jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 08.06.2012 Edition August 6, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in meal plan monday, random stuff.
trackback

Photobucket

After what seems to be months and months of no rain, we’ve finally had not just rain, but a true August thunderstorm!

The problem is that it occurred right around dog-walking time – mid-afternoon. And our dog’s no dummy – he wants no part of walking in thunder and lightning and rain.  In fact, I think he thought we were kind of nuts to suggest it!

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’ve got these stupid beefsteak tomatoes that just won’t get red!

I mean, really – they’re sitting there, on their 6-foot high plants, with these giNORmous green tomatoes!  Come ON already!

It’s just a good thing I’ve got my beloved JetStars to count on, isn’t it?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Speaking of my beloved JetStars!

I absolutely adore my seasonal pizzas – this week, I sliced up a bunch of tomatoes, added some a sliced peach, and some fresh mint.  Peeps thought it was weird and wouldn’t try it.  The Boy also thought it was weird, but he gave it a try, and he didn’t hate it.

It was kind of weird, yes, but I liked it a lot – it was kind of like a peach salsa pizza.  And after all, if people have been putting pineapple on pizzas for all these years, why not peaches?  And these peaches were so perfectly ripe and delicious!

Photobucket

Photobucket

So I was sitting here at my desk, and I happened to notice this lady walking her baby, and this strange cat came up to them.

For what it’s worth, I recognized the cat – he’s the guy who decided to take up residence in my hanging basket of catnip a couple of weeks ago – until I moved the basket and put it out of everybody’s reach – that catnip is for Stupor Kitty after all!

And so this lady, walking her baby, saw this cute kitty and stopped to take pictures of him.

Of some random kitteh.

Awww. . .

What, lady, you’ve never seen a cat before?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  After the gulley-washer Sunday, it’s nice to see some under-80 forecasts!

*

*

Photobucket

Most of the week looks like it’ll be perfect for grilling – the chance of rain is slight, and the temperatures are non-oppressive.  THIS is what summer should be!

Monday –  We’ve a little behind in cooking from our magazines – June’s Bon Appetit included grilled pork chops with peaches and pole beans which sounds wonderful.  We’ve got pork chops, peaches, and really, I’m not thinking there’s anything about pole beans that we can’t use bush beans for, am I right?

Tuesday – We have been so enjoying the sockeye salmon we stocked up on (and I wonder why I can’t seem to empty the freezer!) – this week we’re going to try grilling it with some Moroccan-type spices, probably mainly cumin and cinnamon with maybe a bit of lemon.  That will work nicely with some pan-roasted broccoli and couscous.

Wednesday – Peeps dug a chuck roast out of the freezer – it’s been hanging around in there a little longer, probably, than it should have.  So we’re going to grind it up and make meatballs!  Specifically, I’m going to use this meat loaf recipe for meat balls, and Peeps brought home some leftover marinara sauce the other day – I think we can add some cheese and make meatball subs – how awesome will that be?

Thursday – I have realized that it’s been AGES since we’ve had our tandoori-style chicken – this is one of our favorite grilled chicken dishes, along side a bit of basmati rice and maybe some salad.  Or green beans.  Or some vegetable, you know how that goes.

Friday – And again, every Friday is Kong and pizza night!  I enjoy fresh tomatoes on my pizza just about every week during the summer – after all, it’s such a short season here in Rochester, it would be crazy NOT to enjoy it, you know?  Yeah, I knew you’d understand!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Nicko - August 6, 2012

I am a complete novice when it comes to growing things in the ground, I am suprised I was even able to grow children lol… that is how bad I am at growing things, but I did plant a grapefruit and a lemon tree earlier this year and they have stuff growing on them already but they are still green too… i figure if i am able to actually get these poor trees to make ripe fruit I might actually try to grow some tomatoes next year… your beefsteak tomatoes are freaking huge lol

-Nicko

Toy Lady - August 7, 2012

Nicko, how cool! Did you plant them in pots or in the ground? I’d LOVE to have a place to plant a lemon tree! Compared to that, tomatoes are EASY PEASY! (And tasty, too. 😉 )

2. Anne - August 6, 2012

No rain? NO RAIN?!?!?!?!? Please, have some of ours. We have an afternoon thunderstorm every. frickin. day. It’s August, and my grass still needs to be cut weekly. If it stops raining long enough. I swear I cut 9″ off it this afternoon. OK, maybe that’s an exaggeration. It was only 8″. I’ll be happy to ship a 55 gal drum of rainwater to NY. I’ll even provide the can opener.

Toy Lady - August 7, 2012

The sad thing is that I’ve been watering the garden religiously, so, while the entire neighborhood is scorched, my back yard is like a jungle – and it’s been too ridiculously hot to want to care. . . 🙄

3. Anne - August 6, 2012

Oh, and I forgot to mention ~ it’s amusing that the woman was taking a picture of a random cat. And that you were taking a picture of a random woman. 😉

Toy Lady - August 7, 2012

Shhhh. . . 😳

4. Judy Norton - August 6, 2012

Jar looks so sad. You know he wanted to do a walk about today and, wow, those tomatoes are really huge and really GREEN. Wishing for the red for you soon. Peaches on pizza…. ok… you are alive to tell us about it. 🙂 Come on girl, with the crazy pictures you take the lady needs a break! Maybe she missed a cat from her past, maybe she was doing research about stray cats in your hood. KITTY WAS INSIDE WASN’T SHE? Just kidding….but I see pictures everywhere that make absolutely no sense to me. To each their own. I could use your extra rain. I had honey bees at the hummingbird feeder today. Thirsty little guys. Have a good one! hugs and pats

Toy Lady - August 7, 2012

Fear not, Jude – Jarly got his walk – finally! We’ve been caught in a couple of thunderstorms, and he absolutely does NOT like it, that’s for sure! He was giving Peeps his “you must be outside your mind!” look – not about to go out for anything!

And I’m happy to report the rain did the beefsteaks good – they’ve actually started to orange-up a little. . . tomato sandwiches for everyone! 😆

5. The Innkeeper's Daughter - August 8, 2012

Good things come to those who wait…wait! Or friend green tomatoes with poached eggs work too! And though a little tardy, jumping on the band wagon…you are the one that took the pix of the woman taking the pix of the kitty…all we need now is Jar to capture one more of you clicking her clicking kitty! Peaches on Pizza…huh? We will agree to disagree, hey I still disagree with pineapple too.

Toy Lady - August 8, 2012

The “pineapple on pizza” argument was same one Peeps gave me! But. . . really, all I put under the cheese was tomato and peach, plus some fresh herbs. How’s that different than fruit salsa? 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

