jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 10.15.2012 Edition October 15, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Big Lug, canning, meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff, Stupor Kitty.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

Well, the garden is pretty much tucked in for the fall.  It’s kind of a sad day, isn’t it?  They were forecasting a “killing frost” for Friday night, which, apparently didn’t happen.  Or maybe it did – it’s hard to tell.  Peeps had frost on the top of his car Saturday morning, but not on the windshield.  And the late row of green beans seems to be unscathed, yet of two baby “volunteer”  tomato plants I found, one was brown and shriveled (frosted for sure!) and the other, just inches away from it, was at least partially sheltered by ridiculous kale leaves, was as good as new.  (Until I pulled it up.)

Our one row of garlic is in, the kale will be good until . . . whenever it gets used, and the komatsuna should be okay at least as long.

Photobucket

Photobucket

So we were out shopping this weekend, and Peeps pointed out that we didn’t have anything sweet in the house.

Now, while that is probably a good thing in the long run, we’ve grown to enjoy something dessert-like in the evenings, without actually committing to, say, baking anything.

We came across this new candy – it’s called Unreal.  The idea is that it’s better for you than “regular” candy in that it’s got more real ingredients and NONE of the objectionable ingredients – no corn syrup, no artificial colors or flavors, no hydrogenated oils, and no GMOs.

Basically, it’s hippy candy.  But it’s really, really good hippy candy.  If you see it available, do give it a try.  Really.  You’ll thank me.

Photobucket

Photobucket

So we’ve been working on Puppy-Kitty Tolerance – and boy, is that fun!

Basically, after I get back from our morning walk, the dog gets fed, and the cat gets a little one-on-one treat time with me.

Then, when the dog’s done with his breakfast, he comes out to the kitchen and lies down next to me while the cat skitters away.

Photobucket

However, the magic of chicken, pork and hot dogs will lure her back, even to within a tongue’s length of the Big Scary Dog that she goes out of her way to annoy.

The two of them take turns having treats, and I’ve been getting them closer and closer together.  I even got Peeps to play along!

Besides the whole treat thing, the two of them are becoming ever-so-slightly more tolerant of each other – the Kitty will come out and prance around the the living room and dining room, and the dog will pretty much ignore her as long as she doesn’t start whining to be fed.

It’s something. . .

Photobucket

Photobucket

Poor Jar – every time I set up his pills, I marvel at just how much “stuff” he’s on!

Mostly it’s because of his joints – he’s on MSM supplements (from the horse aisle) and glucosamine supplements twice a day, plus the meloxicam (his miracle drug) once, and antacids with it because it tends to cause nausea.

And he’s still on the Prozac, too – we’ve actually increased it a bit, so now he gets the big pill in the morning and the smaller on in the evening.

I feel like a pharmacist sometimes. . .

Photobucket

Photobucket

Oh, exciting news!

For the very first time EVER I canned a batch of soup!  I made one of my absolute favorites – the Spanish kale and bean soup.  I made a couple of adjustments to the original recipe (and may make a couple more), but I researched the heck out of canning soup, beans, bean soup, and soups with meat, and I have had 8 pints of lovely, lovely soup.

I can hardly wait until I try a batch of chili!  Or even while chili!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Gosh, doesn’t it seem like there’s always so much going on?  I started to say “in the fall,” but then I realized that there’s a lot going on in the summer, too.  And the spring.  So I guess the only chance we get to really relax is in the winter, and even that’s not without its share of busy-ness, either.

Monday –  You know about Groupon, right?  Well, Peeps and I try to get out periodically on Saturdays for lunch – it’s cheaper, and going out for dinner gets late.  However, I have one that’s expiring very soon, and we just weren’t able to get there Saturday for lunch, they are closed Sundays, so Monday we’re going out to a Korean place – and I’m very much looking forward to it!

Tuesday – We dug some veal chops out of the freezer – Peeps picked them up on sale a while back, so, rather than let them get lost in there, we’ll go ahead and grill them while we can.  We have some sort of fries in the freezer and some fresh broccoli from the market.

Wednesday – You’ll recall that I picked up a couple of nice squashes last week – time for soup!  I found this Roasted Butternut Squash Chowder that sounds quite nice – Peeps will start the squash roasting when he gets home from work, so the soup will be freshly made at dinnertime.

Thursday – Part of our never-ending project of emptying the freezer is to cook and eat the large hunks of meat that have made their way to the bottom of the freezer – this week it’s roasted chicken with potatoes and the beets I pulled from the garden.  And for bonus points, we’re going to take the the leftover chicken and mole it up for dinner over the weekend.

Friday – Friday pizza night – the tomatoes are done, though I did manage to make a micro-batch of roasted tomato sauce that went into the freezer – just enough for two meals for the two of us.  We may use that, or I may save it for the depths of winter.  I guess we’ll see what kind of mood we’re in, huh?

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Yolande - October 15, 2012

Pretty soup! My problem has always been the potatoes not the beans…pints huh? No left overs for the boy if he swings by? What am I saying? The boy has “a girl” to keep him busy (and fed)right?

Toy Lady - October 15, 2012

Surprisingly, the potatoes made it through fine – the beans were ever-so-slightly overcooked, but I’ll just cook them less BEFORE canning next time. And nope, none for The Boy – unless he really wants a pint. 🙂 But we did provide them with a quart of bourgignon last week, lest they think we don’t still care. . . 😉

2. Yolande - October 15, 2012

Oooh, OOooh, Ooooh…I just remembered something. Over at “Food in Jars” She was giving away a new tote made by a friend of hers. A lunch bag made specifically for people who pack lunch in jars. Just an FYI…Her info in on The Innkeeper’s Daughters Facebook page.

Okay, now to the work of opening a restaurant…this Friday…yikes!

Toy Lady - October 15, 2012

I LOVE Food in Jars! 🙂 And I saw the tote a while back; it’s on my list of things to fabricate – just as soon as I have a spare few hours. . . 🙄

Best of luck on the opening – I’m trying to figure out a way to rationalize a several-hour drive to Connecticut one of these days!

Yolande - October 15, 2012

Tiny little world isn’t it? I got to meet her the week before her book came out at a food bloggers conference…she makes strawberry jam the old fashioned way…

Toy Lady - October 16, 2012

How very cool! I’ve been reading her blog for a couple of years now.

3. judy norton - October 16, 2012

I always felt sad when the garden was put to bed. I always wanted a couple more of this or more of that.

I absolutely adore the “getting to know you without scratching your eyes out or biting a head off! Wonderful pic and ty for making it more real to me.

The canning looks very promising and you love to tinker with stuff. It will be perfect soon. Glad you are feeling better!

Toy Lady - October 17, 2012

I still can’t believe, after all these years, that the two of them are FINALLY starting to deal with each other reasonably. 🙂

And at least I’ve got my kale left! I already miss the tomatoes, though. . .


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

