitefish (from the freezer) instead, though it won’t be nearly as good the some grill-roasted potatoes and minted peas we’ve got planned.

Thursday –  In the spirit of freezer-cleaning, I pulled the LAST of the chili out.  We haven’t had chili in ages, and we do love it!  No, it’s not very seasonal at 90+ degrees, but so what?  We can crank the air and pretend it’s February (not really).

Friday – pizza night

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy - June 18, 2012

Such fun with the food for you. I had fun too shopping for fresh! That dear dog needs his own blog about how he views life from HIS side of the camera. 🙂 I am sure MY CAT has found the coolest place in the house. I know mine have with it 96 right now! Hot and DRY. I am cooking cool and I hope you can too! Your b’day gift looked wonderful. We have a business here called Edible Arrangements that does the same thing. I have shared one and they really are fun! Boy did good. Enjoy your week.

Toy Lady - June 18, 2012

Oh, Jude, 96 is TOO HOT! Thank goodness you don’t get the humidity – your poor kitties would melt! Ours spends most of the day in the basement – she likes to get up on top of the freezer – probably thinking about stashing puppies inside! 😀

judy - June 18, 2012

ha ha about the freezer. Actually the house stays pretty cool. I am downstairs and have limited hours of direct sun. My neighbor upstairs says it is very hot and her REALLY BIG DOG has a hard time. Still better than snow and humidity and hurricanes!

Toy Lady - June 19, 2012

It is hard for the furry friends, though – I’m pretty sure Jar would prefer the snow! I keep yogurt in the freezer in an ice cube tray – when he gets overheated, I give him a yogurt cube or two, which seems to help. 🙂 I think I’m going to try that with pureed vegetables, and see how that goes for him, too.

2. Anne - June 18, 2012

Happy belated birthday!

Our black dog does the same thing. It can be 95 in the sun, and she’s out there soaking it up. When she gets nice and crispy, she’ll go and lay under the truck. It can’t be much fun having your brains fry, but then I’m not sure she has a full supply. 😕

Toy Lady - June 19, 2012

Thanks Anne!

What is WRONG with them, anyway? He comes in out of the sun, and his fur is HOT – and all he can do is lie there and pant. You’d think they’d make the connection eventually between lying in the blazing sun and, well, being hot. 🙄

3. kayatthekeyboard - June 24, 2012

Happy Belated Birthday! I’m cooking your carnitas today, or at least putting them on tonight in the slow cooker to eat tomorrow. I think it’s going to be quesadillas carnitas for us. Slow cooker won’t heat up the house; I’m anti-stove, except for this morning’s breakfast, until the current heat wave breaks. 99 today, 102 tomorrow, cool snap and high of 93 the next day.

Toy Lady - June 24, 2012

Aw, thanks, Kay! We’re doing carnitas this week, too – what’s better? 🙂

We’ve had a bit of a heat wave here, though not quite as high as yours. Of course, we get over 90, and people are melting in the streets!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

