jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 10.29.2012 Edition October 29, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff.
trackback

Photobucket

Well, I’m back from The Big Move.  Wow, what a week!

We got Peeps’s mom moved into the new house – for real this time!   It was a difficult move for her, and I’m glad I was there for her.  We had people in to pack the house, other people to move the stuff, yet more people to clean the house, a guy to pick up her car (which she sold), and the real estate agent to (hopefully) sell the house (hopefully sooner rather than later).

And then there was saying goodbye to the mostly-feral kittens she’s been watching since she discovered them as newborns last spring – I know she’s going to miss “the gang.”

Me, I’m just as happy to be home where I belong, though – I seem to have picked up (another!) cold.  Or maybe it’s just from spending so much time in New Jersey. . .

Photobucket

Photobucket

One of the first things I noticed when I got home was that the Christmas Halloween cactus is at it again!

I mean, what the heck?  It’s October for Pete’s sake, and I’ve already got buds!  We haven’t even had a hard frost yet!

I wish I knew what I was doing right. . .

Photobucket

Photobucket

I knitted Jar his very own special tag silencer.   We know that dogs have much more sensitive hearing than we do, and, really, can you imagine having tags jangling below your ear 24 hours a day?  I had a pair of Christmas jingle-bell earrings once – they lasted less than an hour before I had to get them off!

Basically, I knitted a little ribbed pouch to hold his license and rabies tag.  I’ve had trouble finding the rubber silencers that fit around the edge of the tags – his rabies tag is huge, and the license, well, it’s oblong and the silencer I had been using stretched and kept slipping off.

Now he’s stealthy and stylish!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Before I left for Jersey, I stopped at the library to pick up a couple of audiobooks to listen to on the drive.

When I came out, there was this . . . car parked outside the building.   I’m not sure what it was, but it was very . . . yellow!

It was apparently a work-in-progress, though, because it was driving around with no hood – fortunately, the weather was nice enough for that.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Someone sure is getting bold, isn’t she?

It’s not enough for her that she’s prancing around the house practically at will (as long as the dog’s not in the room) – now she’s curling up sleeping in HIS bed!

Well, next to it, anyway.  But I figure that counts, since that’s mostly where he sleeps, too – he uses the bed mainly as a back-rest.

I’m telling you, one of these days, I’m going to come home to find the two of them curled up together sleeping!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.   Boy, I’ll tell you, when fall gets here, it means business!  What with the coming storm, and the fact that I lived on junk food most of last week, we’re looking for warm, comfortable, familiar home cooking this week!

Monday –  Eggs were on sale this week, I’ve got a few potatoes to use up before going to the public market this week, and we haven’t had a Spanish tortilla in a while – only we’re going to use homemade fresh chorizo instead of the cured kind.

Tuesday – Eventually, we’ll sit down and tell you all about this Old-Fashioned Roast Pork from the Cook’s Country TV program.  We plan to enjoy the roast with our homely vegetables and some sauteed mustard greens – the MOST comforting of comfort foods!

Wednesday – Assuming we haven’t been flooded out or snowed in, it’s trick-or-treat night – which means we want something quick and warm, because it’s sure to be cold and windy outside!  While I was gone, Peeps made a batch of the bean stew we tried (and enjoyed) last year – I need to pick up some feta cheese and we’ll be all set for that.

Thursday – We’re planning to roast a chicken (again, on sale this week!), probably with a lemon and thyme rub, and, since we’ve done nothing but old favorites this week (not that that’s a bad thing!), I want to try a new recipe for kale and bacon bread pudding – that should make a nice side for roasty chicken, huh?

Friday – And back to our old routine – Peeps’s mom will be joining us for pizza night – though she knows she’s welcome to come over any time!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy norton - October 29, 2012

I am glad everyone survived and that this took place before the storm! Kitty is going to take over the DOG if he doesn’t watch out. Maybe they bonded some with you gone. 🙂 The menu sounds so good and I know you will recover quickly with good food and this event behind you. I like the cover for the tags. I would never have thought of that. Your cactus really is something else. Special water? Just ease back into it and get over that cold again. I know hubby has to be so glad you are back.

Toy Lady - October 29, 2012

Hi, Judy – I’m AT LEAST as glad to be home as they are to have me! 🙂

2. sjbraun - October 29, 2012

Good to see you back! It is so sweet all that you and Peeps are doing for his mom. I am happy she has your support. At the same time, I can sympathize with how difficult this could be for her. I don’t like to think of my kids moving me away from home someday, even though I know it’ll likely be necessary. Your menu looks cozy and delicious!

Toy Lady - October 29, 2012

Thanks, Susan, but I think you give us far too much credit! Mom just needed a bit of a nudge – she knew it was time, although she did fight it. She really will be much happier in a smaller house, near us. After all, what could be more fun for her than our Saturday field trips? 🙂

3. Becca - October 29, 2012

I would love to have pizza night incorporated into my week. Yum!

Toy Lady - October 29, 2012

Hi, Becca – we’ve been doing Friday night pizza for a few years now. And sometimes, we even get a little crazy and do Sunday morning breakfast pizza. 😀

4. Anne - October 29, 2012

Welcome home!!!! 😀

Toy Lady - October 30, 2012

Thanks, Anne – it’s good to see you!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

