jump to navigation

What Else I Did on My Vacation August 8, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, Cooking Challenge, random stuff.
trackback

Photobucket

Remember how I said that I accomplished a couple of kitchen projects on my vacation last week?

(Was it really just last week?  I think it might have been the week before – I’m already ready for another vacation!)

So yeah, well, one thing I’ve been wanting to do, which I’ve been told is super-easy, was try making flour tortillas.  Not corn tortillas, which I’m told you need a tortilla press for, and which I’m not even a huge fan of anyway.

Photobucket

I came across a recipe, and, apparently, I came across the same recipe again, because I had two copies printed and in my “need to try this” folder.

That’s a pretty big folder, sadly.

And so, I was making a Mexican-type dish, and rather than bread, we wanted tortillas.  Fresh, homemade tortillas.

Photobucket

It seems that making tortillas is very similar to making pie crust, or even biscuits – you start out with your dry ingredients (3 cups flour, 2 tsp. baking powder (which, obviously, you don’t use in pie crust) and a good teaspoon of salt), and cut in your shortening – in this case, I used lard.

Oh, and I used the food processor.

You don’t have to use lard, but I wanted to.  It’s more authentic, and I”m not afraid of pork fat.  You can use unsalted butter if you must, or even vegetable shortening – it’s up to you.

Photobucket

Just like with pie crust (or biscuits), I drizzled the water in just until it formed a ball – 3/4 – 1 cup.  I used the lesser amount, probably because of the humidity that day.

So yeah, you can use a pastry cutter (I finally bought one I actually liked, and now I never use it!) or even two forks – you know, it’s like any pie crust or biscuit dough.

Photobucket

Once you’ve got a nice ball of dough, you’re going to want to divide it into 12 even-sized balls.

You can just eyeball it, if that’s really the way you want to go.

Or you can be all nerdy and weigh the dough ball, divide the weight by 12 (hint: grams are easier to divide) and weigh each individual ball.

Guess which way I went.

Photobucket

Keep the balls of dough that are not in play covered loosely with a cloth, lest they dry out.

I can’t help thinking that dry tortilla dough is harder to roll out, right?

Plus you want to let them rest a few minutes.  Probably something to do with gluten and hydrating and stuff.

Photobucket

Okay, I’m going to admit – it took me a while to get the hang of rolling the dough – mostly because I was working in a rather small area (those bowls of tomatoes and peaches take up room on the counter, you know!) and I think my rolling pin was too big.

I’ve since bought a smaller pin, but it’s one of those French-style tapered rolling pins.

I have no idea how to use it.  But I’ll figure it out, fear not!

Photobucket

So we rolled the dough balls into about 8-inch circles.  (Or a reasonable facsimile of a circle.) (I should probably get one of those pie-rolling-out silicone mats with the graduated circles, shouldn’t I?)  (Next time.)

I’m going to be honest – this was probably the last  “circle” I rolled out – some of them looked like, well, what’s the opposite of a circle?

They looked like a pair of pants.

Photobucket

So I tossed the tortilla “circle” onto a hot griddle (or a heated skillet) (but if you’ve got the griddle why not use it, you know?) and cook each side 10-20 seconds.

Think pancakes – put it on the griddle, and let it cook until you start to see bubbles – then it’s time to turn it.

Photobucket

And you just turn it over and cook the other side.

Your little bubbles will start to brown and it’ll be just like real (store-bought) tortillas, only, well, tastier.  And probably healthier, since you’ll actually be able to pronounce everything that’s in there – even lard!

Photobucket

And I know I made it sound like a pain, but really, it’s not bad at all.  The whole operation probably didn’t take more than half an hour, start to finish, and really, that’s not bad, is it, for a hand-crafted bread product?

Plus, it’s bound to get faster as I get better at it, right?  I mean, given enough experience, I ought to be able to cut that time nearly in half!  How’s that sound – a dozen homemade tortillas in the time it takes to cook a pot of rice?

Challenge accepted!

Comments

1. Judy Norton - August 8, 2012

Whew….. just reading about the process wore me out for some reason. I will have to believe you that it was worth it and really didn’t take up a whole lot of time. I will go with that as many women in my hood “whip some up” regularly. It is a way of life. They look great.

Toy Lady - August 8, 2012

Yeah, it seemed like I was doing a lot of fumbling around – and I had a HECK of a time getting them anywhere near “round!” But once I got going, it truly was easy-peasy. And besides, have you SEEN the price of flour tortillas in the stores? 😯

2. The Innkeeper's Daughter - August 8, 2012

Cool! yummy? You forgot to mention.

Toy Lady - August 8, 2012

Yikes- I did! Yes, they were delish. They didn’t keep as long as store-bought (can’t IMAGINE why!), but they were still good then next day. And I understand I can freeze them, too, which might be an option – once I get them round and not stupid-looking! 😆

3. Anne - August 8, 2012

I’ve tried more than once, I am rolling pin challenged. I just can’t get them as thin as they should be. But you’re right, they’re expensive in the store!

Toy Lady - August 9, 2012

This dough was super easy to work with – and I think mine were even THINNER than store-bought. But far less round. 😕

4. The Real Deal – Sort of, Anyway « Dark Side of the Fridge - August 10, 2012

[…] chose to stir some into some smoked pork (and yes, those are homemade tortillas), and I most definitely enjoyed a pork taco for breakfast a time or two the next […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

