jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 10.01.2012 Edition October 1, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

Wow, it’s been a long week!  Mostly, I guess, because I’ve picked a virus or bug or plague or something – I’ve been miserable!  I actually stayed home from work for two days last week, and, honestly, what a waste of good sick days!  I spent both days on the couch, fading in and out of a Benedryl-induced stupor!

I did manage to catch Mr. Cardinal on the back fence – though I missed Mrs. Cardinal.  I guess it’s time to start putting some sunflower seeds out for them soon, huh?

Anyway, I’m still not feeling 100 percent (or really, even 70 percent) so if you don’t hear much from me this week, fear not – I’m probably snoring on the couch again!

Photobucket
Photobucket

There was one thing I did manage to accomplish before I was ready to lie down and die – I got a batch of apple jelly finished!  This was my very first time making jelly EVER, and I was quite happy with it!

I will be sharing that with you soon – this week, I hope, assuming I’m back to normal soon.

I wonder if I’ll ever stop being astonished by how simple this is?

Photobucket

PhotobucketI’ve been picking up the knitting needles again – well, actually, I haven’t really put them down, just slowed down a bit.

I’m still working on a scarf I started last winter, and sometimes it seems like I’ll never finish it!  I did get a pair of socks done, which I was quite happy with.  Though I think I was a little premature in wearing them – it’s still a little early in the season to be wearing wool-blend socks all day!

Speaking of socks – get a load of this!  You know how the Boy recently moved back out and into an apartment, right?  Well, I asked him to let me know if there was anything he needed that I could help him out with.  On the tidy (if lengthy) list he left for me, he included his foot size (as if I didn’t already know he’s a size 13!) and his young lady friend’s size.

Is that a hint, or what?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Now that fall’s here (holy cow, it’s OCTOBER!), we’re shifting more to hearty, warming meals.  We still hope to have the occasional “hey it’s a nice day, let’s fire up the grill” evenings, but, as happens every year, those days are becoming scarcer for the time being.

Photobucket

Monday – Well, the results from last week’s poll came back, and, as of this writing, it’s a tie!  We had equal votes for the Cook’s Country Dakota Chicken-and-Dumpling Soup and the Cook’s Illustrated‘s Chicken Pot Pie with Savory Crumble Topping, so, in keeping with the “I’m sick” theme for the week, we’re going with the soup.  The pot pie, however, is definitely up next for leftover chicken – fear not!

Tuesday –  The October issue of Cooking Light has an interesting recipe for Spiced Lentils with Poached Eggs that looked intriguing.  However, rather than carrots, I think I’ll pan-roast some broccoli, since I’ve got a bunch still in the fridge.

Wednesday – Peeps suggested pancakes for dinner one night – not sure yet what pancakes we’ll make (I can think of three recipes off the top of my head that we LOVE!) but I’m sure we’ll figure it out by dinnertime!  And of course, we’ve got homemade breakfast sausage to go along, and maybe even a bit of applesauce, too.  

Thursday – Back when we ran the meal-prep business, one of the more popular selections was a buttermilk-brined pork loin.  It was so easy, and it was so good – the pork is soaked in a solution of (wait for it) buttermilk and kosher salt, then it’s roasted with fresh herbs.  It’ll be wonderful with sweet potatoes and some green beans, plus there should be plenty left over!

Friday – And I don’t know about anyone else, but I’ve got no problem adding some of that leftover pork to my pizza on Friday night pizza night!  I should still have some tomatoes, too, though mine are just about done for the season, I fear.  I will take advantage of every last one I can!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Yolande - October 1, 2012

Fancy stiching on that ankle, I am impressed! Love the boy’s hint…by the way I am a ridiculous size 11 shoe…

So glad the apple jelly worked for you. I made my second batch of strawberry with your method…AWESOME. Now the only way we will be making jam at Yolande’s bistro and creperie!

Feel better soon!

Toy Lady - October 1, 2012

I wasn’t sure if I’d like those socks or not – they’re kind of slouch, but I do – I love them! 🙂 And I thought my size 10s were ridiculous. . .

I’m thrilled the jam is working for you, too! I’m thinking of taking some fruit out of the freezer to try it – I’ve got grapes and sour cherries, and I may even try cranberries! I love the micro-batch idea – it’ll give me a chance to experiment with flavors, too. Oh, the possibilities. . .

Yolande - October 1, 2012

sour cherries….my all time favorite jam!

Toy Lady - October 2, 2012

I know, right? It’s like cherry pie in a jar! 😆

2. sjbraun - October 1, 2012

Get better soon! Your socks look amazing; I’m so impressed with all the detailing around the ankles. And you know you’ve “done good” when the kids ask for them, too 🙂
Your apple jelly looks beautiful! I’m just going to start calling you Martha Stewart. I don’t want to think it’s almost time to drag out the bird seed, but you’re right.

Toy Lady - October 2, 2012

At least he’s left me enough time to get them done! 🙂

You TOTALLY need to try this jam/jelly thing – or maybe your girls should? I even found some little tiny jelly jars to use for future gifts!

(And thanks for the well-wishes!)

3. Anne - October 1, 2012

Golly, you gotta get over that bug. Fall is the best time to be doing stuff, don’t spend it sacked out on Benedryl!

Toy Lady - October 2, 2012

I’ve got SO MUCH to do, too! The garden is a mess – I think I’ve got some green beans ready to pick, or almost, anyway. Irises to divide. Mums to plant. Ugh!

4. judy norton - October 5, 2012

I am remiss with comments but I was actually OOT for a night thoroughly a mineral water springs inn with a tub sunk in the floor in every room! It was delightful and so relaxing. DD and I had a good time eating out, king sized bed so wide we never rolled into each and a large tv on the wall, tiny kitchen area and a little patio. Next time 2 nights minimum though it was a little expensive. Your canning success is apparent and I am glad you are feeling better. Me too.

and loved the sox!

Toy Lady - October 5, 2012

OH, Judy, that sounds like such a great getaway! Definitely 2 nights MINIMUM next time! Good for you – I’m glad you had a nice time!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

