jump to navigation

I was gonna . . . September 6, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, Garden, Home, mirth & woe.
trackback

I was going to tell you all about the lovely salsa we made the other day.  Not with my own tomatoes, alas, but a basket I picked up at the Public Market.

Photobucket

Photobucket

My tomatoes are evidently on strike or something – I don’t know what their deal is.

I mean, I watered them religiously for most of the summer, went out and talked to them, staked them – I even gave them the lion’s share of the compost!  Yet still they disappoint me.

Photobucket

So as I was saying, I was going to tell you about this salsa, not that there’s much to tell – as salsas go, it was pretty standard.  Peeps’s salsa preference is usually the “hot” version of Pace Picante, so we do our best to imitate that.  We’re not exactly there yet – but we’re close!

Photobucket

The basic “stuff” in the salsa  is all there – onions, peppers, garlic, salt, dried minced onions (really!) and chili powder (seriously!) – plus some white vinegar.

And, of course, the tomatoes!

Because Peeps is the salsa expert in the house (that, and he’s the one who actually uses it most often), I defer to his preference to have the tomatoes pureed.

Photobucket

From there, it’s a simple matter of cooking the salsa down until it starts to thicken, then it gets ladled into pint jars.

Ideally seven of them, since that’s how many will fit in the canner!

We used the boiling water bath method – make sure the jars are in a pot that’s big enough to cover them with water by at least an inch, bring to a  boil, and process for 15 minutes.  How much simpler can it get?

Photobucket

We find that a couple of batches of this salsa – that would be 14 pints – will last the better part of the year.  It’s getting better every year, and, not surprisingly, I can make at least one batch for about what a single jar of salsa would cost me to buy – and mine are bigger jars!

Photobucket

To make 7 pints of salsa, I used:

  • 6 lbs. ripe tomatoes
  • 3 large onions
  • 3 large cloves garlic
  • 10 seeded jalapenos
  • 2 seeded poblanos
  • 2 Tbsp. chili powder
  • 1/4 c. dried onion
  • 3 tsp. kosher salt
  • 2 c. water
  • 3/4 c. white vinegar

So anyway, I was going to tell you all about this, and, well, it seems that, while the second batch of tomatoes is processing, I’ve done just that!  I guess I’ll tell you later about how we were going to grill chicken Tuesday, but it was pouring, so we decided to bake it instead, only when we turned the oven on, it just . . . wouldn’t.  And I can tell you another time about the batch of peach jam I made with no pectin and very little sugar – and it still jelled!  And, of course, the boxes of tomatoes that I brought home from my mother’s house on Labor Day that have been littering the dining room, until it was clear that they weren’t going to last another day – who knew they’d ALL need to be processed Right This Minute?

Don’t you love harvest season?

Comments

1. Judy Norton - September 6, 2012

I was gonna read about this when you did your blog about it. Mission accomplished for all. Liked it any way. Beautiful jars! PING.

Toy Lady - September 7, 2012

🙂 Yeah, but I’m using these new lids and they don’t PING. 😯 But on the plus side, they’re re-usable, so there’s that. 😉

2. Anne - September 6, 2012

OK, I am soooo making this salsa. My husband would prefer it sear-the-hair-off-the-roof-of-your-mouth-hot. I mean, seriously, he will nibble on a habanero like it’s a bell pepper. I have ground Ghost Pepper in my spice rack (Scoville units 1.4million or something stupid.) I mean, I like heat and all, but really? I could make his and hers salsa. *light bulb moment* I’m betting the farm stand down the road is ready to get rid of the rest of those tomatoes before the pumpkins come in …

Toy Lady - September 7, 2012

Anne, I would swap out some of the poblanos for more, uh, manly peppers then. Next year, we’re going to try it by weight – that just seems more consistent.

And YES go to the farm stand down the road (run, don’t walk) and buy yourself a basket or two – one market basket (1/4 bushel) made 2 batches of salsa, easy.

3. Judy Norton - September 7, 2012

What do you mean “no Ping” and “reusable” – just kidding but kind of takes the fun out of it. Sure it seals? Of course you would know if they were sealed. I never ever thought that “canning” would/could be modernized but I guess everything else is. No Ping?

Toy Lady - September 8, 2012

I know, but it’s pretty cool not having to keep running out and buying lids! These have actually been around since the 1970s – the company is called Tattler.

But yeah, I have to pick them up to make sure the top stays on. . . gonna take some getting used to!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

