jump to navigation

Happy Birthday Peeps October 19, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Family, Home, random stuff.
trackback

Why yes, this day is the anniversary of Peeps’s birth.

He’s officially back to being two years older than I am.

It’s also his mom’s birthday.

And his mom’s broker’s birthday.

And (you are NOT going to believe this!), my mechanic’s wife’s birthday.

(Boy, I only share my birthday with debt service day – most of the municipal bonds I work on have principal and/or principal and interest payments on June 15.  And isn’t that just interesting to everyone?)

So here we are.  Peeps’s birthday.  Nothing too exiting going on – I ordered him a bunch of stuff that he’s been wanting for curing and smoking.  Who says that  romance can’t last?

But I’m going to tell you about his REAL gift.  Yup – it’s a gift money can’t buy.

If you’ve been around here for a while, you’re aware of the Saga of Peeps’s Mom.

When he left Jersey to come to Rochester, he left his (reasonably) able-bodied mom behind.  After all, she was a big girl and had been taking care of herself for, well, longer than I’ve been around, anyway.

However, time does have a way of catching up with people, and Peeps’s mom was not immune.  Eventually, we were able to gently persuade her to, first, buy a house in Rochester, then actually move into it.

But she still hasn’t emptied – or unloaded sold the old house.  So last spring, the minute the snow melted, Peeps took her back to Jersey to “pack.”

Well, it’s the end of October now, and she’s still not packed.

So.

She’s got packing-and-moving guys coming Monday to, well, pack her house and move it (well, the stuff, anyway).

And she’s got a friend of her neighbor coming to look at the house after it’s empty and to (hopefully) make an offer (a reasonable offer).

And she’s got me driving down there Sunday to help hold her hand and keep her from going too nuts with the closing and selling of her almost-40-year home.

And then we’re driving home.  To Rochester.

Yup, happy birthday, Peeps.  Here’s your . . . mom.

Comments

1. mazco34 - October 19, 2012

Happy Birthday! Enjoy a Chimay for me.

Peeps - October 19, 2012

I should have thought of that. Thanks.

2. The Innkeeper's Daughter - October 19, 2012

🙂

Peeps - October 19, 2012

Thank you.

3. judy norton - October 19, 2012

Well Happy Day to Peeps and what a really, REALLY great thing to do for Peeps Mom. Good people all around. 🙂

Peeps - October 19, 2012

Thanks. My wife really is awesome.

4. Laurie - October 19, 2012

Happy Birthday!

Peeps - October 19, 2012

Thank you very much.

5. Peeps - October 19, 2012

I’m only a year and a half older, dear. And I do thank you.

Toy Lady - October 19, 2012

Do the math. . . 🙂

6. Lots of Monday, very little musing « Dark Side of the Fridge - October 22, 2012

[…] So, my wife is gone for a bit.  She’s down in New Jersey helping keep my mother calm during the Big Move. […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

