jump to navigation

Today in History August 29, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Family, random stuff, Surly Boy.
trackback

Fifty-four years ago, Michael Jackson, the King of Pop, was born.

I like to remember him the way he was during my childhood – before he became, well a caricature.  Such a talent – and such a sad life.  I truly hope he’s found some peace, don’t you?

More recently, how can we forget seven years ago, when Katrina made landfall in New Orleans?  Heck, we don’t even need the prefix – if you do a Google search for “Katrina” the entire first page (at least) knows you mean Hurricane Katrina.

What a nightmare that was – and still is, in many ways!  Let’s hope Isaac doesn’t catch us as off-guard as Katrina did in 2005!

Photobucket

And then there was that evening twenty-four years ago.  In the early evening of August 29, 1988, I went into the hospital, and, at 8:05 that evening, after two hours of labor (and a grueling two hours it was, too, let me tell you!), I gave birth to the 8-pound, 12-ounce screaming bouncing baby the Boy.

It’s definitely been a roller coaster ride – we’ve had the best of times, and we’ve seen the worst of times.

There have been moments that I’ve been so terribly proud of my boy that I’ve wanted to burst – times I’ve said to myself “uh huh, this is why I do this,”  times I’ve thought “that’s my boy!”   I felt somehow validated – as if I had done something myself, when, in reality, I think sometimes that any success he has is in spite of me!

And yes, there have also been the times I’ve believed he’d broken my heart – after all, my son is, in fact, my son.  He is indeed a chip off the old block.  A stubborn, willful, defiant, and have I mentioned stubborn? chip.  I don’t think he can completely help that, though – after all, those qualities that make him so utterly impossible?  They also make him so completely engaging – and so determined to carve out his own place in the world.

I sense that my boy and I, we’re starting to edge toward a new chapter in our relationship – we’re no longer adversaries (at least I hope not!), and, well, he’s not a child anymore.   I think we’re starting to see each other differently – we’re beginning to see each other as, if not peers, at least as fellow travelers.  We  can solicit – and respect – one another’s opinions and advice, and even accept each others choices, though they may differ from our own preferences.

But he’ll always be my beautiful little boy.

Comments

1. Judy Norton - August 29, 2012

Very heartfelt Kris and as always, well said. Happy Birthday The Boy.

Toy Lady - August 29, 2012

Thanks, Judy. 🙂

2. kayatthekeyboard - September 14, 2012

Catching up after being out of town….allow me to say “Pffffrth” at the idea of two hours’ labor — No. 1 was 29 hours, No 3 was 8 hours, but No. 2 just kinda showed up. But I know what you mean abou them growing up; somethings, they just kinda show up and it surprises you….

3. kayatthekeyboard - September 14, 2012

“sometimes,” that should be…

Toy Lady - September 16, 2012

I knew what you meant. 🙂

And yeah.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

