jump to navigation

Once Upon A Time. . . October 10, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Childhood Memories, Cooking, Homemade, random stuff.
trackback

Photobucket

Do you ever come across something – something from a long time ago – that makes you just sit back and remember the old days for a minute?

I don’t mean “old days” like I’m a senile old lady remembering “when I was your age”  – I mean like the days when my 6-foot, 3-inch, size 13 shoe’ed, formerly dreadlocked The Boy was just a wee little, curly-headed toddler.

Those old days.

I had copied my mother’s recipe for pancakes (“Rich Pancakes,” as I recall) from her old, beat-up copy of The Settlement Cookbook – it somehow escaped my “learning to type” period – where I laboriously typed most of my favorite recipes, then tossed the originals.
Photobucket

Even back then, the Boy had definite food preferences.  By that, I mean that he’d have one or two things that he’d eat at a time.  Every. Single. Day.

For a while it was canned peaches.  Or hot dogs.  Or broccoli.  Or oatmeal.

And at one point, it was pancakes.

The kid would eat nothing but pancakes for breakfast.

Do you know how many pancakes are in a batch?  More than a toddler – and even his mom – will eat in one sitting, that’s for sure!

Now, I realize that probably the easiest thing to do would have been to cook up all the pancakes, freeze them, and reheat them individually.  In the toaster, I guess, because that was before we had a microwave.

I told you – it was olden days!

Photobucket

So I decided to make the pancake batter, cook what I needed (one or two pancakes) and freeze the rest.

In yogurt cups.

That was back when yogurt cups had lids (in addition to the foil covers) so they were actually useful.  That, and my brother-in-law worked for the local milk plant – I had access to as much yogurt as I could eat!
Photobucket

See, it turned out that I could fill up half a dozen yogurt cups, pop the top on them, and stick them in the freezer.

Then, every night, I’d pull one out for breakfast the next day and make two pancakes – one for the Toddler, and one for me.

Yeah, it wasn’t much of a breakfast, but, with a toddler to chase after, it was pretty much all I had time for!

PhotobucketThis has still remained a favorite recipe for me over the years- as much because it reminds me of my curly-headed monster as anything else, I’ll admit!

But the flavor is excellent – after all, they’re “rich” pancakes – if a little heavy.

And they’re so easy – no need for anything other than pantry staples – milk, flour, eggs, salt, sugar, baking powder and butter – which is probably why I chose this recipe in the first place.
Photobucket

We noticed, though, that Peeps and I have very different pancake-eating styles.

I prefer my pancakes “diner-style” – fanned out across the plate, so I can enjoy butter and syrup with every bite.

Peeps leans more toward lumberjack-style – he stacks them up and lets the syrup drip down the  sides.

Photobucket

Jar, on the other hand, doesn’t much care – he’s just happy to help us clean up the plates!

Photobucket

Comments

1. The Innkeeper's Daughter - October 10, 2012

Love those memories…

Toy Lady - October 10, 2012

Seriously, you should have seen his hot-dog-and-peaches stage – that’s all he’d eat! 🙂

Yolande - October 11, 2012

my god daughter…3 years of baked naked chix boobs, cold bbq bean, rice o roni and cold canned corn. Drove me nuts.

Toy Lady - October 11, 2012

The Boy stopped with the hot dogs about 5 minutes after I picked up about 5 pounds on sale and shoved them in the freezer. As far as I know, he hasn’t touched them since. 🙄

2. judy norton - October 10, 2012

Such a fun memory and the pictures made me hungry for pancakes too! I prefer diner style too. Yum.

Toy Lady - October 10, 2012

Breakfast for dinner is never a bad thing, Judy! 😀


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

