jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 09.24.2012 September 24, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

Ah, fall!  The harvest time for so many things is awfully short this year – we had such an odd spring, so warm so early, and then so hot all summer!  If I want to catch in-season produce, I’ve got to be prepared to move fast!

I did find a couple of things we’ve never tried before field peas and wasabi greens.  I cooked up the peas Saturday evening (and I plan to tell you about them later in the week), and the wasabi greens, well, they seem very much like a very tender mustard green.  The farmer at the market said I could either use it as a salad green or cook it like “regular” greens.  Since it’s such a huge bunch, I guess we’ll try it both ways!

Photobucket

Photobucket

I also picked up a basket of honeycrisp apples.  I had intended to pick them myself, but I got an e-mail from the farm warning that the season was very, very short, and that there were about 3 days left to pick.

I could not get out there to pick in time, so I ended up just buying them at the market.

Photobucket

So Peeps and I chopped up a mess of apples, and right now they’re sitting in the fridge, just chilling out for a few days, when, hopefully, I’ll cook them up, then strain them, and we’ll have some nice apple jelly!  I plan to use the same basic technique that I used for the peach preserves a few weeks ago, only straining the fruit out after cooking instead of before.  I think.

Wish  me luck!

Photobucket

Photobucket

I guess this is what you might call a “slow news week!”

When I sat down to writ this entry, I realized that I had really done not very much of note this week – even less than usual!

One thing we did do, though, was a pretty nifty breakfast pizza!

Peeps has taken to cooking potatoes in a foil pouch on the grill whenever we’re grilling something, which is nice.  It means one less pan to wash (yay!), and, frequently, a pile of leftover cooked, well-seasoned potatoes.

Photobucket

Well, those leftover potatoes always end up as homefries, which is never a bad thing!

This weekend, though, we also had an extra pizza crust and a mess of shredded cheese to use up.

And do you know, even without bacon (I didn’t have any cooked) or scallions (forgot), a cheesy-homefry pizza makes quite a respectable breakfast!

Photobucket

Our supermarket has whole roasting chickens on sale – I mean really on sale!  Although we have a few whole chickens in the freezer already, we just couldn’t pass up 50 cents a pound!

However.

A whole, 6-7 pound roasting chicken means at least half a chicken leftover, and that’s accounting for dog and kitty treats!  Obviously, we’re going to stretch our $3.50 chicken into at least a second meal – but we just can’t decide (or agree on) what we want to do!  Here are our choices:

Hey, you wanna help me out?  Which you would pick?  Thanks!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Fall truly is in the air – we’re back to checking the weather forecast, not to see when it’s too hot to use the grill, but when it’s warm and dry enough to!

Photobucket

Monday – The infamous roasted chicken – we’re simply going to butterfly it and roast it on a pile of baby potatoes (what do you want to bet some will find their way into a frying pan for home fries?) and roast some butternut squash alongside.

Tuesday – We stocked up on wild salmon when it was in season – we’ve pulled a couple of fillets out and will very simply grill them.  I’ll serve them with a salad made with the wasabi greens, dressed with a lime vinaigrette (needed to juice and use a couple of naked limes from the fridge!) and probably some brown rice.  I like brown rice.

Wednesday – I got the September 2012 Cooking Light and marked Shrimp and White Bean Cakes, then realized that I’d already printed it from the internet in early August!  Obviously, we’re going to make this sooner or later, so it may as well be sooner.  Plus, it’ll go nicely with some of the broccoli I picked up this weekend.

Thursday – Peeps has been itching to braise something since, I think, the first night the temperatures dipped below 60!  He’s pulled some lamb shanks out of the freezer and will be braising those to go with some white beans.  And probably salad.

Friday –  With fall just about here, pizza night will start to change again – but for now, I’m holding on to my fresh tomatoes and herbs!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Julie Dellemonache - September 24, 2012

Your breakfast pizza looks good. We have a breakfast pizza where I work that is yummy. Sausage, bacon, ham. Has a cheese sauce with all the meat and cheese and scrambled eggs. Have a good week!

Toy Lady - September 25, 2012

Thanks Julie – we usually put some sort of meat and, of course eggs on ours, but this week, it was all about cleaning out the fridge! 🙂

2. judy norton - September 25, 2012

You get more done than you think! I never see you post about just sitting down! 🙂 🙂 Harvest is one very busy time. Yum

Toy Lady - September 25, 2012

Hey, Judy, thanks for understanding! 🙂


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

